Point Pelee National Park is home to complex Carolinian ecosystems and a number of species at risk. Each year Parks Canada staff and conservation partners are involved in research and monitoring projects as well as conservation and restoration projects to better understand this natural region and to support healthy ecosystems.

Research and monitoring

There are several ongoing research and monitoring projects in the park which focus on specific species. Monitoring allows us to take concrete action to protect plant and animal life.

Conserving and restoring ecosystems and habitats

Lake Erie Sand Spit Savannah is extremely rare in Canada. There are only a few other places outside of Point Pelee National Park in which they are found.

Use of prescribed fire

Controlled, intentionally lit fires are known as prescribed fires. They reduce fuel to lessen the severity of wildfires, release nutrients, encourage native seed germination, and allow for a mosaic of ecosystems that support diverse plants and wildlife.

Hyperabundant Species Management

Monitoring and research at Point Pelee National Park have identified two hyperabundant wildlife populations. The size of these populations are a threat to species at risk and to the natural processes that are expected in this ecological region of Canada.

Le parc national de la Pointe-Pelée abrite des écosystèmes caroliniens complexes et un certain nombre d’espèces menacées. Chaque année, le personnel de Parcs Canada et les partenaires en conservation participent à des projets de recherche et de surveillance ainsi qu’à des projets de conservation et de restauration pour mieux comprendre cette région naturelle et favoriser des écosystèmes sains.

Recherche et surveillance

Il existe plusieurs projets de recherche et de surveillance dans le parc qui se concentrent sur des espèces spécifiques.Ce suivi permet de mettre en place des actions concrètes pour protéger la faune et la flore.

Conserver et restaurer les écosystèmes

La savane du cordon sablonneux du lac Érié est très rare au Canada; on n’en retrouve qu’à quelques endroits en dehors du parc national de la Pointe-Pelée.

Utilisation des brûlages dirigés

Les feux planifiés et contrôlés s’appellent des brûlages dirigés. Les brûlages dirigés réduisent la charge de combustibles pour atténuer la gravité des feux de forêt, libérer les nutriments, encourager la germination des semences indigènes, et renforcer un ensemble d’écosystèmes qui abritent une variété de plantes et d’animaux sauvages.

Gestion des espèces surabondantes

La surveillance et la recherche au parc national de la Pointe-Pelée ont permis de désigner deux populations d’espèces sauvages surabondantes. La taille de ces populations constitue une menace pour les espèces en péril et pour les processus naturels attendus dans cette région écologique du Canada.