Lake Erie Sandspit Savannah (LESSS)

The term “Lake Erie Sand Spit Savannah” is used to describe the sand dunes, dune shrub-lands, savannahs, and sand barrens, generally found along the shoreline of Lake Erie’s major sand spit features. Lake Erie Sand Spit Savannah at Point Pelee has three unique parts: Red Cedar Savannah (interior), Shoreline Savannah (coastal), and Woodland. Savannah is sandy, dry, nutrient poor, and open with just a few trees to provide a bit of shade. These conditions are perfect for a variety of grasses and wildflowers. Woodland is a balance of open, sunny areas and shady spots. Woodland is not as dense as a forest and has more trees than a savannah. The savannah gradually changes to woodland or thicket, before becoming a dry forest. This gradual transition is called succession.

Lake Erie Sand Spit Savannah is extremely rare in Canada; there is only a few other places outside of Point Pelee National Park in which it is found. Lake Erie Sand Spit Savannah is not just important for the Eastern Prickly Pear Cactus, it provides habitat for 25% of Point Pelee’s federally-listed Species at Risk such as the five-lined skink, eastern foxsnake, yellow-breasted chat, common hoptree, and red-headed woodpecker. Lake Erie Sand Spit Savannah is dependent on periodic disturbances such as fire and shoreline processes, such as sand deposition, wind and ice scour, to prevent succession to dry forest. In the last 90 years, anthropogenic changes to the area in and around Point Pelee National Park have altered these disturbance regimes. Additionally, changing weather patterns have resulted in less severe winters and storms reducing the impacts of ice scour and wind. The loss of these disturbances causes the Lake Erie Sand Spit Savannah habitat to be overgrown with thickets and non-native vegetation, crowding out native plants and reducing the habitat and food sources needed for species at risk. Restoration is needed to mimic these disturbances which set back succession to an earlier stage.

How is Restoration Done?

Restoration is achieved using a variety of methods like mechanical clearing, prescribed fire, and herbicide application which mimics natural processes and helps control invasive and non-native species.

Restoration activities are timed to minimize disruption to wildlife. Work starts in September as staff prepare the sites and mechanical clearing continues later in the fall when most species have either migrated or are preparing to hibernate for the winter. Plants listed as species at risk, those that are provincially rare and nesting locations of fauna are marked to prevent disturbance during the restoration process.

Step one: invasive, non-native and encroaching native shrub species are manually removed. The stumps are treated with herbicide to prevent regrowth. In areas specifically chosen for the yellow-breasted chat, the stumps of native encroaching shrubs are left untreated. This is because Yellow-breasted Chats enjoy thickets and prefer them at varying heights.

Step Two: the canopy is opened up through the removal of select trees. Some large trees will be completely removed, others will be left dead standing, leaving the trunk intact. As the tree decays, it will provide nesting and roosting cavities.

Step Three: Once the areas have been opened, they will be maintained through prescribed fire performed in late winter and early spring to minimize impacts to breeding birds, as well as reptiles and amphibians coming out of hibernation. Following the fires, the native seed bank will be enhanced through the seeding of native Lake Erie Sand Spit Savannah species and the ongoing pulling of invasive species which may try to re-establish in these areas.

Savannah loving species:

  • Birds
  • Trees

Where can you see and enjoy LESSS?

Since the restoration program began, over 38 hectares of Lake Erie Sand Spit Savannah has been transformed. This includes approximately 23 hectares of shoreline and interior savannah, 11 hectares of woodlands, and 4 hectares of yellow-breasted chat thicket.

Visitors can view this transformation at the following locations:

Shoreline Areas: Along the shoreline near Sanctuary and West Beach picnic areas

Trails and Paths: West Beach footpath, Redbud Footpath, Anders Trail, Cactus Field Footpath, DeLaurier Trail, Centennial Bike and Hike Trail South of White Pine to West Beach.

Help Along the Way

A special thanks to the following schools and clubs that helped make the Lake Erie Sand Spit Savannah program possible by assisting with planting, seeding collection, and seed propagation:

  • Caldwell First Nation
  • Cardinal Carter Catholic High School
  • Holy Names Catholic High School
  • Junior Naturalists
  • Queen Elizabeth Elementary School Eco Club
  • St. Thomas of Villanova Catholic High School
  • Western Secondary School

Get involved

Restoration projects like this allow the opportunity for volunteers to get involved. An important component of this restoration program is native seed collection in the fall and native plantings in June. Check out our volunteer page for upcoming opportunities.

Savane du cordon sablonneux du lac Érié (SCSLE)

Ce terme sert à décrire les dunes de sable, les zones arbustives, les savanes et les landes sablonneuses que l’on retrouve généralement le long du littoral des principales flèches de sable du lac Érié. À la Pointe-Pelée, la savane du cordon sablonneux du lac Érié comporte trois parties distinctes : la savane de genévriers rouges (intérieure), la savane des côtes (littoral) et le boisé. La savane est sablonneuse, sèche, pauvre en nutriments, et dégagée avec seulement quelques arbres fournissant un peu d’ombre. Ces conditions sont idéales pour plusieurs graminées et fleurs sauvages. Le boisé permet un équilibre entre les zones dégagées ensoleillées et les secteurs ombragés. Le boisé n’est pas aussi dense que la forêt, mais contient plus d’arbres que la savane, qui, elle, se change graduellement en boisé ou en fourré, avant de devenir une forêt sèche. Cette transition s’appelle la succession.

