What to know before you visit

Parks Canada is investing an unprecedented $3 billion dollars to support infrastructure work within national historic sites, national parks, and national marine conservation areas across Canada.

This historic investment supports conservation while promoting visitor experience and making our infrastructure safer and more appealing to visitors.

When visiting or driving through Prince Edward Island National Park, you may encounter one or more construction zones or reduced services while we complete this important work. Please plan ahead before you travel to avoid inconvenience. Consult the following list of current infrastructure projects in Prince Edward Island National Park to see if any road or facility work might impact your trip.  


Complete closure

Gulf Shore Parkway West and Gulf Shore Way West Trail – MacKenzies Brook

There is significant work planned for the MacKenzies Brook area beginning in September 2019. As a result, the Gulf Shore Parkway West will be closed to all traffic from September 15, 2019 to November 15, 2019. Signage will be in place at the east and west entrances to the Gulf Shore Parkway West, advising visitors of the road closure.

MacKenzies Brook passes beneath the Gulf Shore Parkway through two culverts, which have reached the end of their lifespan and are in need of replacement. Due to the Gulf Shore Parkway’s elevation in this section, which is about 10 m above sea level, the roadway will need to be completely closed during the excavation and culvert replacement period. The significant difference in elevation between the road way and the excavation site does not safely allow for single lane closures.

In order to minimize visitor impact, this road closure will be in effect from September 15, 2019 to November 15, 2019, in advance of the winter season. The road surface of Gulf Shore Parkway West at MacKenzies Brook will remain gravel from November 15, 2019 to May 15, 2020, with paving to take place in Spring 2020.

The Gulf Shore Parkway West closure will be from the east end of MacNeills Brook parking lot, to the west side of Orby Head. These locations, at either end of the closure are, provide enough space for larger vehicles to turn around safely.

Map - Gulf Shore Parkway West Closure - September 15 to November 15, 2019
Gulf Shore Parkway West Closure September 15 to November 15, 2019.
  • Closure occurs at MacKenzies Brook

From the east: closed at the MacNeills Brook Park lot.

From the west: closed at Orby Head look-out.

There is space for larger vehicles to turn around safely at both of these sites.

Please obey all traffic personnel and signage. Thank you for your patience while we improve our facilities.


Locations listed on this map include:

  • Cavendish Campground,
  • Cavendish Beach,
  • Oceanview Lookoff,
  • MacNeills Brook Beach,
  • MacKenzies Brook,
  • Orby Head,
  • Cavendish Grove,
  • Green Gables Golf Course,
  • Cavendish Destination Centre,
  • Site of L.M. Montgomery's Cavendish Home,
  • Green Gables Heritage Place.

Possible disruptions

Cavendish Dune crossing ramp

Please note that there will be temporary partial closure of the end portion of the ramp on the dune crossing at Cavendish Beach on September 16, 2019. It will reopen again on September 17, 2019.

This closure is necessary to install tactile strips to better assist pedestrians who are visually impaired. The work will be completed during that day. Visitors will still be able to reach the beach during this work via the dune crossing stairs.

Brackley Beach entrance kiosks

Parks Canada is undertaking infrastructure work at the Brackley Beach entrance of Prince Edward Island National Park. This work, which will require sporadic, temporary pedestrian and vehicle lane closures, will begin in early September 2019 and be completed in the winter (weather dependent).

This work is part of Parks Canada’s ongoing entrances and kiosk infrastructure project. The two current kiosks at the Brackley Beach entrance will be replaced with new structures and the queuing lanes will be extended. Overhead LED signage will be installed, along with the necessary support structures. There will also be tree trimming along the roadway leading up to the entrance itself to improve site lines and the safety of staff and motorists.

Bubbling Springs / Farmlands trails

Parks Canada is also be undertaking infrastructure work on the Bubbling Springs and Farmland trails in the Brackley – Dalvay section of Prince Edward Island National Park. This work, which will require sporadic trail closures, will begin in early September 2019 and be completed in the winter (weather dependent).

This work is part of Parks Canada’s ongoing trails infrastructure project. The current viewing blind on Long Pond will be replaced with a larger floating platform that will serve as an outdoor classroom. A new viewing tower will also be installed. The bridge on this trail, as well as on the one on the adjoining Farmlands trail, will be replaced and the retaining wall that holds the bank along the “bubbling” spring will also be reinstated.

North Rustico Beach complex

Parks Canada will soon begin infrastructure upgrades at North Rustico beach in Prince Edward Island National Park. This work will begin after the beach facilities are closed for the season on September 13, 2019 and is expected to be complete by spring 2020.

This work is part of Parks Canada’s ongoing beach complex infrastructure project. The North Rustico beach facilities currently consist of one small change house and one washroom, both of which were built decades ago and are in need of updating. As part of this project, these two buildings will be removed and a new washroom / kitchen shelter building will be constructed on the south side of the existing parking lot, on what is now a gravelled area.

Brackley Beach complex decking

Parks Canada will be rehabilitating the decking around the buildings at the Brackley Beach complex, beginning in mid-October after the facilities are closed for the season. This work will be completed in the winter (weather dependent). Visitor access to the beach will be maintained during this work.

