As part of the establishment of Rouge National Urban Park in the Greater Toronto Area, Parks Canada undertook an extensive and inclusive engagement process in October 2011 with 10 First Nations communities with respect to planning and operations for the park.

This partnership was formalized in 2012 with the creation of the Rouge National Urban Park First Nations Advisory Circle. The Advisory Circle is comprised of representatives from these 10 First Nations with an expressed interest, and historic and cultural connection to the area of the national urban park.

The First Nations Advisory Circle consists of:

The seven Williams Treaties First Nations –

As well as –

 

To date, Parks Canada has worked collaboratively with Advisory Circle members on a number of important initiatives in Canada’s first national urban park including archaeological fieldwork, restoration projects and visitor experience initiatives. Parks Canada will continue to work with our Indigenous partners through the Advisory Circle with regards to initiatives undertaken in Rouge National Urban Park, and has a tremendous amount of gratitude for these important relationships.

Dans le cadre de la création du parc urbain national de la Rouge situé dans la région du Grand Toronto, Parcs Canada s’est engagé, en octobre 2011, dans un processus de mobilisation vaste et inclusif auprès de dix collectivités des Premières Nations en ce qui concerne la planification et l’exploitation du parc.

En 2012, la création du Cercle consultatif des Premières Nations du parc urbain national de la Rouge a officialisé notre partenariat. Ce Cercle consultatif est formé de représentants des dix Premières Nations ayant exprimé un intérêt pour le parc urbain national et entretenant un lien historique et culturel avec cet endroit mentionnées ci-dessous,

Le Cercle consultatif des Premières Nations compte des représentants :

des sept Premières Nations visées par les traités Williams -

ainsi que –

À ce jour, Parcs Canada a collaboré avec les membres du Cercle consultatif pour un bon nombre d’initiatives importantes visant le premier parc urbain national du Canada, dont des travaux archéologiques, des projets de restauration et des initiatives liées à l’expérience du visiteur. Parcs Canada continuera de travailler avec ses partenaires autochtones, par l’intermédiaire du Cercle consultatif, à la réalisation d’initiatives dans le parc urbain national de la Rouge. L’Agence est par ailleurs extrêmement reconnaissante d’avoir cultivé ces relations importantes.