Closure is in effect at the Twyn Rivers Day-Use Area. Vista trail may be accessed from the Zoo Road Day Use Area, located at 1749 Meadowvale Road. Please consider taking public transit as parking is extremely limited, particularly on the weekends.

The Vista Trail’s two-level viewing platform is one of the best places to view Toronto’s autumn colours and spectacular valley views.

Location

North trailhead
Zoo Road, near Zoo Road Day Use Area
Lat: 43.818389, Long: -79.170583
Google Maps

South trailhead
55 Twyn Rivers Drive, Toronto
Lat: 43.813301, Long: -79.156715
Google Maps

Difficulty Moderate 
Distance 1.5 km (one way) 
Time 1 hour
Washrooms Portable toilets are available seasonally
Parking Parking is available at Zoo Road Day Use Area from 7:30 am to 9 pm. Street parking is not permitted, and illegally parked vehicles will be ticketed and/or towed.

Trail Features

  • Fall colours and viewing platform – A two-level viewing deck built in collaboration with Ontario Power Generation, near the Zoo Road Day Use Area, is one of the best places to see fall colours in Toronto. The lookout provides spectacular views of the Little Rouge Creek and Rouge River valleys throughout the year.
  • Beare Hill – From the viewing platform you can see Beare Hill to the north. Once a landfill (it was decommissioned in 1983), today the hill is one of the highest points of land in the City of Toronto.
  • Ridge walks and forest diversity – Tree diversity and microclimates are a prominent feature along the trail’s forest ridge just past the viewing deck and hydro corridor. Here, maple and oak trees dot the warm southern slopes, while shady hemlock groves cover the cool northern aspects.

Une fermeture est en vigueur à l’aire d’utilisation de jour de Twyn  Rivers. Les sentiers du Belvédère sont accessibles depuis l’aire diurne Zoo Road, située au 1749, Meadowvale Road. Veuillez envisager d’utiliser les transports en commun, car les places de stationnement sont extrêmement limitées, surtout la fin de semaine. 

Le belvédère à deux étages du sentier du Vista est l’un des meilleurs endroits pour admirer les couleurs automnales de Toronto et les panoramas spectaculaires de la vallée.

Emplacement

Point de départ nord
Zoo Road, près de l’aire diurne Zoo Road
Lat: 43.818389, Long: -79.170583
Google Maps

Point de départ sud
55 Twyn Rivers Drive
Lat: 43.813306, Long: -79.156722
Google Maps

Difficulté Modéré 
Distance 1,5 km (aller simple) 
Durée 1 heure
Toilettes Des toilettes chimiques sont disponibles de façon saisonnière
Stationnement Du stationnement pour usage diurne est disponible sur l’aire diurne Zoo Road de 7 h 30 à 21 h. Le stationnement dans la rue n’est pas autorisé et les véhicules stationnés illégalement recevront une contravention et/ou seront remorqués.

Caractéristiques du sentier

  • Couleurs automnales et belvédère – Le belvédère à deux étages construit en collaboration avec Ontario Power Generation, près de l’aire diurne Zoo Road, est l’un des meilleurs endroits pour admirer les couleurs automnales de Toronto. Il offre aussi des vues imprenables toute l’année sur le ruisseau Little Rouge et la rivière Rouge.
  • Colline Beare – À partir du belvédère, la colline Beare est visible au nord. Autrefois un site d’enfouissement (mis hors service en 1983), la colline est aujourd’hui l’un des points les plus élevés de la ville de Toronto.
  • Promenades sur la crête et diversité des peuplements forestiers – La diversité des essences et des microclimats est une des principales caractéristiques de la crête forestière du sentier juste au-delà du belvédère et de la ligne à haute tension. Ici, les érables et les chênes parsèment les pentes chaudes au sud, et les bosquets de pruches ombragés couvrent les pentes plus fraîches du versant nord.