Although there are lots of things to see and do in Rouge National Urban Park (RNUP) all year round, there is something special about autumn. It inspires us to get outside and explore, and to take in the spectacle of the gorgeous autumn colours.

The best part is that we do not have to drive hours out of the city to get back to nature and discover beautiful fall views: we can enjoy it right in our backyard in the Rouge. Spanning almost 80 km2, there are so many spots in RNUP to see the fall colours.

This year, see more colours than ever from the safety and comfort of your vehicle with our top five fall scenic drives in RNUP. You can follow these roads in the order listed for a fun road trip, or enjoy each road’s views on their own.


  1. 19th Avenue, Markham and Stouffville

    In the north end of RNUP, bordering both Markham and Stouffville, this country road embodies autumn. Take a drive along the rural 19th Avenue and soak in the fall colours while you also enjoy views of the fall harvest happening right before your eyes in the many farmers’ fields that border the road. Stop for a quick photo at our 19th Avenue Day Use Area that overlooks farm fields and even the downtown Toronto skyline, including the CN Tower!


  2. Reesor Road, Markham

    Next up on your trip, head south on Reesor Road. This road runs right through the heart of RNUP and is a great route to see fall colours and the fall harvest in action. Keep an eye out on your right for views of the Toronto city skyline and the CN tower peaking through the plentiful rolling fields.


  3. Old Finch Ave, Scarborough

    A little further south, take your journey to the winding road that borders the Toronto Zoo. Old Finch Ave twists and turns through the Scarborough countryside with large deciduous trees enveloping its every bend. You will be so whisked away by the splendour of colours you’ll forget you’re right beside the zoo!


  4. Glen Eagles Vista, Toronto

    Can you believe you can find views like this in the city of Toronto? Drive alongside the Glen Eagles Vista area of RNUP and keep your eye out for stunning views of the bluffs while you take in the gorgeous fall colours under the beautiful blue sky.


  5. 11th Concession, Markham

    The 11th concession in Markham is breathtaking in the fall. Trees envelope each side of this charming country road, it's easy to forget you’re in the GTA. Taking a drive down this road in the fall will help you remember, that it is not always the destination, but the journey that matters!

Bien qu’il y ait beaucoup de choses à voir et à faire dans le parc urbain national de la Rouge (PUNR) tout au long de l’année, l’automne a quelque chose de spécial à offrir. Il nous incite à sortir et à explorer, et à admirer le spectacle des magnifiques couleurs de l’automne.

Le meilleur, c’est que nous n’avons pas à faire des heures de route à l’extérieur de la ville pour retourner dans la nature et découvrir de magnifiques vues d’automne : nous pouvons profiter de la Rouge directement dans notre cour. S’étendant sur près de 80 km2, le PUNR offre tout plein d’endroits pour voir les feuilles d’automne.

Cette année, voyez plus de couleurs que jamais dans la sécurité et le confort de votre véhicule grâce à nos cinq meilleures routes panoramiques d’automne dans le PUNR!

  1. 19e Avenue, Markham et Stouffville

    Dans le nord du PUNR, à la frontière de Markham et de Stouffville, cette route de campagne incarne l’automne. Faites une promenade en voiture le long de la 19e Avenue rurale et imprégnez-vous des couleurs de l’automne tout en admirant les récoltes d’automne qui se déroulent sous vos yeux dans les nombreux champs des agriculteurs qui bordent la route. Arrêtez-vous pour une photo rapide à notre aire de fréquentation diurne de la 19e Avenue qui surplombe les champs agricoles et même la ligne d’horizon du centre-ville de Toronto, y compris la Tour CN!

     
  2. Reesor Road, Markham

    À la prochaine étape de votre voyage, dirigez-vous vers le sud sur Reesor Road. Cette route traverse le cœur du PUNR et est un excellent moyen de voir les couleurs de l’automne et la récolte d’automne en action. Surveillez sur votre droite pour voir la ligne d’horizon de la ville de Toronto et la tour CN qui culmine à travers les nombreux champs vallonnés.

     
  3. Avenue Old Finch, Scarborough

    Un peu plus au sud, prenez la route sinueuse qui longe le zoo de Toronto. L’avenue Old Finch serpente à travers la campagne de Scarborough avec de grands arbres à feuilles caduques qui l’enveloppent à chaque tournant. Vous serez tellement emportés par la splendeur des couleurs que vous oublierez que vous êtes juste à côté du zoo!

     
  4. Glen Eagles Vista, Toronto

    N’est-ce pas incroyable que vous puissiez profiter de vues comme celle-ci dans la ville de Toronto? Conduisez le long de la zone de Glen Eagles Vista du PUNR et ouvrez l’œil pour profiter de vues époustouflantes sur les falaises pendant que vous admirez les magnifiques couleurs de l’automne sous un beau ciel bleu.

     
  5. 11e concession, Markham

    La 11e concession de Markham est magnifique en automne. Les arbres enveloppent chaque côté de cette charmante route de campagne. Il est facile d'oublier que vous êtes dans la région du Grand Toronto. Faites un tour sur cette route pendant l'automne et vous vous souviendrez que ce n'est pas toujours la destination, mais le voyage qui compte !