For the best experience, take water and a snack, and wear sturdy shoes. Be prepared for changes in weather, and let someone know your plans. Rocks and boardwalks become slippery when wet. Easy and moderate trails have stairways and boardwalks to help you navigate steep cliffs and wet sections, but some rock-hopping and short, steep climbs may be necessary. On challenging trails, expect to use your navigational skills over difficult terrain with long, strenuous climbs, rock scrambling, and few built structures.

  • Easy walks

    Boardwalk Beach Trail
    1.2km with 0.2km of boardwalk ● 2m elevation gain/loss ● 30 minute hike return from Visitor Centre

    Accessible trail; boardwalk and stable gravel surfaces
    Enjoy a boardwalk stroll to Pukaskwa’s famous Horseshoe Bay and discover the delicate beauty of the nearby sand dunes. Experience a sunset at Horseshoe beach and embrace the sounds of the rolling waves.

    Hattie Cove Fire Walk via the Coastal Hiking Trail
    0.7km ● 2m elevation gain/loss ● 20 minute hike return from Visitor Centre

    Natural surface; few tree roots
    Wander through the 2012 Hattie Cove Prescribed Fire area and learn about the role of fire in a boreal ecosystem! Roughly one hectare in size, see for yourself how quickly regeneration occurs in the boreal forest.

  • Moderate hikes

    Beach Trail
    2km ● 5m elevation gain/loss ●1 hour hike return from Visitor Centre

    Natural surface with sandy sections; frequent driftwood obstacles
    Meander along Pukaskwa’s sandy, driftwood beaches that are nestled amongst Lake Superior’s coves and harbours. Middle Beach is the perfect place to splash around or simply sit and play in the sand.

    Southern Headland Trail
    2.2km ● 15m elevation gain/loss ●1 hour 15 minute hike return from Visitor Centre

    Natural surface with built stairs; some obstacles, loose rock and tree roots
    Experience the wild shore of an inland sea. This rugged trail juts into Lake Superior with views of Hattie Cove, Pulpwood Harbour, and Horseshoe Bay. Look for tiny arctic-alpine plants, lichens and other unique life forms shielded amongst the rock formations.

    Manito Miikana
    2km ●17m elevation gain/loss ●1 hour hike return from Visitor Centre

    Natural surface with built stairs; some obstacles, loose rocks and tree roots
    Want to slip away for a moment of peace and relaxation? Hike Manitou Miikana, “the Spirit Trail.” Peek through a rocky ravine as you climb up for panoramic views of Lake Superior and the Pic River Dunes. Rest and enjoy the beauty from two viewing decks along the trail.

    Bimose Kinoomagewnan
    3.7km ●12m elevation gain/loss ● 2 hour hike return from Visitor Centre

    Natural surface with built stairs; some obstacles, loose rocks and tree roots
    Learn the Seven Grandfather Teachings from Ojibway elders and youth on Bimose Kinoomagewnan, the “Walk of Teachings”. Read elders’ stories about love, honesty, respect, wisdom, truth, humility, and bravery in local culture. See how the next generation understands these teachings through their accompanying artwork as you hike peacefully around Halfway Lake.

    Combination Hike
    6.3 km ● 17m elevation gain/loss ● 3.5 hour hike return from Visitor Centre

    Feel up to a longer hike? Pack a lunch, lace up your boots and do all three hiking trails! This trip has it all - awesome lookouts, shady forest and a serene inland lake! Starting at the Visitor Centre, follow the Southern Headland Trail to Horseshoe Beach. Then, join onto the Beach Trail and go along the shore to where the trail ends at the North Loop Campground. Walk past a few campsites and you’re at the Halfway Lake Trail. Take the trail all around the lake and end at the road. Walk back to the Visitor Centre. You did it!

  • Difficult hikes

    White River Suspension Bridge via the Coastal Hiking Trail
    18km ● 15m elevation gain/loss ● 8-9 hour hike return from Visitor Centre

    Natural surface; some obstacles, loose rock and tree roots
    Craving adventure? This full-day hike to the White River Suspension Bridge is not for the faint of heart. Part of the rugged and beautiful Coastal Hiking Trail, the White River Suspension Bridge crosses 23m high above Chigamiwinigum Falls. Check in with park staff for current trail conditions. We strongly recommend wearing appropriate footwear and taking food, water, sunscreen, bug protection, and consulting a topographic map.

Pour une expérience agréable, apportez de l’eau et une collation et portez des chaussures robustes. Soyez préparé à affronter les changements de température et informez quelqu’un de vos plans. Les roches et les trottoirs de bois sont glissants lorsqu’ils sont mouillés. Les sentiers faciles et intermédiaires sont munis d’escaliers et de trottoirs de bois pour vous aider à contourner les falaises escarpées et les tronçons humides, mais il peut parfois s’avérer nécessaire de sauter d’une roche à l’autre ou de faire de courtes ascensions ardues. Dans les sentiers difficiles, attendez-vous à utiliser vos compétences en orientation, à faire de longues ascensions difficiles et à escalader des rochers dans un milieu très peu aménagé.

