There is an increased awareness of the impact of climate and adaptation for climate change in Prince Edward Island National Park.  

Climate change will accelerate coastal processes in an already fragile ecosystem. Changes in the freeze thaw pattern, the number of degree-growing days and changes in the water table are all factors that could potentially impact ecosystems. New forest pests, range expansion, species introductions even changes in season duration may be cause for concern and/or changes in management practices. 

A number of current measures that may indicate climate change and/or impact ecological integrity in PEI National Park:

  • First plant bloom in forest and wetland ecosystems
  • Coastal erosion
  • Nearshore ice
  • Water level
  • Water temperature

As an example, nearshore ice measures the number of days there is an ice foot present on the beach. An ice foot is the pile of ice chunks which stack up on the beach in a continuous line.  The presence of the ice foot is very important to the dunes as it protects them from storm driven wind and waves. It also protects the invertebrates living in the sand, as the temperature beneath the foot remains relatively stable unaffected by the thawing and freezing typical of winter. A change in climate patterns for our region, for instance, could affect the length of time these protective ice foots are present along our beaches during the winter months.

 

Climate change and coastal erosion, PEI National Park

Transcript

Parks Canada logo animation

[Catherine McKenna and Brad Romaniuk on the beach next to sand dunes in PEI National Park]

[Catherine McKenna] So I’m here with Brad Romaniuk, he’s a resource conservation manager at PEI National Park. So we’re in a really amazing spot, tell me what we’re looking at.

[Brad Romaniuk] So Catherine we’re looking at our coastal ecosystem of the national park. That dune structure that basically lines the ocean for the duration of park and it’s an important ecosystem in the fact that it’s very narrow and it’s very dynamic, constantly changing.

The waves and wind actually change this environment constantly.

[Catherine McKenna] So what are we doing to protect and maintain the dunes?

[Brad Romaniuk] So from the ecological integrity perspective, we monitor all of the ecosystems in our national parks across Canada, and this ecosystem itself we monitor erosion rates. The national park is based on a sandstone formation and so it constantly changes.

[Catherine McKenna] So what about climate change? Are you worried about the impacts of climate change? More storms, coastal erosion… [Brad Romaniuk] Yes, I think climate change for us is something we really want to work with our partners with and understand better. As it relates to this specific environment, there’s probably three processes that take place that we would like to learn more about and try to understand. One of them would be the frequency of storms and the severity. Some of these sand dunes are quite fragile if they’re compromised, so they can move and change rapidly. Secondly is the formation of an ice foot, there’s an ice foot that forms on this line every fall. As climate change changes, that ice foot is forming later and that’s a protective barrier to these dunes in the winter time from ice that comes off the ocean and it’s protected from scouring and changing this landscape in a very rapid fashion. The third one is actually just a long sort of understanding of how people use the environment and the interest of getting on the dunes and learning about them and how that changes people’s understanding.

[Catherine McKenna] Well it’s really amazing because I know Canadians love our national parks and my big thing is how do we get Canadians to learn more about our national parks and how each park is unique and represents a different ecosystem, how they can connect with the parks and then of course how they can protect them. So it’s great, thank you for all the work you’re doing.

[Brad Romaniuk] Thank you!

Parks Canada signature

© Her Majesty the Queen in Right of Canada, represented by Parks Canada, 2017.

Canada wordmark

Le parc national de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard est de plus en plus sensibilisé aux répercussions du climat et à l’adaptation aux changements climatiques.

Les changements climatiques accélèrent les processus côtiers dans un écosystème déjà fragile. La modification du cycle de gel-dégel, le nombre de degrés-jours de croissance et les changements de niveaux de la nappe phréatique sont tous des facteurs qui pourraient avoir une incidence sur les écosystèmes. Les nouveaux ravageurs forestiers, l’expansion de l’aire de répartition, l’introduction d’espèces, même la modification de la durée des saisons, peuvent susciter des préoccupations ou des changements des pratiques de gestion. 

