The cannon shelter old location
The cannon shelter (the building farthest to the right) was only 2. m from the edge of a highly eroded cliff.

The team at Forillon National Park successfully relocated the cannon shelter at the Cape Gaspé lighthouse station, as it was threatened by shoreline erosion. By doing so, Parks Canada took preventative measures to ensure the protection of the heritage building, which was situated just 2.8 m from the edge of the highly eroded cliff.

Built in 1883, the fragile wooden structure, measuring approximately 12 by 16 feet, was therefore cautiously relocated by a few metres on October 10th, 2019. It is the first heritage building to be relocated in Forillon National Park.

Several elements were considered when selecting the building’s new location, including its original location and orientation (a testimony to its original purpose in direct connection with Gaspé Bay/Gulf of St. Lawrence), its integration with other built elements at the station (lighthouse and fog alarm building), the impact on the cultural landscape, the quality of visitor experience on site, and the building’s potential for enhancements.

This relocation will ensure the conservation of the cannon shelter over the long term. It will also promote its enhancement by offering a new purpose, allowing visitors to enjoy it more fully and to better understand its importance within the history of the lighthouse station.

The cannon shelter in 2016 surrounded by a fence.
Before its relocation, the cannon shelter was fenced off to ensure the safety of visitors and employees, given its proximity to the cliff.

The erosion issue at Forillon National Park

Climate change causes an acceleration of the phenomenon of shoreline erosion. At Forillon National Park, the average shoreline recession shifted from approximately 2 cm/year (before the mid 1990s) to nearly 20 cm/year in recent years.

Parks Canada has already carried out several projects to adapt to this new reality at Forillon National Park, including restoration projects for the Penouille and Cap-des-Rosiers shoreline dynamic.

The historical importance of the cannon shelter

Black and white picture of the cannon shelter in 1976
In the 1970s, the lot behind the cannon shelter was larger and was accessible to the public.

The construction of the cannon shelter 1883 marked the introduction of the cannon as the station’s sound signal. In 1894, the cannon was replaced by explosive guncotton cartridges; the cannon shelter’s roof would then serve as a support system for the metallic structure which launched the cartridges (a structure that no longer exists today).

This building is important to the site’s history, as it is the only remaining construction from the first lighthouse era. It is unique, and is also the only and last remaining witness to the modernization of buildings and the evolution of navigation techniques and equipment in the late 19th century.

A spectacular landscape

The Cape Gaspé lighthouse station can be accessed by the 4 km Les Graves wooded trail intended for hikers and cyclists. Perched above a cape over 90 metres high, it offers spectacular views over the Gulf of St. Lawrence, Gaspé Bay, the shoreline between Gaspé and Percé, and the emblematic Percé Rock.

Since access to the site is forbidden to cars, it preserved its isolated nature and peaceful atmosphere. Hares, foxes, and porcupines are spotted regularly. The cape’s cliff is also home to several sea birds, and seals can be observed from the platform at its base. Visitors can often witness whale blows and the flight of Northern Gannets offshore.

L'ancien emplacement de l'abri à canon
L’abri du canon (le bâtiment le plus à droite) ne se trouvait plus qu’à 2,8 m du bord d’un surplomb d’une haute falaise fortement érodée.

L’équipe du parc national Forillon a procédé avec succès à la relocalisation de l’abri du canon de la station de phare de Cap-Gaspé, menacé par l’érosion côtière. Parcs Canada est ainsi intervenu de manière préventive pour assurer la protection du bâtiment patrimonial, qui ne se trouvait plus qu’à 2,8 m du bord d’un surplomb d’une haute falaise fortement érodée.

Datant de 1883, la fragile construction de bois d’environ 12 par 16 pieds a donc été précautionneusement déplacée de quelques mètres, le 10 octobre 2019. Il s’agissait du premier bâtiment patrimonial à être ainsi déplacé, au parc national Forillon.

Plusieurs éléments ont été considérés pour choisir le nouvel emplacement du bâtiment, dont : l’emplacement et l’orientation originale du bâtiment (témoignant de son usage d'origine en lien direct avec la baie de Gaspé / le golfe Saint-Laurent), l’intégration avec les autres éléments bâtis de la station (phare et abri du criard), l’impact sur le paysage culturel, la qualité d’expérience du visiteur sur le site et le potentiel de mise en valeur du bâtiment.

Cette relocalisation assurera la conservation à long terme de l’abri du canon. Elle favorisera également sa mise en valeur en offrant de nouvelles possibilités de vocation, en permettant aux visiteurs de l’apprécier davantage et de mieux comprendre son importance dans l’histoire de la station de phare.

L'abri à canon en 2016 entouré d'une clôture.
Avant sa relocalisation, l’abri du canon avait été clôturé pour assurer la sécurité des visiteurs et des employés, étant donnée la proximité avec la falaise.

L’enjeu de l’érosion au parc national Forillon

Les changements climatiques entraînent une accélération du phénomène d’érosion côtière. Au parc national Forillon, le taux moyen de recul du trait de côte est passé d’environ 2 cm par année (avant le milieu des années 1990) à près de 20 cm par année dans les dernières années.

Parcs Canada a déjà mené plusieurs projets pour s’adapter à cette réalité au parc national Forillon, dont les projets de restauration de la dynamique côtière de Penouille et de Cap-des-Rosiers.

L’importance historique de l’abri du canon

Photo noir et blanc de l'abri à canon en 1976
Dans les années 1970, le terrain à l’arrière de l’abri du canon était plus grand et accessible au public.

La construction de l’abri du canon correspond à l’introduction du canon comme signal sonore de la station en 1883. Le canon sera remplacé par des cartouches explosives de fulmi-coton en 1894; le toit de l’abri du canon servira dès lors d’appui à la structure métallique de lancement de ces cartouches (une structure aujourd’hui disparue).

Ce bâtiment est important pour l’histoire du site, car il constitue le seul vestige bâti de l’époque du premier phare. Il est également l’unique et dernier témoin de la modernisation des bâtiments et de l’évolution des techniques et équipements consacrés à l’aide à la navigation à la fin du XIXe siècle.

Un paysage saisissant

La station de phare de Cap-Gaspé est accessible par le sentier forestier Les Graves. Perchée sur un cap de plus de 90 mètres d’altitude, elle offre des vues spectaculaires sur le golfe du Saint-Laurent, la baie de Gaspé, le littoral situé entre Gaspé et Percé ainsi que sur l’emblématique Rocher Percé.

L’accès au site étant interdit aux voitures, il a pu conserver son caractère isolé et son atmosphère paisible. On y croise régulièrement lièvres, renards et porcs-épics. La falaise du cap abrite également de nombreux oiseaux marins et à son pied, une plate-forme permet d’observer les phoques. Au large, il est fréquent de surprendre le souffle d’une baleine ou le vol de fous de Bassan.