Ninety-seven percent of the park is covered in forests, which are either boreal (i.e., predominantly conifer) or mixed-wood (i.e., a blend of hardwoods and conifers). A total of 639 vascular plant species can be found in park forests.  The three main plant communities are: the balsam fir-yellow birch stand, sugar maple-yellow birch stand, and balsam fir-white birch stand. Forillon’s forests were considerably modified by human activities throughout the 20th century (e.g., logging, clearing, etc.) and major natural changes (e.g., diseases, epidemics, windfall, etc.). That is why a broad range of transition stages (e.g., fallow fields, immature forests, etc.) have come to characterize these areas today.

The park is home to about 45 species of Arctic-alpine plants, which are rare at this southerly latitude and low altitude. As a rule, these plants grow in the Canadian North or on the peaks of the Rocky Mountains in western Canada. During the retreat of the glaciers approximately 10,000 years ago, these plants took up residence on Forillon’s cliffs, which were unsuited for forests. As a result, Arctic-alpine plants were able to grow without being pushed out by more competitive species. In addition to the cliffs, the alpine meadows located at Cape Gaspé also serve as a habitat for several of these plants.

A particular kind of plant-life grows on the Penouille sand spit. There you will find a barren boreal forest (called a taiga) that is a remarkable occurrence for this low an altitude. Also, in the immediate vicinity, you will see upper beach plants that are adapted to the instability of dunes and the siliceous nature of sand. 

Want to know more?
Come visit the park and meet our interpreters! They will be delighted to share their knowledge and answer your questions.

La forêt couvre 97 % du parc. Elle est de type boréal (dominée par les conifères) et de type mixte (mélange de feuillus et de conifères). Elle compte au total 639 espèces de plantes vasculaires. Les trois principales communautés végétales sont : la sapinière à bouleau jaune, l’érablière à bouleau jaune et la sapinière à bouleau blanc. La forêt de Forillon a été grandement modifiée par les activités humaines du 20e siècle (coupe de bois, défrichage des terres) et par les bouleversements naturels (maladies, chablis, épidémies). C’est pourquoi elle présente aujourd’hui de nombreux stades de transition (forêts immatures).

Le parc abrite environ 45 espèces de plantes arctiques-alpines, rares à de si basses latitude et altitudes . En effet, ces plantes poussent habituellement dans le Grand-Nord ou sur les sommets des montagnes Rocheuses de l’Ouest canadien. C’est lors du retrait des glaciers, il y a environ 10 000 ans, qu’elles se sont installées dans les falaises du parc. Ces dernières, impropres à la croissance de la forêt, ont permis aux plantes arctiques-alpines de croître sans se faire déloger par d’autres espèces plus compétitives. En plus des falaises, les prairies alpines de Cap Gaspé servent aussi d’habitat à plusieurs de ces plantes.

Une végétation particulière pousse sur la flèche de sable de Penouille. On y trouve une forêt boréale dénudée (taïga), remarquable à une si faible altitude. Juste à côté, on observe des plantes de haut de plage aptes à composer avec l'instabilité des dunes et la nature siliceuse du sable.


Vous voulez en savoir plus? 

Visitez le parc et rencontrez les interprètes! Ils se feront un plaisir de partager leurs connaissances et de répondre à vos questions.