Enjoy the rich wildlife at the Beare Wetlands on the southern part of this trail, then head north into mature forests with views of the Little Rouge River. Note that sections of the trail may be slippery in the winter or after rainfall. Watch your step and hike carefully. 

Location Bottom of Zoo Road
Lat: 43.822472, Long: -79.166639
Google Maps
Difficulty Moderate 
Distance 4.5 km round trip (full trail) or 2 km loop (Beare Wetlands only)
Time 1 hour (full trail) or 30 minutes (Beare Wetlands Loop)
Washrooms Portable toilets are available seasonally
Parking Parking is available at Zoo Road Day Use Area from 7:30 am to 9 pm. Street parking is not permitted, and illegally parked vehicles will be ticketed and/or towed.

Trail Features

  • River views – At times, the trail runs parallel to Little Rouge Creek. Watch for signs of beavers, shorebirds and songbirds.
  • Stunning landscapes – The cedar canopy offers the perfect backdrop for your hike. The elevation changes take you through the majestic ravine valleys and hill top forests that are characteristic of the Rouge Valley. When the leaf canopy is gone, southward views from the highest points of the trail give a sense of the expanse of the park.
  • Biodiversity – The extensive Beare Wetland complex is home to and supports songbirds, shorebirds, waterfowl, reptiles and amphibians, mammals and many aquatic invertebrates. Watch for snapping turtles in this area.
  • A heart healthy challenge – Steep sections provide a good cardio challenge throughout the hike.

Observez la faune abondante des marécages Beare dans la partie sud de ce sentier, puis dirigez vous vers le nord, dans les forêts matures, qui vous offrent des points de vue sur la Petite rivière Rouge. Prenez note que des tronçons du sentier peuvent être glissants en hiver ou après la pluie. La prudence est de mise.  

Emplacement Au bas du Zoo Road
Lat: 43.822472, Long: -79.166639
Google Maps
Difficulté Modéré 
Distance 4,5 km (sentier complet) ou 2 km (boucle des Marécages-Beare seulement)
Durée 1 heure (sentier complet) ou 30 minutes (boucle des Marécages-Beare)
Toilettes Des toilettes chimiques sont disponibles de façon saisonnière
Stationnement Du stationnement pour usage diurne est disponible sur l’aire diurne Zoo Road de 7 h 30 à 21 h. Le stationnement dans la rue n’est pas autorisé et les véhicules stationnés illégalement recevront une contravention et/ou seront remorqués.

Caractéristiques du sentier

  • Vues sur la rivière – Le sentier longe par endroits le ruisseau Little Rouge. Observez les signes de la présence de castors, d’oiseaux de rivage et d’oiseaux chanteurs.
  • Paysages saisissants – Le couvert de cèdre offre un décor de rêve pour la randonnée. Au gré des différentes élévations, vous passez des majestueuses vallées ravinées aux forêts des sommets qui sont caractéristiques de la vallée de la Rouge. Quand le couvert des feuilles a disparu, les panoramas vers les sud à partir des points les plus élevés du sentier donnent vraiment la mesure de l’immensité du parc.
  • Biodiversité – Le vaste complexe du marécage Beare est l’habitat d’oiseaux chanteurs, d’oiseaux de rivage, d’oiseaux aquatiques, de reptiles, d’amphibiens, de mammifères et de nombreux invertébrés aquatiques. La tortue hargneuse fréquente aussi ce secteur.
  • Un défi bon pour le cœur – Le sentier est ponctué de sections abruptes propices aux défis cardio.