Relationships, teamwork and gaming are integral to Indigenous culture.

“Traditional games place less value on winning by valuing a humble behavioral nature (not bragging and by sharing winnings) and by giving away any prizes won to those who were the hardest competitors (those who made the winner try harder, thus do his or her best).” (Taken from the International Traditional Games Society at www.traditionalnativegames.org)

“The social values of the traditional games were–and still are–highly important:

  • Respecting the rules of the competition
  • Challenging yourself to do better
  • Respecting your competitors
  • Honouring the person who gave you the most challenge
  • Having courage, intuition, and/or skill
  • Being humble even when winning”

(Taken from "Move & Play Through Traditional Games")

Ceremony, spirit and community 

Running in Indigenous culture connects communities through ceremony, and is a spiritual practice and secures community survival.

In Indigenous tradition, prayer runs are a way to spiritually connect with or give gratitude to Mother Earth. Running is a way to celebrate life, to celebrate blessings given and to celebrate challenges and what has been learned from them.

Footraces would be featured in ceremonies to, for example, help cement ties between neighbours, redistribute crops and goods, and celebrate important events.

Running as a hunting technique helped a community's survival. Before horses were used, the strongest runners employed their endurance to exhaust terrestrial prey, the meat and pelts of which could support the entire village.

Les relations, le travail d’équipe et les jeux font partie intégrante de la culture autochtone.

« Les jeux traditionnels accordent moins de valeur à la victoire en valorisant un comportement humble (sans se vanter et en partageant les gains) et en décernant les prix gagnés à ceux qui étaient les plus rudes concurrents (ceux qui ont fait en sorte que le gagnant essaie plus fort, donc qu’il ou elle fasse de son mieux). » (Tiré du site de l’International Traditional Games Society à www.traditionalnativegames.org – en anglais seulement.)

« Les valeurs sociales des jeux traditionnels étaient, et sont toujours très importantes.

  • Respecter les règles de la compétition.
  • Se mettre au défi de faire mieux.
  • Respecter ses concurrents.
  • Honorer la personne qui vous a posé le plus grand défi.
  • Faire preuve de courage, d’intuition et de compétence.
  • Faire preuve d’humilité même dans la victoire. »

(Tiré de « Move & Play Through Traditional Games ».)

Cérémonie, spiritualité et communauté

La course à pied dans la culture autochtone lie les communautés par le biais de cérémonies, constitue une pratique spirituelle et assure la survie de la communauté.

Dans la tradition Autochtone, les courses de prière sont un moyen de communiquer spirituellement avec notre mère, la Terre, ou de lui rendre grâce. La course à pied est une façon de célébrer la vie, de célébrer les bénédictions reçues et de célébrer les défis et ce qu’on en a appris.

Des courses à pied étaient organisées lors de cérémonies pour aider à resserrer les liens entre voisins, redistribuer les récoltes et les marchandises et célébrer des événements importants, par exemple.

La course comme technique de chasse aidait les communautés à survivre. Avant l’utilisation des chevaux, les meilleurs coureurs utilisaient leur endurance pour épuiser les proies terrestres, dont la viande et les peaux pouvaient assurer la subsistance de tout un village.