Date: Saturday, October 19 2019
Time: 10:00 AM
Location: Zoo Road Welcome Area

A collaborative event hosted in partnership with the Rouge National Urban Park First Nations Advisory Circle and Parks Canada.

The Rouge is home to many historic and significant travel paths. Indigenous peoples used these paths since time immemorial, running from community to community delivering messages, for protection, for ritual and for sport. Then, and now, Indigenous athletes are considered masters of distance running, and are counted among the most esteemed runners in Canadian history. In celebration of this proud and enduring legacy of Indigenous athleticism, Rouge National Urban Park invites visitors to reconnect with nature and follow in the footsteps of more than 10,000 years of human history within the Rouge Valley.

Move through the fall colours, get active and enjoy an array of cultural programming throughout the day.

Not a runner? Take part in a series of free, drop-in guided walks with Indigenous content and fall themes!

We run the Earth to connect – with nature, with one another, and with ourselves.

 

Information for Runners:

The Earth Run in the Rouge consists of a 10k and 5k course. Registration for the 5k is FREE for youth 17 years of age and under! There will also be a free kids 1k run.

Choose your course:

10k – Cogwagee Course
Cowagee 
Cogwagee - Tom Longboat (Photo Credit: Library and Archives Canada)

Named after the world-famous Onondaga distance runner, Cogwagee (English name, Tom Longboat) (1887 –1949). Born at Six Nations of the Grand River, Longboat grew up to become the greatest distance runner of his era. He was the first member of a First Nations community to win the Boston Marathon, beating the existing record by five minutes. He represented Canada in the 1908 Olympics and in 1912 set a world record for the fifteen-mile race, finishing in just one hour and eighteen minutes. Longboat spent his childhood in Canada’s Residential School system, escaping, significantly, by running away twice. Longboat gave up his athletic career in 1916 to join the Canadian forces serving in World War One, where his skills at running was utilized as a messenger on the front lines.

Throughout his career, he endured racist discrimination and criticism in the press as he rose to become one of the greatest distance runners of his generation. Longboat died in 1949, and was inducted into Canada’s Sports Hall of Fame six years later, being recognized as “Canada’s greatest long-distance runner”.

In Onondaga, Cogwagee means “everything.”

5km – Simpson Course
Fred Simpson 
Fred Simpson (Photo Credit: Alderville First Nation)

Named after Fred Simpson Sr. (1878-1945) – the renowned Mississauga Ojibway marathon runner from Alderville First Nation. Less than two years after taking up road racing, Simpson rose through the ranks to become one of the first Indigenous athletes to compete for Canada in the Olympic Games.

In 1908, he finished sixth in the Olympic marathon event from Windsor Castle to Shepherd’s Bust in London, England, out-distancing fellow Canadian Cowagee (Tom Longboat), and 50 other of the world’s best runners. Nicknamed the “Ojibway Thunderbolt,” Simpson ran in the North American professional circuit from 1909 until retiring in 1912 to spend time with his family in Hiawatha.


1km – Smoke Course
Albert Smoke 
Albert Smoke (Photo Credit: Alderville First Nation)

Named after Albert Smoke (1891-1944), a Mississauge Anishinaabe long distance runner from Alderville First Nation and raised in Curve Lake. While Tom Longboat and Fred Simpson were at the height of their fame, Smoke was just beginning his career as an amateur road racer, competing as a junior in the Peterborough Examiner Road Race. Though small in stature (only 4’ 10”), Smoke was considered one of the best long distance runners of his time and went on to represent Canada at the 1920 Summer Olympics in Antwerp. He would be the last Mississauga Ojibway marathon runner to compete in the Olympic Games.




 

 

Register and learn more about the Earth Run in the Rouge.

Date : Samedi, 19 octobre 2019
Heure : 10 h 00
Lieu : l’aire d’accueil du chemin Zoo

Une activité conjointe organisée en partenariat avec le Cercle consultatif des Premières Nation du parc urbain national de la Rouge et Parcs Canada.

Le parc urbain national de la Rouge renferme de nombreux sentiers historiques importants. Depuis des temps immémoriaux, les Autochtones ont emprunté ces sentiers en courant de communauté en communauté pour transmettre des messages, pour se protéger, pour pratiquer des rituels et pour faire du sport. Les athlètes autochtones d’hier et d’aujourd’hui sont considérés comme des maîtres de la course de fond et comptent parmi les coureurs les plus estimés de l’histoire du Canada. Pour célébrer ce riche et glorieux héritage de l’athlétisme autochtone, le parc urbain national de la Rouge invite les visiteurs à renouer avec la nature et à suivre les traces de plus de 10 000 ans d’histoire humaine dans la vallée de la Rouge.

