Cannabis is now legal and regulated in Canada.
Find out how this will affect your visit.

Pukaskwa National Park is located near Marathon, Ontario; access via Highway 627. The park is a three-and-a-half-hour drive from the Thunder Bay Airport and a five-hour drive from the Sault Ste. Marie Airport.

Hattie Cove Campground is open May 18 to October 15; the Visitor Centre is open June to August. Weather conditions may influence the availability of facilities and services in early May. Expect to spend a full day to a week or more in Pukaskwa.

Getting here

Location

PO Box 212 Hwy 627
Heron Bay ON P0T 1R0

By road

From Thunder Bay or Sault Ste. Marie follow TransCanada Highway 17 to Highway 627, just east of Marathon. Take Highway 627 south for 13 km to the end. Pukaskwa National Park’s Administration Office is the first left after entering the park. To get to the Kiosk, Hattie Cove Campground and Day Use Areas, continue another 2 km after crossing the Pic River bridge and entering the park.

By plane

Thunder Bay airport (YQT) is the closest commercial airport to Pukaskwa National Park and is a 3.5 hour drive from the park. The next closest airport is Sault Ste. Marie (YAM) and is a 5 hour drive southeast of the park. Several major airlines, including Air Canada, Porter, and WestJet provide service to both airports.

By bus

Kasper Transportation offers bus service from Thunder Bay, ON to Marathon, ON. Taxi service is available from Marathon to Pukaskwa.

By water

Paddling or sailing into Pukaskwa’s Hattie Cove can be tricky, as it’s easy to pass by without seeing the protected cove. Be sure to landmark carefully when nearing this stretch of shoreline.

Hours of operation

Open May 18 to October 15

For more details on the level of service visitors can expect, including the Visitor Centre, Kiosk and park administration office hours, visit our website with the complete schedule.

Please note that exact season start and end dates are weather dependent. Visitors should contact the park if planning a visit around those dates.

Fees

Free admission for youth, 17 and under. Other fees still apply.
Detailed fees list.

Facilities and services

Accessible Facilities Accessible services
Parking Parking
Restrooms Restrooms
Picnic area Picnic area
Dogs on leash Dogs on leash
Lookout Lookout

 

Facilities and services details

 

Quick facts

  • Pukaskwa’s 60-kilometre-long Coastal Hiking Trail is Ontario’s premier wilderness backpacking route. An equally challenging but shorter 25-kilometer loop trail, the Mdaabi Miikana, provides a taste of the full coastal hiking trail experience.
  • Day-hike the Bimose Kinoomagewnan Trail and uncover the Seven Grandfather Teachings of the Ojibway, the Indigenous people for whom this land is home.
  • Paddle in the serenity of Hattie Cove or Halfway Lake if you only have a day. If you have more time and crave adventure, choose white-water excursions on the White and Pukaskwa rivers, or paddle along Lake Superior’s remote coast.
  • Pukaskwa is a place of rugged beauty where the forests of Jack Pine, White Birch, and Black Spruce meet the picture-perfect rocky headlands and sheltered coves containing sand and cobble beaches on Lake Superior.

Le 1er juin, Parc national Pukaskwa a commencé une réouverture progressive de certains services, emplacements extérieurs et de certaines installations. Veuillez consulter régulièrement ce site Web pour les conditions actuelles de ce lieu et des autres.

Le parc national Pukaskwa est situé près de Marathon en Ontario. Le parc se trouve à trois heures et demie de route de Thunder Bay et à cinq heures et demie de route Sault Ste. Marie.

Le terrain de camping de l’anse Hattie est ouvert du 18 mai au 15 octobre. Le centre d’accueil est ouvert de juin à août. Au début du mois de mai, la disponibilité des installations et des services dépend des conditions météorologiques. Prévoyez de passer une journée entière à une semaine ou plus dans le parc national Pukaskwa.

Comment s’y rendre

Emplacement

212 Hwy 627
Heron Bay ON P0T 1R0

Par route

À partir de Thunder Bay ou de Sault Ste. Marie, suivez la route 17 transcanadienne jusqu’à la route 627, juste à l’est de Marathon. Prenez la route 627 vers le sud sur 13 km jusqu’au bout. Le bureau d’administration du parc national Pukaskwa est le premier à gauche après l’entrée du parc. Pour se rendre au kiosque, au terrain de camping de Hattie Cove et aux aires de fréquentation diurne, roulez 2 km de plus après avoir traversé le pont de la rivière Pic et être entré dans le parc.

En avion

L’aéroport de Thunder Bay (YQT) est l’aéroport commercial le plus près du parc national Pukaskwa. Il se trouve à 3,5 heures de route du parc. L’aéroport le plus proche est celui de Sault Ste. Marie (YAM) et se trouve à 5 heures de route au sud-est du parc. Plusieurs grandes compagnies aériennes, dont Air Canada, Porter et WestJet, desservent les deux aéroports.

En autocar

Asper Transportation offre un service d’autocar de Thunder Bay à Marathon, Ontario. On peut se rendre en taxi de Marathon à Pukaskwa

Par eau

Il peut être difficile de pagayer ou de naviguer dans l’anse Hattie de Pukaskwa, car il est facile de passer tout droit sans voir la crique protégée. Assurez-vous de prendre un point de repère soigneusement choisi lorsque vous approchez de cette partie du littoral.

Heures d'ouverture

18 mai au 15 octobre 

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur le niveau de service auquel les visiteurs peuvent s’attendre, y compris les heures d’ouverture du centre d’accueil, du kiosque et du bureau d’administration du parc, visitez notre site Web avec le calendrier complet.

Veuillez noter que les dates exactes de début et de fin de la saison dépendent des conditions météorologiques. Les visiteurs doivent communiquer avec le parc s’ils planifient une visite à ces dates.

Tarifs

Entrée libre pour les jeunes de 17 ans et moins D’autres frais s’appliquent toujours.
Liste détaillée des frais.

Installations et services

Accessible Facilities Installations accessibles
Parking Stationnement
Restrooms Toilettes
Chiens en laisse Chiens en laisse
Lookout Belvédère

Information à propos des services et installations

Faits en bref

  • Le sentier de randonnée côtier de 60 kilomètres de Pukaskwa est la principale voie de randonnée pédestre en milieu sauvage de l’Ontario. Un sentier en boucle de 25 kilomètres tout aussi difficile mais plus court, le Mdaabi Miikana, offre un avant-goût de la randonnée côtière.
  • Faites une randonnée d’une journée sur le Bimose Kinoomagewnan Trail et découvrez les sept enseignements des grands-pères des Ojibway, le peuple autochtone qui occupe cette terre.
  • Pagayez dans la sérénité de Hattie Cove ou de Halfway Lake si vous n’avez qu’une journée. Si vous avez plus de temps et si vous avez envie d’aventures, choisissez des excursions en eaux vives sur les rivières White et Pukaskwa, ou pagayez le long de la côte éloignée du lac Supérieur.
  • Pukaskwa est un endroit d’une beauté sauvage et le point de rencontre entre les forêts de pin gris, de bouleau gris et d’épinette noire, et les pittoresques terrains rocheux, les anses de sable abritées et les plages de galets du lac Supérieur.