CAUTION: Swimming at Rouge Beach is strongly discouraged until lifeguard services can be restored. Storms may cause erosion and riptides. Water quality is frequently poor near the river outflow, approaching E. coli levels requiring mandatory closure.

Where to swim

Parks Canada is working closely with the City of Toronto to restore lifeguard services at Rouge Beach. Until then, swimming is strongly discouraged for safety. Visitors who choose to swim do so at their own risk.

Enjoy the smooth sandy beach and cool waters of Lake Ontario. Build castles in the sand or just relax in the sun.


Swimming safety

  • Water quality is not tested daily and E. Coli levels may be variable, particularly at the river outflow.
  • Storms may deposit debris such as branches and logs under the water. They may also cause erosion and changes to beach topography that pose unseen hazards to swimmers.
  • Rip currents are possible at Rouge Beach and can pose a challenge even to strong swimmers.
  • Supervise children when they’re in the water.
  • When thunder roars, go indoors; seek shelter in a vehicle or building.
  • Inflatable toys and floats are not recommended. Currents and surf can quickly draw these far from shore.
  • Water temperatures suitable for swimming are generally reached by June and continue through August. Swimming during the spring and fall in cold water can increase the risk of hypothermia. Be aware of hypothermia and how to treat it.
  • Please respect all instructions on Parks Canada signage in the area and check back here for the most up-to-date information.

Lifeguard update

Parks Canada and the City of Toronto are working together to restore a supervised swim program with lifeguards at Rouge Beach, although further site remediation work is required before a reopening date can be confirmed. There are a number of technical issues to be resolved before lifeguard services can be resumed, including assessing newly formed sand banks, accelerated erosion along the shoreline and a safety evaluation of the swimmable area. Please check back here for the most up-to-date information.

 

For more information on natural hazards, weather conditions, and planning a safe activity, please see our Visitor Safety page.

ATTENTION : La baignade à la plage de la Rouge est fortement déconseillée jusqu’à ce que les services de sauveteurs soient rétablis. Les fortes pluies peuvent provoquer de l’érosion et des remous de marée. La qualité de l’eau est souvent mauvaise près de l’embouchure de la rivière, avec des niveaux d’E. coli proches de ceux exigeant une fermeture obligatoire.

Où nager

Parcs Canada travaille en étroite collaboration avec la Ville de Toronto pour rétablir des services de sauveteurs à la plage de la Rouge. D’ici là, la baignade est fortement déconseillée pour des raisons de sécurité. Les visiteurs qui choisissent de se baigner le font à leurs propres risques et périls.

Profitez de cette plage de sable lisse et des eaux fraîches du lac Ontario. Bâtissez des châteaux de sable ou détendez-vous simplement au soleil.

Sécurité des baigneurs

  • La qualité de l’eau n’est pas testée quotidiennement et les niveaux d’E. Coli peuvent varier, en particulier à l’embouchure de la rivière.
  • Les fortes pluies peuvent provoquer le dépôt de débris tels que des branches et des rondins sous l’eau. Elles peuvent également être à l’origine d’une érosion et d’une modification à la topographie de la plage, ce qui représente une menace invisible pour les baigneurs.
  • On constate parfois des courants d’arrachement à la plage de la Rouge, des courants qui peuvent mettre en difficulté même les plus aguerris des nageurs.
  • On recommande de ne pas utiliser de jouets gonflables ni de flotteurs. Les courants et les vagues peuvent rapidement les éloigner du rivage.
  • Une température de l’eau acceptable pour la baignade est généralement atteinte en juin. Elle se maintient jusqu’en août. Nager au printemps et à l’automne dans des eaux froides peut accroître le risque d’hypothermie. Soyez vigilant et sachez quoi faire en cas d’hypothermie.
  • Respectez toutes les instructions figurant sur les panneaux de Parcs Canada dans la région et revenez ici pour consulter les renseignements les plus récents.

Mise à jour du sauveteur

Parcs Canada et la ville de Toronto travaillent ensemble pour rétablir un programme de baignade supervisée avec des sauveteurs à la plage Rouge, bien que d'autres travaux d'assainissement du site soient nécessaires avant qu'une date de réouverture puisse être confirmée. Il y a un certain nombre de problèmes techniques à résoudre avant la reprise des services de sauveteur, notamment l'évaluation des bancs de sable nouvellement formés, l'accélération de l'érosion le long du rivage et une évaluation de la sécurité de la zone de baignade. Veuillez revenir ici pour les informations les plus récentes.



Pour plus d’informations sur les dangers naturels, les conditions météorologiques et la planification d’une activité sûre, veuillez consulter notre page Sécurité des visiteurs.