Parks Canada protects wildlife and plant species within Rouge National Urban Park. All of the animals and plants in the Rouge are protected and removing them is illegal. The collection of any plant or animal within the park is limited to those with special permits issued by the Park Superintendent or Province of Ontario.

In Ontario, it is prohibited to transport crayfish over land, no matter what the purpose or destination is, without a scientific permit issued by the Ontario Ministry of Natural Resources and Forestry, or by Parks Canada should the permit be for use in Rouge National Urban Park. Anglers possessing a valid Ontario fishing licence can use crayfish as bait in the same body of water in which they are caught. This is only permitted if they are used immediately after catching and not transported elsewhere first. They must be used in the same location of the waters from which they were taken.

These rules have been put in place to lower the risk of spreading Rusty Crayfish (Orconectes rusticus), a highly invasive species in Ontario. Rusty Crayfish are native to the Ohio River Basin in the United States and were first reported in Ontario in the 1960s. Compared to their native Ontario crayfish counterparts, Rusty Crayfish are large, aggressive, and rapidly reproduce allowing them to outcompete native crayfish for food and habitat and better defend themselves from predators due to their aggressive nature. The females can carry hundreds of fertilized eggs under their tails, even if one female carrying eggs is transported to another waterbody, she alone can carry enough eggs to establish an entire new population.

Parks Canada is committed to protecting the environment and continues to manage invasive species like the Rusty Crayfish in Rouge National Urban Park. Our staff is working to build awareness around Rusty Crayfish and ask for your support to limit the spread of this invasive species. Please abide by park regulations so that everyone can enjoy their favourite activities in the Rouge while ensuring the safety and protection of park wildlife.


Some of this content is also available in the following languages:

Parcs Canada protège la faune et la flore dans le parc urbain national de la Rouge. Tous les animaux et toutes les plantes qui s’y trouvent sont protégés, et il est illégal de les en sortir. Seuls les détenteurs d’un permis spécial délivré par le directeur du parc ou la province de l’Ontario peuvent prélever des plantes ou des animaux dans le parc.

Il est interdit de sortir des écrevisses du parc, quel que soit le but ou la destination, sans un permis scientifique délivré par le ministère des Richesses naturelles et des Forêts de l’Ontario, ou par Parcs Canada. Les pêcheurs possédant un permis de pêche valide de l’Ontario peuvent utiliser les écrevisses comme appâts dans le même plan d’eau où ils ont été capturés. Cette pratique n’est autorisée que si les écrevisses sont utilisées immédiatement après avoir été capturées et si elles n’ont pas d’abord été transportées ailleurs. Elles doivent être utilisées au même endroit que les eaux où elles ont été pêchées.

Ces règles ont été mises en place dans le but de réduire le risque de propagation de l’écrevisse à tâches rouges (Orconectes rusticus), une espèce très envahissante en Ontario. L’écrevisse à taches rousses provient du bassin de la rivière Ohio, aux États-Unis, et a été signalée pour la première fois en Ontario dans les années 1960. Comparativement à l’écrevisse indigène de l’Ontario, l’écrevisse à taches rouges est de taille importante et se reproduit rapidement, ce qui lui permet de concurrencer l’écrevisse indigène pour la nourriture et l’habitat, et sa nature agressive lui permet de mieux se défendre contre les prédateurs.

Parcs Canada s’est engagé à protéger l’environnement et continue à gérer les espèces envahissantes, comme l’écrevisse à tâches rouges, dans le parc urbain national de la Rouge. Notre personnel s’efforce de sensibiliser les gens à l’écrevisse à taches rouges, et demande votre soutien pour limiter la propagation de cette espèce envahissante. Veuillez respecter les règlements du parc afin que chacun puisse pratiquer ses activités favorites dans le parc urbain national de la Rouge tout en assurant la sécurité et la protection de la faune du parc.


Certaines informations concernant l’Initiation au camping sont disponibles dans les langues suivantes :