Park entrance kiosks at Grahams Lane in Cavendish

Infrastructure work is underway at the Grahams Lane entrance to the Cavendish section of Prince Edward Island National Park.

This work is part of Parks Canada’s ongoing entrances and kiosk infrastructure project. Two kiosks at the Grahams Lane entrance are being replaced with new structures and the entrance lane will be widened. Overhead LED signage will also be installed, along with the necessary support structures. 

There may be disruptions and delays to vehicle traffic during this construction. Visitors to PEI National Park are advised to exercise caution, respect all on-site signage, and closures, and to follow instructions from on-site Parks Canada’s staff or contractors. 

Trail way-finding signage

New trail signs are being installed on all trails in PEI National Park (excluding the Robinson Island Trail System) during the fall of 2019.  This work includes the installation of new trailhead and way finding signs, as well as distance markers, to help visitors navigate the trails. There will be no trail closures and the work will have minimal impact on visitors.

Please note!
Safety is a top priority for Parks Canada. As such, visitors to PEI National Park are advised to exercise caution, respect all on-site signage and closures, and to follow instructions from on-site Parks Canada’s staff or contractors.

Parks Canada makes every effort to minimize disruptions caused by infrastructure work. We thank local residents and visitors for their patience and support while this important work is happening.

Ce qu’il faut savoir avant votre visite

Parcs Canada investit une somme record de trois milliards de dollars pour réaliser des travaux d’infrastructures aux lieux historiques nationaux, aux parcs nationaux et aux aires marines nationales de conservation du Canada.

Cet investissement historique appuie la conservation tout en favorisant une expérience mémorable pour les visiteurs et en accroissant la sécurité et l’attrait de notre infrastructure.

Au cours de votre passage dans le Parc national de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard, vous pourriez devoir traverser un ou plusieurs chantiers de construction ou zones de services réduits pendant la réalisation de ces travaux importants. Veuillez planifier à l’avance pour éviter des désagréments. Consultez la liste suivante de projets d’infrastructure en cours dans le Parc national de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard pour vérifier si des travaux d’amélioration des routes ou des installations pourraient avoir une incidence sur votre voyage.


Fermeture complète

La promenade du Golfe Ouest et les entier du Golfe Ouest - ruisseau MacKenzies

Des travaux importants sont prévus dans le secteur du ruisseau MacKenzies à compter de septembre 2019. Par conséquent, la promenade du Golfe Ouest sera fermée à toute circulation du 15 septembre au 15 novembre 2019. Des panneaux de signalisation seront installés aux entrées est et ouest de la promenade du Golfe Ouest pour informer les visiteurs de la fermeture de la route.

Le ruisseau MacKenzies passe sous la promenade du Golfe par deux ponceaux qui ont atteint la fin de leur durée de vie et doivent être remplacés. En raison de l'élévation de la promenade du Golfe dans ce tronçon, qui se trouve à environ 10 m au-dessus du niveau de la mer, la route devra être complètement fermée pendant l'excavation et le remplacement du ponceau. La différence d'élévation importante entre la route et le site d'excavation ne permet pas la fermeture d'une seule voie en toute sécurité.

Afin de minimiser l'impact sur les visiteurs, la fermeture de la route sera en vigueur du 15 septembre 2019 au 15 novembre 2019, avant la saison hivernale. La surface de la route de la promenade du Golfe Ouest au ruisseau MacKenzies restera gravelée du 15 novembre 2019 au 15 mai 2020, et le pavage aura lieu au printemps 2020.

La fermeture de la promenade du Golfe Ouest se fera à partir de l'extrémité est du terrain de stationnement du ruisseau MacNeills, jusqu'au côté ouest du cap Orby. Ces emplacements, situés aux deux extrémités de la fermeture, offrent suffisamment d'espace pour permettre aux véhicules plus gros de faire demi-tour en toute sécurité.

Carte - Fermeture de la promenade du Golfe ouest - du 15 septembre au 15 novembre 2019
Fermeture de la promenade du Golfe ouest - du 15 septembre au 15 novembre 2019.
  • La fermeture a lieu au ruisseau MacKenzies,

De l'est : fermé au stationnement du ruisseau MacNeills.

De l'ouest : fermé au belvédère d'Orby Head.

Il y a suffisamment d'espace pour que les gros véhicules puissent virer de façon sécuritaire à chaque site.

SVP obéir à tout le personnel de la circulation et de la signalisation.


Les emplacements sur la carte incluent :

  • Camping de Cavendish,
  • Plage de Cavendish,
  • Belvédère Oceanview,
  • Ruisseau MacNeills,
  • Ruisseau MacKenzies,
  • Orby Head,
  • Boisé de Cavendish,
  • Terrain de golf Green Gables,
  • Centre d'accueil de Cavendish,
  • Lieu de résidence de Lucy Maud Montgomery à Cavendish,
  • Site patrimonial Green Gables.

Perturbations possibles

Rampe de la traversée des dunes de la plage Cavendish

Veuillez noter que la dernière partie de la rampe de la traversée des dunes à la plage de Cavendish sera fermée temporairement le 16 septembre 2019. Elle rouvrira le 17 septembre 2019.

