To our industry colleagues,

Following a full year of consultations and planning, Parks Canada introduced a new look in 2019 for the Prince Edward Island National Park seasonal and 7-day permits. The traditional hangtag now includes space to print two license plate numbers on the front, one of which must match the plate number on the vehicle entering the park.

Why Parks Canada made this change

Parks Canada entrance permits are non-transferable, meaning they are intended to be used by the permit holder (signatory) only. Parks Canada is enforcing all regulations related to entrance permits at PEI National Park and at Green Gables Heritage Place, including that which is stated on the rear of the permit: "Pass is non-refundable and is void if resold or transferred". This direction aligns with all other national parks and historic sites administered by Parks Canada across the country.

The design change reflects observations by compliance team members who have reported increasing incidents of park visitors without a valid permit in the park. Parks Canada has been working with industry leaders over the past four years to raise awareness of the issue, and to develop a system to prohibit the transferring of permits.  It is important that regulations are enforced so that all visitors are treated equally. This change to the permit design will reduce the likelihood of non-compliance.

Accommodation providers

Accommodation providers on Prince Edward Island are invited to purchase vouchers to resell to guests. Vouchers can be sold independently at check-in, or as a part of a package. Parks Canada is working with Maritime Fun Group Inc. who is managing this third party sales option on our behalf. If you are an operator and would like to learn about third-party sales, or to request more information to share with your guests about Parks Canada entrance fees, please contact us at 902-672-6350.

How entrance fees are reinvested

Fees that are collected through entrance and camping permits are reinvested in local services, products and activities. This enables us to ensure that supporters of PEI National Park will continue to enjoy upgrades and improvements to enhance their experience with us. Recent investment examples include accessibility upgrades, outdoor wash stations in campgrounds, mitigating measures to protect species at risk and their habitat, and specialised equipment to improve efficiency and productivity in our cleaning and maintenance routine.

When Permits are Non-Compliant

We understand that it takes time to adjust to change. Therefore, administrative compliance efforts in Prince Edward Island National Park will be focused on education. Our staff will monitor permits at entrance gates and in parking lots, and will engage with visitors to ensure that they understand the new permit design. In incidents of non-compliance, we will explain necessary corrective measures.

In cases where the permit has been transferred by an accommodation provider, we will provide the visitor an opportunity to exchange the permit for a valid day pass and will follow up with the operator directly.

In the event that rules are blatantly ignored and recurring non-compliance becomes an issue, we will refer the case to our Park Wardens for enforcement action. Our commitment is to do our best to ensure that all parties abide by the same rules and are treated equally.

Many thanks to all of you who have been supportive as we transitioned to the new permit design and third-party sales process in 2019. May 2020 be a year of good fortune for your business!

With kind regards,

Tara McNally MacPhee

Manager of Visitor Experience, Prince Edward Island National Park
tara.mcnallymacphee@canada.ca
902-672-6372

À l'intention de nos collègues de l'industrie :

Après une année entière de consultation et de planification, en 2019, Parcs Canada a donné une nouvelle apparence aux laissez-passer saisonniers et laissez-passer de sept jours du parc national de l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard. La carte flottante habituelle comprend maintenant un espace pour imprimer deux numéros de plaque d'immatriculation sur le devant, dont l'un doit correspondre au numéro de plaque du véhicule qui entre dans le parc.

Pourquoi Parcs Canada a-t-il effectué ce changement?

Les laissez-passer de Parcs Canada ne sont pas transférables, c'est-à-dire qu'ils doivent servir uniquement à leur détenteur (signataire). Parcs Canada veut faire respecter toutes les règles relatives aux laissez-passer du parc national de l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard et du site patrimonial Green Gables, y compris celles qui figurent au verso de la carte : « La carte est non remboursable et annulée si revendue ou transférée ». Cette directive correspond à celle en vigueur dans tous les autres parcs nationaux et lieux historiques administrés par Parcs Canada dans l'ensemble du pays.

Ce changement dans la conception de la carte découle des observations faites par les membres de l'équipe de conformité, qui ont signalé un nombre croissant d'incidents où des visiteurs n'avaient pas de laissez-passer valide dans le parc. Au cours des quatre dernières années, Parcs Canada a travaillé avec les dirigeants de l'industrie pour faire connaître ce problème, et pour mettre sur pied un système visant à interdire le transfert de laissez-passer. Il est important de faire respecter les règles afin que tous les visiteurs soient traités sur un pied d'égalité. Ce changement réduira la probabilité de non-conformité.

Fournisseurs d'hébergement

Nous invitons les fournisseurs d'hébergement de l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard à acheter des coupons pour les revendre à leurs clients. Les coupons peuvent être vendus séparément à l'enregistrement du client, ou dans le cadre d'un forfait. Parcs Canada travaille avec Maritime Fun Group Inc., qui gère pour nous ce mécanisme de vente par des tiers. Si vous êtes un fournisseur et souhaitez en savoir plus sur la vente par des tiers, ou si vous aimeriez vous renseigner sur les droits d'entrée de Parcs Canada afin d'en informer vos clients, communiquez avec nous au 902-672-6350.

Réinvestissement des droits d'entrée

Les droits perçus par le biais des laissez-passer et des permis de camping sont réinvestis localement dans les services, les produits et les activités. Ainsi, les personnes qui fréquentent le parc national de l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard peuvent continuer à profiter des mises à niveau et des aménagements qui améliorent leur expérience dans le parc. Comme exemples d'investissements récents, mentionnons l'amélioration de l'accessibilité, des stations de lavage extérieures dans les terrains de camping, des mesures d'atténuation visant à protéger les espèces en péril et leur habitat, et de l'équipement spécialisé pour améliorer l'efficacité et la productivité de nos activités de nettoyage et d'entretien.

Laissez-passer non conformes

Nous comprenons qu'il faut du temps pour s'adapter au changement. Par conséquent, les efforts de conformité administrative dans le parc national de l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard seront axés sur l'éducation. Nos employés contrôleront les laissez-passer aux entrées et dans les stationnements, et discuteront avec les visiteurs pour s'assurer qu'ils comprennent les changements qui y ont été apportés. En cas de non-conformité, nous expliquerons les mesures correctives nécessaires.

Dans les cas où le laissez-passer a été transféré par un fournisseur d'hébergement, nous offrirons au visiteur la possibilité de l'échanger contre un laissez-passer valide d'une journée, et nous ferons un suivi directement auprès du fournisseur.

Advenant le cas où les règles sont ignorées de façon flagrante et que la non-conformité récurrente devient problématique, nous soumettrons le cas à nos gardes de parc pour qu'ils prennent les mesures qui s'imposent. Nous nous engageons à faire de notre mieux pour que toutes les parties respectent les mêmes règles et soient traitées sur un pied d'égalité.

Merci à tous ceux qui nous ont appuyés en 2019 pendant cette transition vers le nouveau laissez-passer et le processus de vente par des tiers. Que 2020 soit une année de prospérité pour votre entreprise!

Cordialement,

Tara McNally MacPhee

Gestionnaire de l'Expérience du visiteur, parc national de l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard
tara.mcnallymacphee@canada.ca
902-672-6372