Paddling along the Rouge River is a great way to spot wildlife in the summer or the leaves changing in the fall. It is important however, to keep safety in mind and make sure you are prepared for any emergency, before you head out onto the water.

Here are some things to keep in mind as you prepare for your paddling excursion:

Safety gear

Bringing safety equipment is not only important for your personal safety, it is required by law. The minimum fine for not having the appropriate safety gear is $240. Ensure you have the appropriate safety gear for your vessel size and number of passengers onboard. We recommend bringing these items onboard for your next paddling adventure:

  • 1 lifejacket/PFD for each person on board
  • 1 buoyant heaving line at least 15m long
  • 1 bailer, manual bilge pump or bilge-pumping arrangements
  • 1 sound signaling device such as a whistle
  • 1 magnetic compass
  • 1 watertight flashlight

For a more extensive list and additional water safety info, please read the Transport Canada Safe Boating Guide available online.

Weather

It’s important to check the weather forecast before you head out onto the water, as the weather and water conditions can affect your safety. If thunderstorms or strong winds are in the forecast, we recommend rescheduling your water activity for another day.

Other paddling safety information

The Rouge marsh is large, be sure to keep your point of entry in mind.

If you capsize, remain with your overturned vessel and move towards land. Sound three long blasts with your signaling device to attract attention if you need assistance. For more information on water safety visit Adventure Smart.

Visit the Toronto Public Health website for daily water quality testing information for Rouge beach (available throughout the summer).

 

Enjoy your paddle in Toronto’s largest wetland habitat!

Pagayer le long de la rivière Rouge est un excellent moyen d’observer la faune en été ou le changement de couleur des feuilles en automne. Toutefois, il est important de garder la sécurité à l’esprit et de vous assurer que vous êtes prêt à faire face à toute urgence, avant de vous lancer sur l’eau.

À ne pas oublier lorsque vous vous préparez pour votre excursion en embarcation à pagaie :

Équipement de sécurité

Se munir de l’équipement de sécurité est non seulement important pour votre sécurité personnelle, mais c’est également une obligation légale. Ne pas avoir l’équipement de sécurité approprié est puni d’une amende minimale de 240 dollars. Assurez-vous que vous disposez de l’équipement de sécurité adapté à la taille de votre embarcation et au nombre de passagers à bord. Nous vous recommandons d’apporter les articles suivants à bord pour votre prochaine aventure à la pagaie :

  • 1 gilet de sauvetage/vêtement de flottaison individuel pour chaque personne à bord
  • 1 ligne d’attrape flottante d’au moins 15 m de long
  • 1 écope, une pompe de cale manuelle ou un système de pompage de cale
  • 1 dispositif de signalisation sonore tel qu’un sifflet
  • 1 boussole magnétique
  • 1 lampe de poche étanche

Pour consulter une liste plus complète et des informations supplémentaires sur la sécurité nautique, veuillez lire le Guide de sécurité nautique de Transports Canada disponible en ligne.

Conditions météorologiques :

Il est important de vérifier les prévisions météorologiques avant de vous lancer sur l’eau, car le temps et les caractéristiques de l’eau peuvent avoir une incidence sur votre sécurité. Si des orages ou des vents violents sont prévus, nous vous recommandons de reporter votre activité aquatique à un autre jour.

Autres informations sur la sécurité des pagayeurs

Le marais de la Rouge est vaste, n’oubliez pas votre point d’entrée.

Si vous chavirez, restez avec votre embarcation renversée et dirigez-vous vers la terre ferme. Faites retentir trois longs coups avec votre dispositif de signalisation pour attirer l’attention si vous avez besoin d’aide. Pour de plus amples renseignements sur la sécurité sur l’eau, visitez le site AdventureSmart.

Visitez le site Toronto Public Health (en anglais seulement) pour obtenir des informations sur les analyses quotidiennes de la qualité de l’eau de la plage de la Rouge (disponibles durant tout l’été).

 

Prenez plaisir à pagayer dans le plus grand habitat humide de Toronto!