Similar to skyscraper condos that dot the Greater Toronto Area landscape, Parks Canada has built a number of towering birdhouses in the Rouge unlike any birdhouse you’ve seen before.

Recently, an older park barn was found in a state of disrepair and had to be decommissioned for safety reasons. Before the barn was removed, park ecologists observed that barn swallows – a species listed as threatened in Canada, whose population has declined across the country by over 80 percent since the 1970s – were nesting in it.

To avoid any disruptions to the nesting swallows, who escape Canada’s harsh winters by migrating to Central and South America each year, the barn was taken down over the winter months. And to compensate for any potential habitat loss, Parks Canada commissioned a local carpenter to construct and install three large structures to take the barn’s place.

The three birdhouses were made with wood from the failing barn and each has a slightly different design. Unlike a common backyard birdhouse, these structures range from 40 to 120 square feet in size – that’s over 100 times larger than a typical birdhouse!

Over the summer months, park ecologists will monitor the structures to measure how the swallows respond to them. Our hope is that barn swallows quickly adapt to their new homes and use them to successfully lay, rear, raise and fledge their young. Parks Canada staff will note what birdhouse designs work best for the swallows and will also watch for and fix any design flaws that could, for example, give barn swallow predators like hawks and owls an unfair hunting advantage.

If use of the structures proves successful, there’s a good chance more “bird condos” will pop up throughout the Rouge, which could take the term ‘national urban park’ to a whole new level.

Écho des tours d’habitation qui parsèment le ciel du Grand Toronto, un certain nombre d’immeubles résidentiels pour oiseaux ont été construits par Parcs Canada dans le parc urbain national de la Rouge. Mais attention : on est loin de la cabane à oiseaux classique !

Dernièrement, une vieille grange endommagée a dû être mise hors service par souci de sécurité. Les écologistes du parc ont cependant observé que des hirondelles rustiques, espèce menacée au Canada dont la population a diminué de plus de 80 % depuis les années 1970, faisaient leur nid dans la grange.

Il n’était pas question de déranger les hirondelles pendant qu’elles nichent, mais on sait que cet oiseau échappe aux rudes hivers canadiens en migrant chaque année vers l’Amérique centrale ou l’Amérique du Sud. La grange a donc été démantelée durant l’hiver. Pour compenser cette perte d’habitat, Parcs Canada a demandé à un charpentier de la région de construire et d’installer trois grosses structures qui remplacent maintenant la grange.

Les trois cabanes à oiseaux ont été fabriquées à partir du bois récupéré de la grange endommagée, et chacune est conçue de manière un peu différente. Contrairement aux cabanes que l’on voit dans la cour de bien des maisons, ces structures sont cent fois plus grosses : elles comptent entre 3,7 et 11,1 m2 (de 40 à 120 pi2) !

Cet été, les écologistes du parc surveilleront les structures pour évaluer comment les hirondelles y réagissent. Nous espérons qu’elles s’adapteront rapidement à leur nouveau foyer, y pondront leurs œufs et y élèveront leurs oisillons jusqu’au premier envol. Les employés du parc établiront quelle cabane à oiseau convient le mieux aux hirondelles et resteront prêts à corriger tout défaut de conception qui pourrait, par exemple, donner aux prédateurs (faucons, hiboux, etc.) un avantage indu.

S’il s’avère que les hirondelles utilisent les structures, d’autres « tours d’habitation » risquent fort de voir le jour un peu partout dans le parc de la Rouge, redéfinissant du même coup notre définition de « parc urbain »!