Volunteering at Point Pelee 

If you’re a community-minded team player, who’s interested in connecting Canadians to nature and culture, and you’re ready to jump in to high energy activities or are looking for a way to help the park that’s low impact, we may have a spot for you!

Immerse yourself in a wide variety of opportunities that may not be available to a regular visitor, such as restoring ecosystems, photographing wildlife and park activities, cleaning up litter, attending community events and festivals, and so much more.

To find out additional details regarding our volunteer opportunities, contact us at: pc.pelee.info.pc@canada.ca

Parka Volunteer

Parka

Commitment: 9 weeks

Status: Apply Now!

Parka and her handler will visit our campers throughout the summer for s’mores and fun! This opportunity will take volunteers into the heart of our oTENTik Village, leading meet and greets with the beloved Parks Canada Mascot.

As a Parka Mascot, you help animate Parka and engage young children, families and the general public through non-verbal communication. You would also be helping create a fun, welcoming and lively environment where people feel content and accepted.

This opportunity also includes Parka Handler. If you are interested in volunteering, but are not keen on dressing up, you could be the perfect person to be the eyes and ears of Parka!

Volunteer Photographer

Commitment: Six times per year

Status: Apply Now!

Our team of volunteer photographers are always on the lookout for the best nature, landscape and visitor shots. Volunteers are encouraged to develop their photography portfolios, and will be provided with opportunities to document a variety of park subjects, including people, nature and wildlife. Volunteer photographers take photographs at Parks Canada events, out on the trails, the marsh, the visitor centre, or wherever the day takes them! Volunteer photographs may be used to help support online and print publications, as well as outreach exhibits and display materials.

Outreach and Special Event Volunteer

Commitment: Once a month, year-round

Status: Apply Now!

Get out in the community and share your passion for Parks Canada! This team of volunteers attends a variety of community events and festivals throughout Southern Ontario. Meet people in your local community and get them excited about natural and cultural history! We are looking for volunteers in the following areas: Niagara Falls, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Hamilton, Kitchener-Waterloo, London, Windsor, Amherstburg, or Leamington, Ontario.

What you will be doing:
  • Promoting Parks Canada to the public and answering questions.
  • Promoting an active and healthy lifestyle
  • Learning about Canadian culture, history, and nature.
  • Sharing your passion of Parks Canada places with others.
  • Setting up and taking down portable booths and activities.
  • Assisting with activities such as airbrush tattoos, scavenger hunts, green screen photo booths, and family crafts.
  • Demonstrating our website using portable tablet devices.
  • Bringing Parka to life, taking pictures with event goers, reading story time with Parka, and performing her “song and dance.”
  • Encouraging others to volunteer for Parks Canada.
Note:
  • You must be 14 years or older to apply.
  • Prior experience is not required.
  • Good communication skills are an asset.
  • Volunteers will be expected to travel at their own cost. Some meals may be provided or reimbursed.
  • A screening process will follow the application to suitability.
  • Volunteers will be contacted on an as needed basis, based on events going on in their communities.

Volunteer Trash Basher

Commitment: Seasonal

Status: Apply Now!

Help keep the beaches beautiful! The Trash Basher will be responsible for helping with the collection of garbage on the beaches of Point Pelee National Park. The commitment is as often as the volunteer pleases. The volunteer is welcome to set up a schedule that works for them, or alternatively, join the organized events which will be hosted by Park staff Saturday mornings in July and August.

Volunteer Pond and Garden Keeper

Commitment: Weekly in July and August

Status: Apply Now!

The ponds at the Visitor Centre are teeming with life! Our team of Pond and Garden Keeper volunteers will be responsible for maintaining the appearance of the Point Pelee Visitor Centre pond and front garden. Volunteers will assist in the pulling of weeds and keeping the pond and garden clean of debris and other unwanted items. Pond and Garden Keeper will be responsible for the health and safety of the pond throughout the operating season. The volunteer will also share their passion with visitors who inquire about the pond and what they are doing to help maintain its health.

Volunteer oTENTik Village Host

Commitment: Sunday’s throughout July and August

Status: Apply Now!

The Volunteer oTENTik Village Host team is essential to the smooth welcoming of weekly YMCA and oTENTik campers. This team is outgoing, welcoming, friendly and directs campers to the places where the fun begins! Volunteer oTENTik Village hosts greet visitors and provide information on where to park, and where to find their accommodations. Kind, welcoming, and warm individuals are encouraged to apply.

Vous avez un esprit d’équipe et êtes axé sur la collectivité? Vous avez envie de faire découvrir la nature et la culture à la population canadienne? Vous êtes prêt à sauter à pieds joints dans des activités hautement dynamiques ou vous cherchez un moyen écologique de donner un coup de main? Si oui, nous avons peut-être une place pour vous!

Profitez pleinement des nombreuses occasions qui ne sont peut-être pas offertes à un visiteur régulier, comme la restauration des écosystèmes, la photographie de la faune et des activités du parc, le nettoyage des déchets, la participation à des activités communautaires et à des festivals et bien plus encore.

Pour en savoir plus sur nos possibilités de bénévolat, communiquez avec nous à l’adresse suivante : pc.pelee.info.pc@canada.ca

Mascotte bénévole

Parka

Engagement : Neuf semaines

État du poste : Postulez dès maintenant!

