Ecosystems and habitats

Prince Edward Island National Park protects a portion of the Maritime Plain Natural Region, which is characterized by sand dunes, barrier islands and beaches, sandspits and associated wetlands. The diverse habitats in the park provide a home for a variety of plants and animals. 

Four main ecosystems can be found in PEI National Park:

Coastal

PEI National Park.

Sand Dunes and Beaches

The sandbars, barrier beaches and dunes that you see throughout the park today were formed by the accumulation of sand from eroding sandstone.

Sand dunes are created by the wind and waves that carry dry sand up onto the beach where it collects behind rocks or clumps of seaweed. The gradual build-up of sand that forms a dune would be blown away if it were not for the sand-loving marram grass, whose roots and rhizomes form a living net which helps to slow the movement of sand. Once stabilized, a variety of other plants and many different animals can make the dunes their home. 

Sand dunes are an important natural habitat and act as a natural protective barrier against the effect of storms and waves. Research on dunes and all its associated features - vegetation, wildlife and wetlands -  helps us to understand and protect them better. 

Marram grass 

The roots and rhizomes of marram grass form a living net, which helps hold the dune in place. Research on the effect of trampling on vegetation is a major priority for the park.

Wild rose 

Wild rose is one of the first shrubs to take root in more sheltered areas in the dunes. The shiny coating on its leaves protects it from the harsh environment.

Sand Dune Protection 

Stable dunes provide shelter and food to wildlife and protect us from heavy storms.

Heavily vegetated dunes generally represent dunes that are more stable. Even the more stable dunes, however, are fragile and easily damaged. Walking on dunes eliminates the protective plant cover. Studies have shown that it can take as few as ten footsteps to destroy a marram grass colony. Once the grass is gone, the wind blows away the exposed sand and carves small depressions into giant holes called blowouts. Blowouts turn stable dunes into constantly shifting hills, unable to support vegetation or wildlife.  

We need the cooperation of all visitors to preserve the dunes. Be aware that many of the dune systems in the park are protected under the National Parks General Regulations, and it is illegal to enter such areas. Please use the board walks and carpeted foot paths at designated beach access points and stay off the dunes to prevent further damage. By avoiding unauthorized paths, the marram grass will be able to thrive and regenerate, thus allowing damaged dunes to rehabilitate. Together, we can ensure that the fragile beauty of the dunelands will endure for future generations.

For more information, please visit: Visitor guidelines

Sandstone Cliffs

In some areas, the park coastline is made up mainly of red sandstone cliffs. These cliffs were formed from sand, silt and mud that was eroded from an ancient mountain range and deposited into a wide valley about 285 million years ago. Over time, these sediments were compressed into the layered sandstone bedrock of Prince Edward Island.

Their distinctive red colour comes from a mineral called hematite, which was produced when iron-rich minerals in the bedrock became oxidized or rusted. As the soft sandstone is easily eroded by the waves, the coastline is constantly changing.   

Forest

PEI National Park

The original forest found in this region is called the Acadian forest. This forest type is characterized by a mixture of hardwood and softwood species such as beech, sugar maple, yellow birch, hemlock, and red oak. By the 1900s, most of the finest forests were stripped and cleared for farming, fuel and lumber. 

Later, white spruce, white birch and wild cherry began to take over abandoned farms and fields. Although a few pockets of the original Acadian forest remain, most of the forested area in the park is now made up mainly of white spruce and young regenerating forests.

For more information on conservation and restoration work in our PEI National Park forests, please visit: Conserving and restoring ecosystems

Fresh water

PEI National Park

Freshwater in streams and small, shallow freshwater lakes (known locally as ponds) occupies a small portion of the surface area (approximately 4%) of Prince Edward Island National Park.

The watersheds within Prince Edward Island National Park originate outside the national park boundary, and as a result, the park’s freshwater ecosystem is highly subject to land and water use outside the park. These watersheds are comprised of a series of spring-fed streams and/or shallow water, nutrient-rich ponds.

Eastern Brook Trout (Salvelinus fontinalis) are a common resident in most Atlantic Canada and PEI streams, and are species of special interest to Canadians. Many of the freshwater ponds in coastal areas provide habitat for fish, macro-invertebrates, and microbial and aquatic plant communities.

The American Eel (Anguilla rostrata) is widely distributed in freshwater, estuarine and protected coastal areas of eastern Canada including the barachois ponds of our park. This species is currently listed as threatened under the Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada (COSEWIC) and their distribution and abundance have been in decline in recent years. For more information, please visit: Protecting species.