  • Sentiers faciles

    Sentier de la plage sur promenade de bois
    1,2 km (comprend une promenade de bois de 0,2 km) ● Gain/perte d’altitude : 2 m ● Durée de la randonnée de retour au centre d’information : 30 minutes

    Sentier accessible; promenade de bois et surfaces en gravier stables
    Baladez-vous sur une promenade de bois en direction de la célèbre baie Horseshoe de Pukaskwa pour découvrir la beauté délicate des dunes situées à proximité. Laissez-vous bercer par le son des vagues déferlant sur la plage Horseshoe au coucher du soleil.

    Promenade du feu de l'anse Hattie via la Piste côtière
    0,7 km ● Gain/perte d’altitude : 2 m ● Durée de la randonnée de retour au centre d’information : 20 minutes

    Surface naturelle; quelques racines d'arbre
    Promenez-vous dans le secteur de l'anse Hattie qui a fat l'objet d'un brûlage dirigé en 2012 afin de découvrir le rôle joué par le feu dans un écosystème boréal. Constatez de visu à quel point la forêt boréale peut se régénérer rapidement, dans ce secteur d'environ un hectare.

  • Sentiers intermédiaires

    Sentier de la plage
    2 km ● Gain/perte d’altitude : 5 m ● Durée de la randonnée de retour au centre d’information : 1 heure

    Surface naturelle présentant des portions sablonneuses; morceaux de bois nombreux
    Baladez-vous le long des plages de sable jonchées de morceaux de bois de Pukaskwa, lesquelles sont ceinturées par les anses et les havres du lac Supérieur. La plage Middle est l’endroit idéal pour se baigner ou simplement pour s’asseoir et jouer dans le sable.

    Sentier de la Pointe Sud
    2.2km ● 15m elevation gain/loss ●1 hour 15 minute hike return from Visitor Centre

    Surface naturelle avec marches construites; quelques obstacles, roches libres et racines d'arbre
    Découvrez la rive sauvage d’une mer intérieure. Ce sentier accidenté s'avance vers le lac Supérieur et offre une vue sur l'anse Hattie, le havre Pulpwood et la baie Horseshoe. Recherchez les minuscules plantes arctiques alpines, les lichens et autres formes de vie uniques qu'abritent les formations rocheuses.

    Manito Miikana
    2 km ● Gain/perte d’altitude : 17 m ● Durée de la randonnée de retour au centre d’information : 1 heure

    Surface naturelle avec marches construites; quelques obstacles, roches libres et racines d'arbre
    Vous souhaitez vous échapper pour vivre un moment de paix et de détente? Partez en randonnée dans le sentier Manito Miikana, le « sentier de l’esprit ». Jetez un coup d’œil vers le ravin rocailleux pendant que vous gravissez le sentier, qui offre une vue panoramique sur le lac Supérieur et les dunes de la rivière Pic. Reposez-vous et admirez la beauté des lieux dans l’un des deux belvédères qui longent le sentier.

    Bimose Kinoomagewnan
    3,7 km ● Gain/perte d’altitude : 12 m ● Durée de la randonnée de retour au centre d’information : 2 heures

    Surface naturelle avec marches construites; quelques obstacles, roches libres et racines d'arbre
    Apprenez les sept enseignements ancestraux d'aînés et de jeunes Ojibways sur le sentier Bimose Kinoomagewnan, la « promenade des leçons ». Lisez les récits d'aînés sur l’amour, l’honnêteté, le respect, la sagesse, la vérité, l’humilité et le courage dans la culture locale. Découvrez comment la nouvelle génération interprète ces enseignements à travers leurs œuvres d’art tout en vous promenant paisiblement à proximité du lac Halfway.

    Randonnée combinée
    6,3 km ● Gain/perte d’altitude : 17 m ● Durée de la randonnée de retour au centre d’information : 3,5 heures

    Vous êtes tenté par une randonnée plus longue? Préparez-vous un repas à emporter, lacez vos bottes et allez parcourir les trois sentiers de randonnée! Ce parcours a tout ce qu'il faut – des belvédères incroyables, une forêt ombragée et un lac intérieur calme. À partir du centre d’information, suivez le sentier de la Pointe Sud jusqu'à la plage Horseshoe. Empruntez ensuite le sentier de la plage et longez la rive jusqu'à la fin de celui-ci, au terrain de camping de la boucle nord. Passez devant quelques emplacements de camping avant d'arriver au sentier du lac Halfway. Parcourez ce sentier, qui s'étend sur toute la périphérie du lac, jusqu'à la route. Retournez au centre d'information. Vous avez réussi!

  • Sentiers difficiles

    Pont suspendu de la rivière White via la Piste côtière
    18 km ● Gain/perte d’altitude : 15 m ● Durée de la randonnée de retour au centre d’information : 8 à 9 heures

    Surface naturelle; quelques obstacles, roches libres et racines d'arbre
    Soif d’aventure? Cette randonnée d’une journée jusqu’au pont suspendu de la rivière White n’est pas pour les cœurs fragiles. Faisant partie de la superbe piste côtière accidentée, le pont suspendu de la rivière White s’étend à 23 mètres au-dessus des chutes Chigamiwinigum. Vérifiez l'état des sentiers auprès du personnel du parc avant de vous y aventurer. Nous vous recommandons fortement de vous chausser convenablement et d'apporter de la nourriture, de l’eau, un écran solaire, un insectifuge et une carte topographique.