Parka et son accompagnateur visiteront nos campeurs tout au long de l’été pour des s’mores et du plaisir! Les bénévoles se rendront au cœur de notre village oTENTik et dirigeront des rencontres avec la mascotte bien-aimée de Parcs Canada.

En tant que Parka, vous donnerez vie à notre mascotte et vous interagirez avec les jeunes enfants, les familles et le grand public à l’aide de la communication non verbale. Vous aiderez aussi à créer un environnement amusant, accueillant et vivant où les gens se sentiront bien et acceptés.

Nous sommes aussi à la recherche d’accompagnateurs de Parka. Si vous désirez faire du bénévolat, mais que vous n’avez pas envie de vous déguiser, vous pourriez être la personne parfaite pour être les yeux et les oreilles de Parka!

Photographe bénévole

Engagement : Six fois par année

État du poste : Postulez dès maintenant!

Notre équipe de photographes bénévoles est toujours à l’affût des meilleures photos de la nature, des paysages et des visiteurs. Nous encourageons les bénévoles à élaborer leur portfolio de photographies et nous leur donnerons l’occasion de prendre en photo une gamme de sujets du parc, y compris des personnes, des paysages naturels et des animaux sauvages. Les photographes bénévoles prennent des photos lors des activités de Parcs Canada, sur les sentiers, dans les marais, au centre d’accueil, bref partout où il se passe quelque chose! Les photos prises par des bénévoles peuvent être utilisées pour appuyer les publications en ligne et imprimées, ainsi que les expositions de sensibilisation et le matériel d’exposition.

Bénévole de la diffusion externe et des activités spéciales

Engagement : Une fois par mois, à longueur d’année

État du poste : Postulez dès maintenant!

Rencontrez des membres de la collectivité et communiquez votre passion pour Parcs Canada! Cette équipe de bénévoles participe à diverses activités et festivals communautaires dans tout le Sud de l’Ontario. Rencontrez des membres de votre collectivité et faites naître en eux une passion pour l’histoire naturelle et culturelle! Nous sommes à la recherche de bénévoles dans les régions suivantes : Niagara Falls et Niagara-on-the-Lake, Hamilton, Kitchener et Waterloo, London, Windsor et Amherstburg, Leamington.

Ce que vous ferez
  • Promouvoir au public à propos de Parcs Canada et répondre aux questions.
  • Promouvoir un mode de vie sain et actif.
  • Avoir des connaissances ou un intérêt dans la culture, l’histoire et la nature canadiennes.
  • Partager leur passion des lieux de Parcs Canada avec les autres.
  • Installer et démanteler des kiosques transportables.
  • Aider lors d’activités telles que le tatouage à l’aérographe, la coordination de chasses au trésor, l’utilisation d’un kiosque photo extérieur avec écran vert et de l’artisanat en famille.
  • Démontrer notre site Web à l’aide de tablettes mobiles.
  • Aider Parka à prendre vie en prenant des photos avec les participants des activités, en lisant l’heure du conte avec Parka et en participant à sa démonstration de « danse et chanson ».
  • Inciter d’autres personnes à faire du bénévolat pour Parcs Canada.

Remarque :

  • Il faut être âgé de 14 ans ou plus.
  • Aucune expérience préalable n’est requise.
  • De bonnes compétences en communication sont un atout.
  • Les bénévoles devront voyager à leurs frais. Certains repas seront fournis ou remboursés.
  • La pertinence de votre demande sera déterminée lors d’un processus de sélection.
  • Les bénévoles seront contactés selon les besoins et en fonction des activités qui se déroulent dans leurs communautés.

Équipe de nettoyage bénévole

Engagement : Saisonnier

État du poste : Postulez dès maintenant!

Aidez à garder les plages belles! Les membres de la brigade de nettoyage seront chargés d’aider à la collecte des déchets sur les plages du parc national de la Pointe Pelée. Les bénévoles peuvent offrir leur temps aussi souvent qu’ils le désirent. Ils sont invités à établir un horaire qui leur convient ou à participer aux activités organisées par le personnel du parc le samedi matin en juillet et en août.

Préposé bénévole à l’entretien des étangs et du jardin

Engagement : Les fins de semaine en juillet et en août

État du poste : Postulez dès maintenant!

Les étangs du centre d’accueil regorgent de vie! Notre équipe de préposés bénévoles à l’entretien des étangs et du jardin sera chargée de maintenir l’apparence de l’étang et du jardin qui se trouvent devant le centre d’accueil de la Pointe-Pelée. Les bénévoles aideront à arracher les mauvaises herbes et à extraire de l’étang et du jardin des débris et autres objets indésirables. Ils seront responsables de la santé et de la sécurité de l’étang pendant toute la saison d’exploitation. Ils partageront également leur passion avec les visiteurs qui s’informent sur l’étang et ce qu’ils font pour aider à maintenir sa santé.

Hôte bénévole du village oTENTik

Engagement : les dimanches en juillet et en août

État du poste : Postulez dès maintenant!

L’équipe d’accueil bénévole du village oTENTik est essentielle au bon accueil des campeurs hebdomadaires du YMCA et d’oTENTik. Ses membres extravertis, accueillants et amicaux dirigent les campeurs vers les endroits où ils peuvent se divertir! Ils accueillent les visiteurs et leur indiquent où se garer et où trouver leur hébergement. Les personnes aimables, accueillantes et chaleureuses sont encouragées à poser leur candidature.