Many wild plants and food crops depend on pollinators to help them reproduce. Though small, pollinators are an important part of our ecosystems.

Pollinators play an important role in ecosystems and agriculture. As insects move from plant to plant they transfer pollen on their bodies, allowing plants to reproduce. Some other animals such as hummingbirds also help to pollinate plants.

Many food crops are either entirely dependent or heavily dependent on insect pollination, including:

  • Watermelons
  • Pumpkins
  • Squash
  • Zucchini
  • Peaches
  • Apricots
  • Pears
  • Apples
  • Raspberries
  • Blackberries
  • Blueberries
  • Almonds
  • Canola

Without pollinators, we would not be able to enjoy many of these foods.

The presence of a wide diversity of pollinators is also beneficial for wild plants in the park, as it increases their chances of reproducing. Through a variety of flower shapes, colours and scents, plants are able to attract a wide diversity of pollinators. Flat flowers with landing platforms (e.g. asters) can be pollinated by a variety of insects, while bell-shaped flowers (e.g. columbines and lilies) require pollinators with longer tongues, such as butterflies. Different colours also attract different pollinators. Bees and flies are more attracted to blue and purple flowers, while butterflies are attracted to yellow, red, and orange flowers. Scents are also important to attract insects, particularly at night.

Insect pollinators are a diverse group and include more than just bees – flies, beetles, pollen wasps, butterflies and moths also play a large role in pollinating flowers. A group of flies known as hoverflies (or flower flies) is the second most important group of insect pollinators after bees. Hoverflies often look like bees or wasps, with a striped black and yellow abdomen intended to fool hungry predators into thinking they are dangerous. Great spots to see pollinators in action include open fields with lots of wildflowers, such the Vista Trail meadows, the Bob Hunter area, or the northern end of Mast Trail by the Twyn Rivers parking lot.

Black Swallowtail

Black swallowtail butterflies have black wings with yellow and blue dots for females and yellow dots for males. These butterflies are also identifiable by two orange spots at the base of their wings close to the tail. Black swallowtails have two generations every summer - they emerge in May, lay eggs, and the second brood emerges in July. Black swallowtails can be found in a wide variety of habitats which makes them one of the most common butterflies to spot – keep an eye out for them throughout the park!

Cecropia Moth

Cecropia moths have red bodies with white bands around their belly and brown wings with white crescent eyespots and red, black and white stripes along the tips. With a wingspan of 12-17cm, the cecropia moth is also the largest moth found in North America.

Monarch Butterfly

The Monarch is an orange and black butterfly with small white spots. The Monarch’s caterpillar is black, white and yellow striped and can be found feeding on milkweed plants. Once hatched it takes approximately 1-2 weeks for monarch caterpillars to complete their 5-instar larvae stage before making their chrysalis.

Monarchs have different habitats throughout their life cycle. Caterpillars feed on milkweed and so they can be found in meadows and open areas. Adult butterflies feed on many different wildflowers and therefore can be found in many different habitats where flowers are abundant.

Summer Azure

The Summer Azure is pale blue with white scales on the wing. Some females are almost entirely white with a touch of blue at the wing base. The underside of the wings are white-grey with small spots. Adult summer azures can be found in woodlands and open fields.

Bon nombre de plantes sauvages et agricoles ont besoin de pollinisateurs pour les aider à se reproduire. Même s’ils sont petits, les pollinisateurs occupent une place importante dans nos écosystèmes.

Les pollinisateurs jouent un rôle considérable dans les écosystèmes et l’agriculture. En butinant, les insectes transfèrent d’une plante à l’autre le pollen accroché à leur corps et permettent ainsi aux plantes de se reproduire. Certains autres animaux, comme le colibri, contribuent eux aussi à la pollinisation des plantes.

