The management plan is a strategic guide for future management of a national park. It is required by legislation, guided by public consultation, approved by the Minister responsible for Parks Canada, and tabled in Parliament. It is the primary public accountability document for each National Park.

As a strategic and long-term guide, a management plan establishes a vision looking 10 or more years into the future. Its primary goal is to ensure that there is a clearly defined direction for the maintenance or restoration of ecological integrity and is intended to guide appropriate use. Direction is also described for heritage presentation programs, which are recognized as a fundamental means for achieving both protection and use objectives.

Next Steps for Point Pelee National Park

In Point Pelee National Park, we are currently preparing a new management plan that will guide our vision for the park into the future. We have prepared an overview of the planning process which also outlines opportunities for your involvement: 

We Want to Hear From You!

At this point in the planning process we would like to hear your views and opinions on the proposed vision for Pointe Pelee National Park (outlined in the overview [LINK]) and the priority issues and opportunities that we are considering as we develop a new plan. This is an opportunity to have your say before the management plan is drafted. Once the plan is drafted, we will hold stakeholder and public consultations – stay tuned for more information on dates to be posted in early 2020.

For comments or inquiries regarding the management plan, please contact us:

Point Pelee National Park 
Att: Management Planning 
407 Monarch Lane 
Leamington, ON N8H 3V4 

or

pc.pelee.consultation.pc@canada.ca

Le plan directeur est un guide stratégique de gestion d’un parc national pour l’avenir. Document dont l'élaboration est prévue par les lois en vigueur, il doit être basé sur la consultation du public, être approuvé par la ministre responsable de Parcs Canada et être déposé au Parlement. C'est le principal document d'imputabilité envers le public pour chacun des parcs nationaux.

En tant que guide stratégique à long terme, le plan directeur doit définir une vision d'avenir, sur un horizon de 10 ans et plus. Son but général est de définir clairement une orientation pour le maintien ou la restauration de l'intégrité écologique et, en fonction de cet objectif primordial pour l'utilisation appropriée des ressources par le public. On y décrit aussi l'orientation relative aux programmes de présentation du patrimoine qui constituent un moyen fondamental permettant d'atteindre les objectifs portant sur la protection et l'utilisation.

Les étapes suivantes pour le parc national de la Pointe-Pelée

Au parc national de la Pointe-Pelée, nous sommes en train d’élaborer un nouveau plan directeur qui orientera notre vision du parc pour les prochaines années. Nous avons préparé un aperçu du processus de planification dans lequel sont également présentées les occasions pour vous de participer :

Nous voulons connaître votre point de vue!

À ce stade-ci du processus de planification, nous aimerions connaître vos opinions et points de vue sur le projet de vision du parc national de la Pointe Pelée (qui est énoncée dans l’aperçu [LIEN]), ainsi que les questions prioritaires et les occasions à exploiter que nous prenons en considération pendant que nous élaborons un nouveau plan. Il s’agit d’une occasion de faire valoir votre opinion avant la rédaction du plan directeur. Une fois le plan rédigé, nous tiendrons des consultations auprès d’intervenants et le public – Restez à l’écoute pour plus d’information sur les dates à afficher au début 2020.

Si vous avez des commentaires ou des questions au sujet du plan directeur, communiquez avec nous :

Parc national de la Pointe-Pelée
Élaboration du plan directeur
407 Monarch Lane
Leamington (Ontario) N8H 3V4

ou

pc.pelee.consultation.pc@canada.ca