Cette fermeture permettra d’installer des bandes pododactiles qui aideront les piétons ayant une déficience visuelle. Les travaux seront effectués en entier durant la journée. Les visiteurs pourront toujours accéder à la plage durant les travaux en empruntant les escaliers.

Kiosques d'entrée de Brackley Beach

Parcs Canada entreprendra des travaux d’infrastructure à l’entrée de la plage Brackley, dans le parc national de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard. Ces travaux, qui nécessiteront la fermeture sporadique et temporaire des voies pour piétons et pour véhicules, commenceront au début de septembre 2019 et se termineront au cours de l’hiver (si les conditions météorologiques le permettent).

Ces travaux s’inscrivent dans le projet d’amélioration des kiosques et des postes d’entrée de Parcs Canada. Les deux kiosques actuels de l’entrée de la plage Brackley seront remplacés par de nouveaux bâtiments, et les voies d’attente seront allongées. Des panneaux à DEL suspendus seront installés et pourvus de toutes les structures de soutien nécessaires. Le projet prévoit également des travaux d’émondage des arbres le long de la route menant à l’entrée proprement dite afin d'améliorer les lignes du site et la sécurité du personnel et des automobilistes.

Sentiers Bubbling Springs et Farmlands

Parcs Canada entreprendra également des travaux d’infrastructure sur les sentiers Bubbling Springs et Farmlands dans le secteur Brackley–Dalvay du parc national de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard. Ces travaux, qui nécessiteront la fermeture sporadique des sentiers, commenceront au début de septembre 2019 et seront achevés au cours de l’hiver (si les conditions météorologiques le permettent).

Ces travaux s’inscrivent dans le projet d’amélioration de l’infrastructure des sentiers de Parcs Canada. La cache d’observation de la faune de l’étang Long sera remplacée par une plateforme flottante de plus grande dimension qui servira de salle de classe extérieure. Une nouvelle tour d’observation sera également installée. En outre, le pont de ce sentier et celui du sentier Farmlands seront remplacés, tout comme le mur de soutènement qui étaye la berge le long de la source « bouillonnante ».

Installations de la plage de North Rustico

Parcs Canada entreprendra bientôt des travaux d’infrastructure à la plage de North Rustico, dans le parc national de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard. Ces travaux commenceront le 13 septembre 2019 et devraient se terminer au cours du printemps 2020.

Ces travaux s’inscrivent dans le projet continu de l’infrastructure des installations de la plage de Parcs Canada. Actuellement, à la plage de North Rustico, on retrouve un petit vestiaire et une petite installation sanitaire, qui sont tous les deux désuets et qui nécessitent des rénovations. Ce projet permettra de retirer les deux bâtiments existants et de construire une nouvelle installation sanitaire et un abri-cuisine sur le côté sud du stationnement existant, qui est actuellement un espace gravelé.

Trottoirs à la plage Brackley

Parcs Canada remettra en état les trottoirs autour des bâtiments du complexe de Brackley Beach, à compter de la mi-octobre, après la fermeture des installations pour la saison. Ces travaux seront terminés en hiver (en fonction des conditions météorologiques). L'accès des visiteurs à la plage sera maintenu durant ces travaux.

Kiosques d'entrée à Grahams Lane à Cavendish

Des travaux d’infrastructure débuté sur sont en cours à Grahams Lane, à l’entrée du secteur de Cavendish, dans le parc national de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard.

Ces travaux s'inscrivent dans le cadre du projet d'infrastructure des entrées et des kiosques de Parcs Canada. Deux kiosques actuels de Grahams Lane seront remplacés par de nouvelles constructions, et la voie d’entrée sera élargie. Des panneaux suspendus à DEL, assortis des structures de soutien nécessaires, seront également installés.

Il peut y avoir des perturbations et des retards dans la circulation routière pendant ces travaux. On invite les visiteurs du parc national de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard à faire preuve de prudence, à respecter la signalisation et les fermetures et à suivre les directives des employés de Parcs Canada et des entrepreneurs sur place.

Signalisation d'orientation des sentiers

Des nouveaux panneaux de signalisation seront installés sur tous les sentiers du parc national de l'Î.-P.-É. (à l'exception du réseau de sentiers de l'île Robinson) pendant l'été et l’automne 2019. Ces travaux comprennent l'installation de nouveaux panneaux de départ et d'orientation, ainsi que de balises de distance, pour aider les visiteurs à naviguer sur les sentiers. Il n'y aura pas de fermeture de sentiers et les travaux auront un impact minimal sur les visiteurs.

Veuillez noter!
La sécurité est une priorité absolue pour Parcs Canada. Les visiteurs au parc national de l'Î.-P.-É. sont donc priés de faire preuve de prudence, de respecter tous les panneaux et avis de fermeture ainsi que de suivre les instructions du personnel de Parcs Canada ou des entrepreneurs sur place.

Parcs Canada s'efforce de réduire au minimum les perturbations causées par les travaux d'infrastructure. Nous remercions les visiteurs et les résidents de leur patience et de leur appui pendant la réalisation de ces travaux importants.