Rouge National Urban Park is home to 27 species of reptiles and amphibians. Here are a few to watch out for while exploring the park.

Garter Snake and Red-bellied Snake

Watch for snakes sunning themselves on the trail on cool sunny days. Garter snakes are typically dark green or black with yellow stripes on their back and sides. They grow to about 45-65 cm in length and feed on frogs, salamanders, earthworms, small fish and mice. Red-bellied snakes are brown, grey, or black with a red belly, as their name suggests. They grow to a maximum length of 40 cm and eat slugs, worms, snails and insects. Neither species is dangerous to humans.

Green Frog and Gray Tree Frog

Listen for frogs in the evening as you walk along the Rouge Marsh Trail. The call of a green frog sounds like the twang of a loose banjo string. They range in colour from green to bronze or brown. The gray tree frog’s call is a short trill. As their name suggests, these frogs can be found on trees and shrubs near wetlands.

Northern Leopard Frog

The Beare Wetlands are a great place to find several species of frogs, including the northern leopard frog. This species is green or brown with dark spots and a white belly. Northern leopard frogs are found in every province in Canada and can occupy a wide range of habitats.

Northern Map Turtles

Northern Map turtles get their name from the yellow or orange lines on their shell that resemble contour lines on a map. The rest of the shell is greenish-brown to more yellow-cream on the lower part. They have a yellow spot between their eyes and yellow lines along their head and legs. Find these turtles in wetlands, ponds and streams in the park.

Painted Turtle

Of the five native turtle species that have been observed in Rouge National Urban Park, the painted turtle is the only one that is not classified as a species-at-risk. Painted turtles have a dark upper shell with red markings along the edge and a yellow or tan lower shell. Look for them basking on the logs in the Beare Wetland ponds on sunny days.

Red-eared Slider

The most common invasive turtle in Ontario, the red-eared slider is distinguishable by the bright red stripe it has on either side of its face.

Snapping Turtle

Snapping turtles are classified as a species of special concern under federal law. These prehistoric-looking turtles have a dark upper shell and a long tail covered in bony plates. They are the largest freshwater turtle in Canada. Snapping turtles are threatened by various factors, including habitat loss, road mortality, poaching and nest predation by animals such as raccoons.

Western Chorus Frog

The western chorus frog is small and smooth skinned, and ranges from green-grey to brown in colour. They are almost identical to boreal chorus frogs; the difference is their shorter hind legs. Like most tree frogs, they are much easier to hear than spot, so keep your ears open for a call that sounds like running a finger along a comb.

Le parc urbain national de la Rouge abrite 27 espèces de reptiles et d’amphibiens. En voici quelques-unes que vous pourriez apercevoir pendant votre exploration du parc.

Thamnophis et couleuvre à ventre rouge

Par temps frais et ensoleillé, vous verrez peut-être des couleuvres qui se prélassent au soleil le long du sentier. Le thamnophis est généralement de couleur vert foncé ou noire, et il arbore des stries jaunes sur le dos et les flancs. Ce serpent peut atteindre de 45 à 65 cm de longueur, et il se nourrit de grenouilles, de salamandres, de vers de terre, de petits poissons et de mulots. La couleuvre à ventre rouge a la peau brune, grise ou noire et le ventre rouge, comme son nom l’indique. Elle ne fait jamais plus de 40 cm de longueur et se nourrit de limaces, de vers, d’escargots et d’insectes. Aucune des deux espèces n’est dangereuse pour les humains.

Tortue serpentine

La tortue serpentine est inscrite à la liste des espèces préoccupantes sous le régime fédéral. Ce reptile d’apparence préhistorique porte sur son dos une carapace de couleur foncée, et sa longue queue est couverte de plaques osseuses. Il s’agit de la plus grosse tortue d’eau douce du Canada. Cette espèce est exposée à diverses menaces, dont la perte d’habitat, la mortalité routière, le braconnage ainsi que la prédation des nids par des animaux comme le raton laveur.

Tortue peinte

Parmi les cinq espèces de tortues indigènes qui ont été recensées dans le parc urbain national de la Rouge, la tortue peinte est la seule à ne pas être inscrite comme espèce en péril. La dossière (carapace du dos) est de couleur foncée et ornée de rouge sur le pourtour, tandis que le plastron (carapace du ventre) est de couleur jaune ou chamois. Par temps ensoleillé, il se peut que vous voyiez des tortues peintes se réchauffer au soleil sur les troncs qui jonchent les marécages Beare.

Grenouille léopard

Les marécages Beare sont une excellente destination pour l’observation de plusieurs espèces de grenouilles, dont la grenouille léopard. Cette espèce se caractérise par une peau verte ou brune ornée de taches foncées, et un ventre blanc. La grenouille léopard se rencontre dans toutes les provinces du Canada et peut vivre dans tout un éventail de milieux naturels.

Grenouille verte et rainette versicolore

Écoutez le chant des grenouilles le soir en marchant sur le sentier du Marais-de-la-Rouge. La grenouille verte pousse un cri qui ressemble au son d’une corde de banjo pincée. Elle peut être de couleur verte, bronze ou brune. La rainette versicolore émet plutôt un bref trille. Comme leur nom l’indique, ces grenouilles peuvent être observées dans des arbres et des arbustes près de milieux humides.