The western tip of Greenwich, a peninsula that separates St. Peters Bay from the Gulf of St. Lawrence, became part of Prince Edward Island National Park in 1998 to protect and preserve the natural and cultural resources found in the area.

Parabolic Dunes

Greenwich dunes.

The site contains an extensive and fragile coastal dune system, wetlands and various natural habitats in which numerous rare plant species are found. Among the most spectacular natural characteristics to be protected at Greenwich are the unusually large and mobile parabolic dunes with their associated counter ridges or Gegenwälle. This phenomenon is very rare in North America.

Greenwich is also noted for its cultural and historic richness. Research at the site is ongoing, and evidence found thus far indicates a landscape that has changed drastically over time. Several archaeological digs conducted between 1983 and 2002 by the Canadian Museum of Civilization and Parks Canada have found traces left by the major cultures that have existed on Prince Edward Island over the past 10,000 years. These include early Aboriginal peoples, the Mi'kmaq, French and Acadian settlers, and Scottish, Irish, and English immigrants.

Facilities

Greenwich Interpretation Centre

Greenwich, PEI National Park.

The Greenwich Interpretation Centre features over 20 exhibits to help you learn and appreciate the amazing natural and cultural history of this special place.

The Time Line exhibit depicts a story of 10,000 years of inhabitation, including artifact which have been found on-site. Visitors can test their own naturalist skills with the Shell Game, Shorebird Challenge, and Dune Plant quiz.

The 3D in-floor model displays the Greenwich Peninsula, St. Peters Bay, and surrounding areas. A major component of the exhibit is the 12-minute multimedia presentation entitled “Wind, Sea and Sand, the story of Greenwich.”

The Interpretation Centre is fully wheelchair accessible and also includes a multipurpose room.

2018 dates of operation: June 13 - September 14 (9AM to 5PM, 7 days a week)

Hiking Trails

Greenwich features three hiking trails varying in length from 1.25 km to 4.5 km. The landscape varies from secluded wooded areas to open abandoned agricultural fields to spectacular vistas over Bowley Pond. All trails are equipped with interpretive signs, which explain the unique ecosystem and rich history of the area. Trails are open from late spring until late fall. For more information: Hiking

Beach Facility

This facility has been constructed using a sustainable design concept. Energy is provided by means of wind and solar power energy. Composting toilets replace the need for a traditional sewage system. Services available include washrooms, change rooms, exterior showers, a large picnic shelter, a wooden boardwalk to the beach, and observation tower. For more information: Swimming and beach activities

Directions

From Charlottetown, follow Route 2 east to St. Peter’s for 52 km. Turn left in St. Peter’s to stay on Route 2 for 300m, continuing straight onto Route 313 for 450m. Turn left onto Greenwich Rd (also Route 313) and follow for 9.5 km until you reach the Greenwich Interpretation Centre.

From the Confederation Bridge (Borden-Carleton), follow Route 1 east to Charlottetown for 54 km, then turn left onto Route 2 west to St. Peter’s for 50 km. Turn left in St. Peter’s to stay on Route 2 for 300m, continuing straight onto Route 313 for 450m. Turn left onto Greenwich Rd (also Route 313) and follow for 9.5 km until you reach the Greenwich Interpretation Centre.

From the Wood Islands Ferry Terminal, follow Route 315 north to Montague for 23 km, then turn left onto Route 4 north for 11 km. Turn left onto Route 313 (Cardigan Rd) for 20 km through St. Peter’s, turn left onto the Greenwich Rd (also Route 313) and follow for 9.5 km until you reach the Greenwich Interpretation Centre.

Off-Season Access

Parking lots, trails, boardwalks, and stairs in Greenwich, PEI National Park are not maintained between Thanksgiving and Victoria Day each year. During this period there is no Parks Canada emergency response. Natural hazards are present in the area. There is, therefore, an increased risk of serious injury or death. By choosing to use unmaintained trails, you assume all actual and legal risks. Parks Canada disclaims any and all liability to you and relies on the Occupiers' Liability Act, RSPEI 1988, c. O-2.

L'extrémité ouest de la péninsule de Greenwich, qui sépare la baie St. Peters du golfe du Saint-Laurent, a été annexée au parc national de l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard en 1998 dans le but de protéger et de préserver les ressources naturelles et culturelles qu'elle renferme.

Dunes paraboliques

Greenwich.

 

Le secteur comprend un vaste réseau de dunes côtières fragiles, des terres humides et divers habitats naturels abritant de nombreuses plantes rares. Parmi les plus spectaculaires caractéristiques naturelles protégées à Greenwich, il faut mentionner les dunes paraboliques majestueuses et très mobiles, ainsi que les contre-crêtes ou Gegenwälle qui les accompagnent. Ce phénomène est très rare en Amérique du Nord.