Voici un certain nombre de mesures actuelles qui peuvent indiquer un changement climatique ou avoir une incidence sur l’intégrité écologique dans le parc national de l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard : 

  • Première floraison végétale, forêts et milieux humides
  • Érosion côtière
  • Glaces littorales
  • Niveau d’eau
  • Température de l’eau

Par exemple, la glace littorale mesure le nombre de jours où il y a une banquette de glace sur la plage. Une banquette de glace est une bande de morceaux de glace qui s’empilent sur la plage en ligne continue. La présence d’une banquette de glace est très importante pour les dunes, car elle les protège contre les vents et les vagues provoqués par les tempêtes. Elle protège également les invertébrés qui vivent dans le sable, car la température sous la banquette demeure relativement stable sans être affectée par le gel-dégel typique de l’hiver. Un changement dans les régimes climatiques de notre région, par exemple, pourrait avoir une incidence sur la période pendant laquelle ces bandes de glace protectrices restent présentes sur nos plages pendant les mois d’hiver.

 

Le changement climatique et l’érosion côtière, Parc national de l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard

Transcription

Animation du logo de Parcs Canada

[Catherine McKenna et Brad Romaniuk sur la plage près des dunes de sable au parc national de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard]

[Catherine McKenna] Je suis ici avec Brad Romaniuk il est gestionnaire en conservation des ressources au parc national de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard. Nous sommes dans un endroit vraiment incroyable, qu’est-ce que nous regardons en ce moment?

[Brad Romaniuk] Catherine, nous observons présentement l’écosystème côtier du parc national. Cette structure de dunes qui longe l’océan sur pratiquement toute la longueur du parc. C’est un écosystème important car il est étroit, mais très dynamique, toujours en évolution.

Les vagues et le vent transforment cet environnement constamment.

[Catherine McKenna] Que faisons-nous pour protéger et maintenir les dunes?

[Brad Romaniuk] Du point de vue de l’intégrité écologique, nous surveillons tous les écosystèmes des parcs nationaux partout au Canada. Dans le cas de cet écosystème, nous surveillons la vitesse de l’érosion. Le parc national repose sur une formation de grès, alors il est constamment en évolution.

[Catherine McKenna] Et qu’en est-il du changement climatique? Êtes-vous inquiet des répercussions du changement climatique? Plus de tempêtes, l’érosion côtière… [Brad Romaniuk] Oui, je crois que le changement climatique est quelque chose sur lequel nous voulons travailler avec nos partenaires et mieux comprendre. En ce qui concerne cet environnement spécifique, il y a probablement trois processus qui prennent place et que nous aimerions mieux comprendre. L’un d’entre eux est la fréquence et l’intensité des tempêtes. Certaines de ces dunes sont très fragiles si elles sont endommagées, donc elles peuvent bouger et changer rapidement. Le deuxième est la formation d’un pied de glace. Un pied de glace se forme sur cette ligne tous les automnes. Avec le changement climatique, ce pied de glace se forme plus tard. En hiver, Il agit comme protection pour les dunes contre les glaces qui arrivent de l’océan, elles sont donc protégées d’un affouillement Le troisième est en fait la compréhension à long terme de la façon dont les gens utilisent l’environnement de leur intérêt à visiter les dunes, à apprendre à leur sujet et de comment ces éléments changent leur point de vue.

[Catherine McKenna] C’est vraiment incroyable car je sais que les Canadiens et Canadiennes aiment nos parcs nationaux et je suis intéressée à savoir comment amener la population canadienne à en apprendre davantage de nos parcs nationaux, sur la façon dont chaque parc est unique et représente un écosystème différent, comment ils peuvent créer des liens avec les parcs et finalement, comment ils peuvent les protéger. C’est super, merci pour tout le travail que vous accomplissez.

[Brad Romaniuk] Merci!

Signature de Parcs Canada

© Sa Majesté la Reine du Chef du Canada représentée par Parcs Canada, 2017.

Mot-symbole « Canada »