Wetlands
PEI National Park. 

Several small ponds are found behind the sand dunes throughout the park.  Most of these are barachois or barrier ponds, which form when migrating sand dunes eventually close the mouth of a salt-water inlet or bay.  No longer influenced by the ocean tides, the water gradually loses its salinity and becomes a freshwater pond.  Ponds are important staging areas for water-fowl and provide habitat for many different species of plants and animals.

Salt marshes--low, grassy, muddy areas that are affected by saline waters and periodic flooding from tides-- border some of the sheltered shores of the park. A variety of plants have adapted to this special environment. As salt marshes provide important breeding areas for many birds and fish, they are among the most productive natural habitats in the world.

 

Management of our national parks must be based on a clear understanding of ecosystems and of all possible stresses on them. To ensure the continuity or sustainability of our park, we must view the natural environment as a whole, being careful to ensure that decisions take into consideration the interactions and dynamic nature of ecosystems as well as their capacity to withstand and recover from stress. 

Together we can make a difference. To maintain the balance of nature, we must all be attentive to the impact we have on it. For more information on monitoring work in these ecosystems, please visit: Conserving and restoring ecosystems.

Écosystèmes et habitats

Le parc national de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard protège une partie de la région naturelle de la Plaine maritime, qui se caractérise par des dunes, des cordons d’îles, des plages, des flèches de sable et des zones humides. Les différents milieux naturels du parc procurent un habitat à tout un éventail de plantes et d’animaux. 

Quatre écosystèmes principaux se trouvent dans le parc national de l’Î.-P.-É. :

 

Zones côtières

Parc national de l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard

Dunes et plages

Les barres de sable, les cordons d’îles et les dunes que vous voyez un peu partout dans le parc ont été formés par l’accumulation de sable issu de l’érosion du grès. Le vent et les vagues déposent sur la plage du sable sec, qui s’empile derrière des roches ou des touffes d’algues. Cette accumulation progressive finit par créer des dunes. Mais le sable serait emporté par le vent si ce n’était de l’ammophile, une plante arénicole (vivant dans le sable) dont les racines et les rhizomes forment un tapis vivant qui ralentit le mouvement du sable. Une fois la dune stabilisée, diverses autres plantes et un grand nombre d’animaux peuvent y élire domicile à leur tour. 

Les dunes forment un milieu naturel important, et elles agissent comme une barrière naturelle qui protège le littoral contre les assauts des tempêtes et des vagues. Les recherches sur les dunes et sur toutes les caractéristiques qui y sont associées – la végétation, la faune et les zones humides – nous aident à mieux les comprendre et à mieux les protéger. 

Ammophile 

Les racines et les rhizomes de l’ammophile forment un tapis vivant qui aide à maintenir la dune en place. Les recherches sur les effets du piétinement de la végétation font partie des priorités du parc.

Rosier sauvage

Le rosier sauvage figure parmi les premiers arbustes à prendre racine dans les secteurs abrités des dunes. Ses feuilles sont recouvertes d’un enduit luisant qui protège la plante des rigueurs du climat. 

Protection des dunes 

Les dunes stables procurent un abri et de la nourriture à la faune, tout en nous protégeant des tempêtes violentes. 

Les dunes fortement végétalisées sont en général plus stables.  Même les dunes les plus stables sont fragiles et facilement endommagées. Le simple fait d’en fouler la surface anéantit la couverture végétale protectrice. Des études révèlent en effet qu’il suffit de dix pas pour détruire une colonie d’ammophiles. Une fois l’herbe disparue, le vent emporte le sable exposé, et les petites dépressions deviennent des trous géants appelés creux de déflation. Ces immenses creux transforment les dunes stables en des promontoires en constant mouvement qui sont incapables de soutenir quelque forme de vie que ce soit.  

Nous avons besoin de la coopération de tous les visiteurs pour préserver les dunes. Sachez que de nombreux réseaux dunaires du parc sont protégés par le Règlement général sur les parcs nationaux et qu’il est illégal d’y pénétrer. Veuillez emprunter les trottoirs de bois et les sentiers aménagés aux points d’accès désignés de la plage et restez à l’écart des dunes pour prévenir tout dommage. En évitant les sentiers non autorisés, vous permettrez à l’ammophile de se régénérer, ce qui favorisera la remise en état des dunes endommagées. Ensemble, nous pouvons préserver la beauté fragile des dunes pour les générations futures.

