While Prince Edward Island National Park will remain open for Islanders and other visitors to continue to enjoy, facilities in the park will be closed between Thanksgiving Day and Victoria Day.

Parks Canada will continue to clear snow from the Gulf Shore Parkway between Cavendish and North Rustico and between Brackley and Dalvay to allow access, and a number of parking areas will be kept cleared for parking. However, Parks Canada will not be grooming cross-country ski trails, monitoring and removing felled trees from trails, maintaining beach accesses or maintaining Dalvay Lake for skating. Washroom facilities and warm-up shelters will remain closed. 

Please note: There will be limited emergency service provided by Parks Canada.

Access in winter months

Parks Canada will continue to clear snow from the Gulf Shore Parkway between Cavendish and North Rustico and between Brackley and Dalvay to allow access, and the following parking areas will be kept cleared for parking:

  • Dalvay Parking Lot (beside beach)
  • Greenwich (Visitor Information Centre)
  • Bubbling Springs / Farmlands Trail
  • Ross Lane
  • Shaws Beach
  • North Rustico Beach
  • Macneills Brook

Coming to the trails? Be prepared to be a “trail blazer”!

The PEI National Park trail system is available for exploration, but trails will not be groomed or maintained throughout the winter. Visitors are welcome to explore the park by foot, snowshoe or skis, view wildlife, and participate in other preferred winter activities, but should be reminded that they are responsible for their own safety. 

For PEI National Park trail distances and descriptions: Hiking

Winter safety

Those planning a visit should pay careful attention to weather forecasts and prepare properly for the outdoors, with appropriate clothing and supplies. All off-season guests should take the necessary precautions to protect themselves from harsh weather and potential natural hazards found in the park, as emergency services are limited.

For safety tips: Winter safety and Adventure Smart

We hope that you will continue to experience our country’s great natural and cultural heritage through visits to Prince Edward Island National Park as well as to other national parks and national historic sites that Parks Canada is proud to protect and present for all time. 

For more information, please call 902-672-6350 or send an email to pc.pnipe-peinp.pc@canada.ca.

Les résidents de l’Île et d’autres visiteurs pourront continuer à profiter du Parc national de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard, mais les installations du parc seront fermées entre la fête de l’Action de grâces et la fête de Victoria.

Durant l’hiver, Parcs Canada continuera de déneiger la promenade du Golfe entre Cavendish et North Rustico et entre Brackley et Dalvay, en plus de nettoyer un certain nombre d’aires de stationnement. Toutefois, les pistes de ski de fond ne seront pas damées et les arbres tombés ne seront pas retirés. Les accès à la plage ne seront pas maintenues, le lac Dalvay ne sera pas entretenu pour le patinage, et les toilettes et les abris de réchauffement seront fermés.

À noter : Parcs Canada intervient avec des services d'urgence limités. 

Accès en hiver

Parcs Canada continuera de déneiger la promenade du Golfe entre Cavendish et North Rustico et entre Brackley et Dalvay afin d’en faciliter l’accès, ainsi que les terrains de stationnement suivants :

  • Le terrain de stationnement Dalvay (près de la plage)
  • Centre d'interprétation de Greenwich
  • Sentiers - Bubbling Springs / Farmlands
  • Ross Lane
  • Plage de Shaws
  • Plage de North Rustico
  • Macneills Brook

Vous venez sur les sentiers? Préparez-vous à sortir des sentiers battus!

Le réseau de sentiers du parc national de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard est à la disposition pour l'exploration, mais les sentiers ne sont ni entretenus ni damés. Bien que les visiteurs soient invités à explorer le parc à pied, en raquettes ou à ski, à observer la faune et à participer à d’autres activités hivernales, mais ne doivent pas oublier qu’ils sont responsables de leur propre sécurité.

Pour connaître la description et la longueur des sentiers : Randonnée

Sécurité en hiver

Les personnes qui planifient une visite doivent suivre attentivement les prévisions météorologiques, et se préparer adéquatement pour le plein air avec des vêtements adaptés et des fournitures appropriées. Les visiteurs hors saison doivent prendre les précautions nécessaires pour se protéger contre les intempéries et les risques naturels potentiels dans le parc, car les services d’urgence sont limités.

Pour des conseils sur la sécurité en hiver : Sécurité en hiver ou Adventure Smart

Nous espérons sincèrement que vous continuerez de profiter du patrimoine naturel et culturel du Canada en visitant l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard ou un des magnifiques parcs nationaux ou lieux historiques nationaux que Parcs Canada est heureux de préserver pour les générations à venir.

Pour plus d’informations, composez le  902-672-6350 ou écrivez à pnipe-peinp@pc.gc.ca