La culture et l'histoire de Greenwich sont également remarquables. La recherche qui se poursuit dans le secteur a permis jusqu'à présent de dévoiler un tableau saisissant de paysages en constante évolution. Les fouilles archéologiques effectuées de 1993 à 2002 par le Musée canadien des civilisations, et par Parcs Canada ont révélé des vestiges laissés par les principales cultures qui ont peuplé l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard au cours des dix derniers millénaires, notamment les premiers autochtones, les Mi'kmaq, les colons français et acadiens, ainsi que les immigrants écossais, irlandais et anglais. 

Installations 

Centre d'interprétation de Greenwich

Greenwich, Parc national de l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard. 

Le centre d'interprétation de Greenwich a plus de 20 éléments d'exposition pour vous aider à comprendre et à apprécier la remarquable histoire naturelle et culturelle de cet endroit spécial.

Le schéma chronologique est un répertoire de 10 000 ans d'occupation humaine comprenant des artefacts trouvés sur place.

Des jeux interactifs sur les coquillages, les oiseaux du rivage et les plantes des dunes vous donnent l'occasion de vérifier vos connaissances.

Une maquette en 3 dimensions, encastrée dans le plancher, montre la péninsule de Greenwich, la baie St. Peters et les régions avoisinantes.

Le clou de l'exposition est sans contredit la présentation multimédia de 12 minutes intitulée « Vent, mer et sable : l'histoire de Greenwich ».

Le centre est entièrement accessible en fauteuil roulant et comprend en outre une salle polyvalente.

2019 Heures d'ouverture : Du 12 juin au 11 septembre (De 9 h à 17 h, 7 jours sur 7)

Sentiers de randonnée

Les trois sentiers sont réservés à la randonnée pédestre, et leur distance varie de 1,25 km à 4,5 km. Ils traversent tour à tour des boisés touffus, des champs abandonnés et des étangs, notamment l'étang Bowley où la vue est magnifique. Les sentiers sont dotés de panneaux d'interprétation sur l'écosystème unique et la riche histoire de la région. Ils sont ouverts au public de la fin du printemps à la fin de l'automne. Pour plus d'information :  Randonnée

Installation balnéaire

L'installation est construite suivant des principes de conception durable. L'électricité y est produite au moyen d'énergie éolienne et solaire. Des toilettes à compostage y remplacent le réseau conventionnel d'égouts. L'installation regroupe des toilettes, des cabines, des douches extérieures, un vaste abri de pique-nique, un trottoir de bois menant à la plage et une tour d'observation. Pour plus d'information : Natation et activités de plage

Comment s’y rendre

À partir de Charlottetown, suivez la route 2 Est vers St. Peter’s sur 52 km. Tournez à gauche à St. Peter’s afin de rester sur la route 2 pendant 300 m, en continuant tout droit sur la route 313 pour 450 m. Tournez à gauche sur le chemin Greenwich (route 313), et parcourez 9,5 km jusqu’au Centre d'interprétation de Greenwich.

À partir du pont de la Confédération (Borden-Carleton), suivez la route 1 Est vers Charlottetown sur 54 km, puis tournez à gauche sur la route 2 Ouest en direction de St. Peter’s (50 km). Tournez à gauche à St. Peter’s pour rester sur la route 2 pour 300 m, et continuez tout droit sur 450 m sur la route 313. Tournez à gauche sur le chemin Greenwich (route 313), et faites 9,5 km jusqu’au Centre d'interprétation de Greenwich.

À partir de la gare maritime de Wood Islands, faites 23 km sur la route 315 Nord jusqu’à Montague, puis tournez à gauche et faites 11 km sur la route 4 Nord. Tournez à gauche sur la route 313 (chemin Cardigan) et parcourez 20 km en traversant St. Peter’s, tournez à gauche sur le chemin Greenwich (route 313), et continuez sur 9,5 km jusqu’au Centre d'interprétation de Greenwich.

Accès hors saison

Les parcs de stationnement, les sentiers, les trottoirs et les escaliers à Greenwich, Parc national de l’Î.-P.-É. ne seront pas entretenus entre la fête de l’Action de grâces et la fête de Victoria chaque année. Pendant cette période, Parcs Canada n'intervient pas en cas d'urgence. Ce secteur comporte des dangers liés aux conditions naturelles, le risque de blessure grave ou d'accident mortel y est donc accru. Si vous décidez d’utiliser ces sentiers non entretenus, sachez que vous le faites à vos risques et périls. Parcs Canada décline toute responsabilité et s'appuie sur la loi provinciale sur la responsabilité des occupants (RSPEI 1988, O-2)