On behalf of the people of Canada, we protect and present nationally significant examples of Canada’s natural and cultural heritage, and foster public understanding, appreciation and enjoyment in ways that ensure the ecological and commemorative integrity of these places for present and future generations.

The Parks Canada mandate

The Parks Canada mandate sets the Agency’s overall direction. Stemming from this mandate is the Strategic Outcome, or desired result, which is: “Canadians have a strong sense of connection, through meaningful experiences, to their national parks, national historic sites and national marine conservation areas and these protected places are enjoyed in ways that leave them unimpaired for present and future generations.”

Parks Canada exercises its mandate in the following ways:

  • Protection of heritage resources – protecting for Canadians those natural and cultural resources directly related to the reasons for park or marine conservation area establishment and historic site designation;
  • Fostering public appreciation and understanding – reaching Canadians at home, at leisure, and in their communities through communication and educational opportunities designed to increase awareness, understanding and appreciation of the significance of Canada’s national heritage places and why they should be protected and presented. By engaging stakeholders and encouraging shared leadership through active participation in the development and implementation of the Agency’s future direction, Parks Canada also seeks to broaden its base of support;
  • Learning and enjoyment through meaningful visitor experiences – the sum total of a visitor’s personal interaction with a protected heritage place, an interaction that awakens the senses, affects the emotions, stimulates the mind, and helps the visitor create a sense of attachment and connection to these places.

A key principle in Parks Canada’s approach to management is the delivery of the three elements of its mandate in an integrated manner, that is, the elements are mutually supportive, and actions are carried out interdependently.

Park plans

  • Park management plan

    This management plan for Pukaskwa National Park provides renewed direction towards achieving Park Canada’s mandate.



  • State of the park report

    The purpose of a State of the park report (SOPR) is to report to Canadians on the state of a national park with respect to its Indigenous perspectives, ecological integrity (EI), cultural resources, and connection to place.

Au nom de la population canadienne, nous protégeons et mettons en valeur des exemples représentatifs du patrimoine naturel et culturel du Canada, et en favorisons chez le public la connaissance, l'appréciation et la jouissance, de manière à en assurer l'intégrité écologique et commémorative pour les générations d'aujourd'hui et de demain.

Agence Parcs Canada

Le mandat de parcs Canada établit l'orientation générale de l'Agence. Le résultat stratégique, ou résultat désiré, qui découle de ce mandat est le suivant : « Grâce à des expériences significatives, les Canadiens et Canadiennes ont un lien solide avec leurs 2 Parc national du Canada Pukaskwa Plan directeur parcs nationaux, leurs lieux historiques nationaux et leurs aires marines nationales de conservation. Ils jouissent de ces lieux protégés de façon à les laisser intacts pour les générations d’aujourd’hui et de demain. »

Parcs Canada exerce son mandat des façons suivantes :

  • Conservation des ressources patrimoniales – Conservation pour les Canadiens dont les ressources naturelles et culturelles sont directement liées aux raisons d’établissement d’un parc ou d’une aire marine de conservation ou aux raisons de désignation d’un lieu historique;
  • Favoriser l'appréciation et la compréhension du public – – Entrée en contact avec les Canadiens à la maison, dans leurs lieux de loisir et au sein de leurs collectivités grâce à des initiatives de communication et de formation conçues afin d’accroître leur sensibilisation, leur compréhension et leur appréciation de l’importance des lieux patrimoniaux nationaux du Canada et des raisons pour lesquelles ces lieux devraient être protégés et mis en valeur. Par la mobilisation d’intervenants et l'incitation d’un leadership partagé dans l’élaboration et la mise en œuvre de l'orientation future de l'Agence, Parcs Canada cherche également à élargir sa base de soutien;
  • L’apprentissage et le divertissement au moyen d’expériences enrichissantes pour les visiteurs – La somme des interactions personnelles d’un visiteur avec un lieu patrimonial protégé, une interaction qui éveille ses sens, touche ses émotions, stimule son esprit et lui donne un sentiment d'attachement envers ces lieux.

Un principe clé de l'approche de Parcs Canada envers la gestion est la prestation de façon intégrée des trois éléments de son mandat, ce qui signifie que les éléments s'appuient mutuellement et que les mesures sont prises de manière interdépendante. Par conséquent, ce plan de gestion a été reformulé afin d’assurer l’intégration de ces éléments.

Plans du parc

  • Une personne sur une côte rocheuse en regardant l'eau.
    Plan directeur du parc

    Le présent plan directeur du Parc national Pukaskwa fournit une nouvelle orientation en ce qui concerne la réalisation du mandat de Parcs Canada.

  • Deux personnes regardant le rivage de l'eau.
    État du parc

    Il a pour objet de rendre compte à la population canadienne de l’état d’un parc national et c’est pourquoi il présente les points de vue des Autochtones et porte aussi sur l’intégrité écologique (IE), les ressources culturelles et le rapprochement avec le parc.