La savane du cordon sablonneux du lac Érié est très rare au Canada; on n’en retrouve qu’à quelques endroits en dehors du parc national de la Pointe-Pelée. Non seulement elle est importante pour l’oponce de l’Est, mais elle abrite aussi 25 % des espèces de la Pointe-Pelée inscrites sur la liste fédérale des espèces en péril, entre autres le scinque pentaligne, la couleuvre fauve de l’Est, la paruline polyglotte, le ptéléa trifolié et le pic à tête rouge. La savane du cordon sablonneux du lac Érié est tributaire des perturbations périodiques comme les feux ou les phénomènes littoraux tels qu’un dépôt de sable, le vent ou l’érosion par les glaces, afin d’empêcher la succession vers une forêt sèche. Au cours des 90 dernières années, des changements anthropiques dans le secteur et dans les environs du parc national de la Pointe-Pelée ont altéré ces régimes de perturbations. De plus, les changements climatiques ont réduit les tempêtes et les hivers rigoureux, réduisant ainsi les répercussions du vent et de l’érosion par les glaces. Ces perturbations étant en baisse, l’habitat de la savane du cordon sablonneux du lac Érié a changé, dorénavant couverte de fourrés et de végétation non indigène, encombrant les plantes indigènes et compromettant l’habitat et les sources de nourriture des espèces en péril. Un rétablissement est nécessaire afin de reproduire ces perturbations pour restaurer la succession à un stade antérieur.

Comment procéder au rétablissement?

Le rétablissement est possible grâce à une multitude de méthodes comme le défrichage mécanique, le brûlage dirigé et un traitement herbicide, qui reproduisent les phénomènes naturels et aident à contrôler les espèces non indigènes envahissantes.

Les activités de rétablissement sont planifiées de manière à perturber le moins possible la vie sauvage. Les travaux commencent en septembre alors que le personnel prépare les sites, et le défrichage mécanique se poursuit tard en automne, quand la plupart des espèces ont migré ou se préparent à hiberner. Les plantes enregistrées comme espèces en péril, les plantes rares dans la province et les lieux de nidification de la faune sont balisés pour éviter une perturbation lors du processus de rétablissement.

Première étape : les espèces d’arbustes envahissants, non indigènes, et indigènes mais empiétant sur l’habitat sont retirées manuellement. Les souches sont traitées avec un herbicide pour empêcher la repousse. Dans les zones choisies précisément pour la paruline polyglotte, les souches d’arbustes indigènes envahissant l’habitat ne sont pas traitées, car elle aime les fourrés et les préfère à diverses hauteurs.

Deuxième étape : le couvert forestier est dégagé grâce au retrait d’arbres sélectionnés. Certains gros arbres sont entièrement enlevés, d’autres sont laissés pour morts, le tronc intact. Alors que l’arbre se décompose, des cavités propices à la nidification et au repos se formeront.

Troisième étape : une fois les espaces dégagés, ils seront préservés au moyen de brûlages dirigés à la fin de l’hiver et au début du printemps pour réduire au minimum les répercussions sur les oiseaux reproducteurs, ainsi que sur les reptiles et les amphibiens sortant de leur hibernation. À la suite des feux, la banque de semences indigènes sera renforcée par l’ensemencement des espèces indigènes de la savane du cordon sablonneux du lac Érié, et par l’élimination permanente d’espèces envahissantes qui tentent de se refaire une place dans ces secteurs.

Espèces se complaisant dans la savane :

  • Oiseaux
  • Arbres

Où pouvons-nous voir et découvrir la savane du cordon sablonneux du lac Érié?

Depuis la mise en place du programme de rétablissement, plus de 38 ha de savane du cordon sablonneux du lac Érié ont été transformés, ce qui comprend environ 23 ha de savane intérieure et côtière, 11 ha de boisé et 4 ha de fourrés pour la paruline polyglotte.

Soyez témoins de cette transformation ici :

Zones côtières : le long du rivage près des aires de pique-nique du sanctuaire et de West Beach.

Chemins et sentiers : sentier de West Beach, sentier Redbud, sentier Anders, sentier Cactus Field, sentier DeLaurier, piste du centenaire pour randonneurs et cyclistes au sud de White Pine vers West Beach.

Un précieux soutien

Un merci spécial aux écoles et clubs suivants qui ont rendu possible le programme de la savane du cordon sablonneux du lac Érié en aidant avec la plantation, la récolte de graines et la multiplication des semences :

  • Première Nation Caldwell
  • « Cardinal Carter Catholic High School »
  • « Holy Names Catholic High School »
  • Jeunes naturalistes
  • « Queen Elizabeth Elementary School Eco Club »
  • « St. Thomas of Villanova Catholic High School »
  • « Western Secondary School »

Faites votre part

Les projets de rétablissement comme celui-ci sont une occasion pour faire votre part. Une composante importante de ce programme de rétablissement est la récolte de graines indigènes à l’automne et la plantation en juin. Consultez notre page pour connaître les prochaines possibilités de bénévolat.