Pour plus d'information : Directives à l’intention des visiteurs

Falaises de grès

Dans certains secteurs, le littoral du parc est formé principalement de falaises de grès rouge. Ces promontoires sont faits de sable, de boue et de limon qui se sont détachés d’une chaîne de montagnes ancienne et que le vent a déposés dans une large vallée il y a environ 285 millions d’années. Avec le temps, ces sédiments ont été comprimés pour former les couches de grès qui constituent la roche-mère de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard. Le couleur rouge distinctive provient d’un minéral appelé hématite, qui a été formé par l’oxydation (rouille) des minéraux riches en fer de la roche-mère. Comme le grès friable est facilement érodé par l’action des vagues, le littoral est en constante évolution. 

Forêts
Parc national de l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard

La forêt originale de cette région porte le nom de forêt acadienne. Elle se caractérise par un mélange de feuillus et de conifères, tels que le hêtre, l’érable à sucre, le bouleau jaune, la pruche et le chêne rouge. Au XXe siècle, la plupart des meilleures forêts de la province ont été rasées pour l’agriculture et la récolte de bois de chauffage et de bois d’œuvre.

Plus tard, l’épinette blanche, le bouleau blanc et le cerisier noir ont progressivement envahi les fermes et les champs abandonnés. Même s’il subsiste quelques parcelles de la forêt acadienne d’origine, la majeure partie des zones boisées du parc sont constituées principalement d’épinette blanche et de jeunes peuplements en régénération.

Pour plus d'information : Conservation et restauration des écosystèmes

Eau douce

Parc national de l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard

L’eau douce des cours d’eau et des petits lacs peu profonds (appelés localement étangs) occupe une très petite superficie (environ 4 %) du parc national de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard. Les bassins hydrographiques prennent naissance à l’extérieur des limites du parc, de sorte que l’écosystème d’eau douce est fortement assujetti aux modes d’utilisation des terres et de l’eau en dehors du parc.  Ces bassins hydrographiques sont formés d’une série de cours d’eau alimentés par des sources ou d’étangs peu profonds et riches en éléments nutritifs.

L’omble de fontaine (Salvelinus fontinalis), une espèce qui revêt un intérêt particulier pour la population canadienne, est répandu dans la plupart des cours d’eau des provinces de l’Atlantique et de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard. Bon nombre des étangs d’eau douce des zones côtières procurent un habitat aux poissons, aux macroinvertébrés, aux communautés microbiennes et aux communautés de plantes aquatiques.

L’anguille d’Amérique (Anguilla rostrata) est largement répandue dans les zones côtières protégées, les estuaires et les eaux douces de l’Est du Canada, y compris dans les barachois du parc national de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard.

L’aire de répartition et l’abondance de cette espèce, qui figure actuellement sur la liste des espèces menacées du Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada (COSEPAC), sont en déclin depuis quelques années. Pour plus d'information : Protection des espèces

Milieux humides Parc national de l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard.

Il y a plusieurs petits étangs derrière des dunes de sable dans le parc. Ce sont pour la plupart des barachois, qui se forment lorsque des dunes de sable se déplacent et obstruent l’embouchure d’une crique ou d’une baie d’eau salée. Ne subissant plus l’effet des marées, l’eau y perd progressivement sa salinité et il se crée un étang d’eau douce.

Les étangs sont des haltes migratoires importantes pour les oiseaux aquatiques et ils fournissent un habitat à de nombreuses espèces de plantes et d’animaux.

Les marais d’eau salée – terres basses, herbeuses et boueuses qui subissent les effets de l’eau de mer et qui sont régulièrement inondées par les marées – sont en bordure de certains des rivages protégés du parc. Des plantes se sont adaptées à ce milieu spécial. Comme les marais d’eau salée sont des zones de reproduction importantes pour de nombreux oiseaux et poissons, ils sont parmi les habitats naturels les plus productifs au monde.

 

Pour gérer nos parcs nationaux, il nous faut une bonne compréhension des écosystèmes et de tous leurs agresseurs possibles. Pour assurer la continuité ou la viabilité de notre parc, nous devons considérer le milieu naturel comme un ensemble et prendre des décisions qui tiennent compte des interactions et de la nature dynamique des écosystèmes ainsi que de leur capacité de supporter les agressions et de s’en remettre.

Ensemble, nous pouvons changer les choses. Pour maintenir l’équilibre de la nature, nous devons tous être attentifs aux impacts que nous exerçons sur elle. Pour plus d'information sur recherche dans les écosystèmes : Recherche et surveillance.