PRESCRIBED FIRES IN POINT PELEE NATIONAL PARK
Lake Erie Sand Spit Savannah Restoration

LEAMINGTON, ONTARIO, February 21, 2019 – Parks Canada is a leader with more than 30 years of experience in using fire to naturally restore and maintain the ecological integrity of national parks and historic sites. Through safe and effective fire management, we are reducing the danger of wildfire to the public, infrastructure and neighbouring lands, while improving the ecological health of our forests and grasslands. 

The prescribed fire program at Point Pelee National Park is an important part of the park’s Lake Erie Sand Spit Savannah restoration project. As such, Parks Canada is planning to conduct prescribed fires at Point Pelee National Park between March 1, 2019, and April 15, 2019, when conditions are favourable. Prescribed fires planned for 2019 will be located near the Marsh Boardwalk (0.58 hectares), Sleepy Hollow (1.97 hectares), and DeLaurier (1.1 hectares); in Sparrow Field (1.66 hectares); and along the southern portion of the western shoreline (2.2 hectares).

Prescribed fires reduce fuel to lessen the severity of wildfires, release nutrients, and allow for a mosaic of ecosystems that support diverse plants and wildlife. When planning to undertake any fire management operation, safety is always our number one priority. Prescribed fires are only conducted under exacting conditions (e.g. weather, moisture, wind direction, supporting resources, etc.) and will only go forward when the safety of the public, our crews, park infrastructure and neighbouring lands can be assured.

Point Pelee National Park will remain open to visitors during the prescribed fires. Some smoke will be present and visible, but staff will monitor wind conditions and direct smoke away from publicly used areas to the extent possible. Specific areas will be closed for short periods of time to ensure visitor and staff safety.

Prescribed fires contribute to the restoration of Point Pelee National Park’s globally rare savannah ecosystem by reducing the number of exotic plants, preventing the spread of invading shrubs and trees, and improving habitat for Species at Risk. This is an important step in restoring healthy, resilient ecosystems that support a variety of birds, butterflies, and species at risk which depend on open, sunny savannah habitat to survive.

For up-to-date information about potential area closures, please check the park’s website at parkscanada.gc.ca/pelee and Facebook page at facebook.com/PointPeleeNP.

BRÛLAGES DIRIGÉS AU PARC NATIONAL DE LA POINTE-PELÉE
Restauration de la savane des flèches de sable du lac Érié

LEAMINGTON (ONTARIO), le 21 février 2019 – Comptant plus de 30 années d’expérience dans l’utilisation du feu pour rétablir et maintenir de façon naturelle l’intégrité écologique des parcs et des lieux historiques nationaux, Parcs Canada est un chef de file dans ce domaine. Grâce à une gestion sécuritaire et efficace des feux, nous réduisons les dangers des incendies non maîtrisés pour le public, les infrastructures et les terres avoisinantes, tout en contribuant à la santé écologique de nos forêts et de nos prairies.

Le programme de brûlages dirigés au parc national de la Pointe-Pelée est une composante importante du projet de restauration de la savane des flèches de sable du lac Érié qui se déroule dans le parc. Ainsi, Parcs Canada prévoit effectuer des brûlages dirigés au parc national de la Pointe-Pelée du 1 mars 2019 au 15 avril 2019 lorsque les conditions seront favorables. Les brûlages dirigés prévus pour 2019 seront situés près de la Promenade du marais (0,58 hectare), Sleepy Hollow (1,97 hectares), et DeLaurier (1,1 hectares); au Champ des bruants (1,66 hectares); et le long du secteur sud de la rive ouest (2,2 hectares). 

Les brûlages dirigés réduisent le volume des matières combustibles, diminuant ainsi l’intensité des incendies, enrichissent le sol par l’apport de nutriments et génèrent une mosaïque d’écosystèmes abritant une diversité de plantes et d’animaux. Lors de la planification d’une opération de gestion des feux, la sécurité est la priorité absolue pour Parcs Canada. Les brûlages dirigés ne sont effectués que lorsque les conditions sont favorables (par ex. les conditions météorologiques, l’humidité, la direction du vent, les ressources de soutien, etc.) et que la sécurité du public, de nos équipes, des infrastructures du parc et des terres avoisinantes peut être garantie.

Le parc national de la Pointe-Pelée demeurera ouvert aux visiteurs pendant les brûlages dirigés. Les brûlages dégageront de la fumée visible, mais des employés surveilleront les vents et, dans la mesure du possible, dirigeront la fumée loin des aires d’utilisation publique.   
Certains secteurs seront fermés pendant de courtes périodes pour assurer la sécurité des visiteurs et des employés.

Ces brûlages dirigés contribuent à la restauration de l’écosystème de la savane du parc national de la Pointe-Pelée, un écosystème rare dans le monde, en réduisant le nombre de plantes exotiques, en empêchant la prolifération des espèces envahissantes d’arbres et d’arbustes et en améliorant l’habitat des espèces en péril. Il s’agit d’une mesure importante pour rétablir un écosystème sain et résilient où vivent diverses espèces d’oiseaux et de papillons ainsi que des espèces en péril dont la survie dépend de l’accès aux espaces dégagés et ensoleillés de la savane.

Pour obtenir des renseignements à jour sur la fermeture possible de certains secteurs, consultez le site Web et la page Facebook du parc : parcscanada.gc.ca/pelee et  facebook.com/PNPointPelee.