Park boundaries extend more than 150 metres into the sea. This protected area is representative of Gulf of St. Lawrence ecosystems.

Underwater life

Beneath the surface you can see starfish of all colours, fish with unimaginable particularities and crustaceans of all sizes! The park’s underwater periphery is home to a sizeable diversity of animals and plants, as it consists in different types of seabeds (e.g., sand, rock, stone, etc.) of varying depth and characterized by a range of salinity levels as well as exposure to waves and currents of varying intensity. 

Seals

The park’s shorelines constitute a living environment of choice for the harbour seal and the grey seal. Of the two species, the harbour seal is the only one that breeds and lives here year-round. The grey seal arrives in Forillon in the spring and leaves in the fall. It swims in from the southern portion of the Gulf of St. Lawrence, offshore from Nova Scotia and the Magdalen Islands.

Whales

Six species of cetaceans are regular visitors to the waters surrounding the park, namely, the minke whale, Atlantic white-sided dolphin and humpback whale, as well as three endangered species: the harbour porpoise, fin whale and blue whale. Whales travel here to feed: the park’s marine waters are particularly rich thanks to the inflow of minerals from three major rivers as well as the high phytoplankton productivity and nutrient levels associated with the Gaspé Current.

Birds 

Forillon’s huge cliffs are of vital importance for tens of thousands of seabirds, which flock here every year to nest and breed. Moreover, the park is home to the largest black-legged kittiwake colony in eastern Canada. Other species of note include the razorbill, common murre, double-crested cormorant, black guillemot, great black-backed gull and herring gull.  

Salt marsh

Eelgrass bed


Want to know more?
Come visit the park and meet our interpreters! They will be delighted to share their knowledge and answer your questions.

Les frontières du parc s’étendent à plus de 150 mètres dans la mer. Cette zone protégée est représentative des écosystèmes du golfe du Saint-Laurent.  

Vie sous-marine

Sous la surface, on observe des étoiles de mer de toutes les couleurs, des poissons aux particularités insoupçonnées et des crustacés de toutes les tailles! Le pourtour sous-marin du parc abrite une importante diversité animale et végétale, notamment parce qu’il est composé de différents types de fonds (sable, roc, roche), de différentes profondeurs, qui subissent des niveaux variés de salinité et d’exposition aux vagues et aux courants.

Phoques

Les côtes du parc constituent un milieu de vie recherché par le phoque commun et le phoque gris. Le phoque commun est le seul à s’y reproduire et à demeurer dans la région toute l’année. Le phoque gris, quant à lui, arrive à Forillon au printemps et repart à l’automne. Il vient du sud du golfe du Saint-Laurent, du large de la Nouvelle-Écosse et des îles de la Madeleine.

Baleines

Six espèces de cétacés fréquentent habituellement les eaux qui bordent le parc : le petit rorqual, le dauphin à flancs blancs et le rorqual à bosse, de même que trois espèces en péril, soit le marsouin commun, le rorqual commun et le rorqual bleu. Les baleines viennent ici pour se nourrir, les eaux qui bordent le parc étant particulièrement riches grâce à l’apport en minéraux de trois importantes rivières et à la productivité élevée en phytoplanctons et nutriments du courant de Gaspé.

Oiseaux

Les immenses falaises de Forillon sont extrêmement importantes pour des dizaines de milliers d’oiseaux marins. Ceux-ci y viennent chaque année pour faire leur nid et élever leurs petits. C’est d’ailleurs ici que niche la plus importante colonie de mouettes tridactyles de l’est du Canada. Les autres espèces qui s’y retrouvent sont le petit pingouin, le guillemot marmette, le cormoran à aigrettes, le guillemot à miroir, le goéland marin et le goéland argenté. 

Le marais salé

La zostéraie (herbier sous-marin)

 

Vous voulez en savoir plus?
Visitez le parc et rencontrez les interprètes! Ils se feront un plaisir de partager leurs connaissances et de répondre à vos questions.