Beaucoup de plantes agricoles dépendent entièrement ou en grande partie de la pollinisation par les insectes, par exemple :

  • les melons d’eau
  • les citrouilles
  • les courges
  • les zucchinis
  • les pêches
  • les abricots
  • les poires
  • les pommes
  • les framboises
  • les mûres
  • les bleuets
  • les amandes
  • le canola

Sans les pollinisateurs, nous serions privés d’un grand nombre de ces aliments.

La présence de pollinisateurs nombreux et variés profite également aux plantes sauvages du parc, car ils accroissent leurs chances de se reproduire. Par leurs multiples formes, couleurs et parfums, les plantes arrivent à attirer une grande variété de pollinisateurs. Les fleurs plates qui offrent une plateforme d’atterrissage (p. ex. asters) peuvent être butinées par toutes sortes d’insectes, tandis que les fleurs en forme de cloche (p. ex. ancolies et lis) ont besoin de pollinisateurs dotés de longues langues, tels que les papillons. Les différentes couleurs attirent différents pollinisateurs. Les abeilles et les mouches sont attirées surtout par les fleurs bleues et violettes, alors que les papillons tendent plutôt à fixer leur choix sur des fleurs jaunes, rouges et orangées. Les parfums contribuent aussi à attirer les insectes, en particulier la nuit.

Les insectes pollinisateurs forment un groupe hétérogène qui comprend plus que les seules abeilles. Les mouches, les coléoptères, les guêpes, les papillons et les papillons nocturnes jouent eux aussi un grand rôle dans la pollinisation des fleurs. Les mouches connues sous le nom de volucelles (ou syrphes) se classent au deuxième rang des groupes de pollinisateurs les plus importants après les abeilles. Les volucelles ressemblent souvent à des abeilles ou à des guêpes. Elles ont l’abdomen rayé de noir et de jaune, ce qui leur permet de passer pour des insectes dangereux aux yeux de prédateurs affamés. Les champs où foisonnent les fleurs sauvages, par exemple ceux du sentier du Belvédère, du parc commémoratif Bob Hunter et de l’extrémité nord du sentier des Mâts, près du terrain de stationnement du secteur Twyn Rivers, sont d’excellentes destinations pour voir les pollinisateurs à l’œuvre.


Papillon du céleri

Les papillons du céleri ont des ailes noires avec des points jaunes et bleus chez les femelles et des points jaunes chez les mâles. Ces papillons sont également reconnaissables aux deux taches orange à la base de leurs ailes près de la queue. Les papillons du céleri ont deux générations chaque été – ils émergent en mai, pondent des œufs, et la deuxième couvée émerge en juillet. On trouve des papillons du céleri dans une grande variété d’habitats, ce qui en fait l’un des papillons les plus communs à repérer – gardez l’œil ouvert dans tout le parc!

Saturnie cecropia

Les saturnies cecropias ont un corps rouge avec des bandes blanches autour de leur ventre et des ailes brunes avec des taches oculaires blanches en forme de croissant et des rayures rouges, noires et blanches le long des extrémités. Avec une envergure de 12 à 17 cm, la saturnie cecropia est aussi le plus grand papillon nocturne de l’Amérique du Nord.

Monarque

Le monarque est un papillon orange et noir avec de petites taches blanches. La chenille du monarque est rayée noir, blanc et jaune et se nourrit d’asclépiades. Après l’éclosion, il faut environ une à deux semaines aux chenilles de monarque pour effectuer leurs cinq stades larvaires avant de faire leur chrysalide. Les monarques ont des habitats différents tout au long de leur cycle de vie. Les chenilles se nourrissent d’asclépiades; on peut donc les trouver dans les prés et les zones ouvertes. Les papillons adultes se nourrissent de nombreuses fleurs sauvages et peuvent donc être trouvés dans de nombreux habitats différents où les fleurs sont abondantes.

Azur estival

L’azur estival est bleu pâle avec des écailles blanches sur l’aile. Certaines femelles sont presque entièrement blanches avec une touche de bleu à la base de l’aile. Le dessous des ailes est gris-blanc et présente de petites taches. Les azurs estivaux adultes se trouvent dans les terres boisées et les champs ouverts.