Profitez des couleurs de l’automne, soyez actifs et participez à toute une gamme d’activités culturelles tout au long de la journée.

Vous ne courez pas? Prenez part à une série de randonnées guidées gratuites comprenant un contenu autochtone et des thèmes d’automne!

Nous participons à la Course pour la Terre pour nous rapprocher de la nature, des autres et de nous-mêmes.

 

Information pour les coureurs :

La Course pour la Terre dans la Rouge se compose d’un parcours de 10 km et d’un parcours de 5 km. L’inscription au 5 km est GRATUITE pour les jeunes de 17 ans et moins! Il y aura aussi une course de 1 km gratuite pour les enfants.

Choisissez votre parcours :

10 km – Parcours Cogwagee
 
Cogwagee - Tom Longboat (Crédit photo : Bibliothèque et Archives Canada)

Ce parcours porte le nom du célèbre coureur de fond onondaga Cogwagee (son nom anglais était Tom Longboat) (1887 –1949) des Six Nations de la rivière Grand. Longboat est le plus grand coureur de fond de son époque. Il a été le premier membre d’une communauté des Premières Nations à gagner le marathon de Boston, battant le record existant de cinq minutes. Il a représenté le Canada aux Jeux olympiques de 1908 et, en 1912, il a établi un record mondial à la course de 15 milles, terminant en seulement une heure et dix-huit minutes. Longboat a passé son enfance dans les pensionnats indiens du Canada, d’où il s’est échappé deux fois en courant, ce qui est significatif. Il a abandonné sa carrière sportive en 1916 pour s’enrôler dans les Forces canadiennes pendant la Première Guerre mondiale. En raison de ses aptitudes, il a été utilisé comme messager sur les lignes de front.

Tout au long de sa carrière, il a été victime de discrimination et de critiques racistes dans la presse alors qu’il devenait l’un des plus grands coureurs de fond de sa génération. Longboat est décédé en 1949. Six ans plus tard, il a été intronisé au Temple de la renommée des sports du Canada, qui l’a reconnu comme le « plus grand coureur de distance du Canada ».

En onondaga, Cogwagee signifie « tout ».

5 km – Parcours Simpson
Fred Simpson 
Fred Simpson (Crédit photo : Première Nation d’Alderville )

Nommé d’après Fred Simpson père (1878-1945) – le célèbre marathonien ojibway de Mississauga de la Première Nation d’Alderville. Moins de deux ans après s’être mis à la course sur route, Simpson gravissait les échelons pour devenir l’un des premiers athlètes autochtones à représenter le Canada aux Jeux olympiques.

En 1908, il termine sixième au marathon olympique, dont le parcours va du château de Windsor jusqu’à Shepherd’s Bust à Londres (Angleterre). Il devance ainsi son compatriote canadien Cowagee (Tom Longboat) et 50 autres des meilleurs coureurs du monde. Surnommé « Ojibway Thunderbolt », Simpson a compétitionné dans le circuit professionnel nord-américain de 1909 jusqu’à ce qu’il se retire, en 1912, pour passer du temps avec sa famille à Hiawatha.


1 km – Parcours Smoke
Albert Smoke 
Albert Smoke (Crédit photo : Première Nation d’Alderville )

Nommé d’après Albert Smoke (1891-1944), un coureur de fond anishinaabe de Mississauge de la Première Nation d’Alderville ayant grandi à Curve Lake. Alors que Tom Longboat et Fred Simpson étaient au sommet de leur gloire, Smoke commençait tout juste sa carrière de coureur sur route amateur en participant en tant que junior à la course sur route du Peterborough Examiner. Malgré sa petite taille (seulement 4 pi 10 po), Smoke était considéré comme l’un des meilleurs coureurs de fond de son époque. Il a représenté le Canada aux Jeux olympiques d’Anvers en 1920. Il sera le dernier marathonien ojibway de Mississauga à participer aux Jeux olympiques.


 

 

Inscrivez-vous et renseignez-vous sur la Course pour la Terre au parc urbain national de la Rouge (en anglais seulement).