Point Pelee National Park was designated as a Dark Sky Preserve (DSP) by the Windsor Centre of the Royal Astronomical Society of Canada (RASC) in 2006. What does it mean to be a Dark Sky Preserve? It means that the park is one of the best places to explore the night sky in Canada. A dark sky preserve is an astronomy park where the night sky glows, making millions of stars visible to the naked eye. The darkest nights are during a new moon, when the moon is not visible in the sky. On the nights listed below, the park will be open until midnight for the best stargazing experience. Bring your binoculars or a telescope!

As a DSP, Point Pelee National Park is committed to protecting the night-time environment from the effects of artificial lighting. Educating visitors about the ecological and cultural importance of dark skies are key elements of the DSP program. Protecting the dark sky of Pont Pelee will not only benefit stargazers, but wildlife as well. Many plants, animals and insects rely on the darkness of the night to forage, breed and navigate. These activities are adversely affected by light pollution.

In a DSP, artificial lighting at night is kept to a minimum while ensuring public safety. Light fixtures must respect dark sky protocols to prevent excessive light and glare. Point Pelee National Park is committed to reducing artificial light pollution within its buffer zone. 

Ways you can promote responsible lighting:

  • Direct outdoor home lights downward
  • Turn off lights when not in use
  • Use low wattage lights
  • Use dimmer controls and timers where possible
  • Think better light, not more light

Dark Sky Nights

Explore the park after dark and experience the dark skies of Point Pelee National Park. You will have the opportunity to stay late and experience the park at night. Visitors can pick up a seasonal star chart at the front gate upon arrival. The park is open until midnight, unless otherwise stated.

  • January 29, 2022
  • February 26, 2022
  • March 26, 2022
  • April 23, 2022
  • May 28, 2022
  • June 25, 2022
  • July 30, 2022
  • August 13, 2022
    • The park will stay open all night August 13 to August 14 (Open at 6 am August 13, close at 10 pm August 14)
  • September 24, 2022
  • October 29, 2022
  • November 26, 2022
  • December 17, 2022

Dark Sky Viewing Tips

  • Check the weather before heading out.
  • Take along a star chart or download a star gazing app, and bring a pair of binoculars - or a telescope.
  • Use red cellophane over your flashlight. Red light is less obtrusive than traditional white light, and helps to retain your night vision.
  • West Beach and the Visitor Centre parking lots are the best car-accessible stargazing locations.

Resources

For more information

For further information on special events or regular programs:

En effet, le parc national de la Pointe-Pelée a été désigné réserve de ciel étoilé par le centre de Windsor de la Société royale d’astronomie du Canada en 2006. En quoi consiste cette désignation? Cela signifie que la réserve de ciel étoilé du parc est parmi un des meilleurs endroits au Canada pour l’exploration du ciel nocturne. La réserve de ciel étoilé peut se comparer à un parc d’astronomie où le ciel scintille de millions d’étoiles visibles à l’œil nu. Les nuits les plus sombres sont celles de la nouvelle lune, lorsque la lune n’est pas visible dans le ciel. Pour les nuits indiquées ci-dessous, le parc sera ouvert jusqu’à minuit pour une expérience optimale d’observation des étoiles. Apportez vos jumelles ou un télescope!

En tant que réserve de ciel étoilé, le parc national de la Pointe-Pelée est résolu à protéger l’environnement nocturne contre les effets de l’éclairage artificiel. La sensibilisation des visiteurs à l’importance écologique et culturelle du ciel nocturne représente l’un des volets clés de ce programme. La protection du ciel étoilé profitera aux observateurs d’étoiles aussi bien qu’aux espèces sauvages. En effet, un grand nombre de plantes, d’animaux et d’insectes dépendent de l’obscurité pour s’alimenter, s’accoupler et s’orienter. La pollution lumineuse a donc un effet sur leurs activités.

Dans une réserve de ciel étoilé, la lumière artificielle est réduite au minimum nécessaire pour assurer la sécurité du public. Les appareils d’éclairage doivent respecter les protocoles établis pour prévenir l’éclairage excessif. Le parc national la Pointe-Pelée à cœur de réduire la pollution lumineuse artificielle dans la zone tampon de la réserve de ciel étoilé.

Pratiques responsables en matière d’éclairage :

  • Dirigez l’éclairage à l'extérieur des maisons vers le bas.
  • Éteignez la lumière lorsque vous ne vous en servez pas.
  • Utilisez des ampoules à faible intensité.
  • Utilisez des gradateurs de lumière là où vous le pouvez.
  • Pensez à mieux éclairer plutôt qu’à éclairer davantage.

Soirées consacrées au ciel étoilé

Explorez le parc en soirée et découvrez le ciel étoilé de la Pointe-Pelée. Vous pourrez rester tard et voir ce qui se passe après le coucher du soleil. Les visiteurs peuvent obtenir une carte d'étoiles de saison à l'entrée. Le parc reste ouvert jusqu’à minuit, sauf indication contraire.

  • Le 29 janvier 2022
  • Le 26 février 2022
  • Le 26 mars 2022
  • Le 23 avril 2022
  • Le 28 mai 2022
  • Le 25 juin 2022
  • Le 30 juillet 2022
  • Le 13 août 2022
    • Le parc restera ouvert toute la nuit du 13 au 14 août (6 h le 13 août au 22 h le 14 août)
  • Le 24 septembre 2022
  • Le 29 octobre 2022
  • Le 26 novembre 2022
  • Le 17 décembre 2022

Conseils pour l’observation du ciel étoilé

  • Vérifiez la météo avant de partir.
  • Munissez-vous d’une carte du ciel ou téléchargez une application d’observation des étoiles, et emportez des jumelles ou un télescope.
  • Recouvrez votre lampe de poche avec de cellophane rouge. La lumière rouge est moins gênante que la lumière blanche et elle aide à préserver votre vision de nuit.
  • La plage West et le stationnement au centre d’accueil sont de bons endroits pour observer les étoiles, et ils sont accessibles en voiture.

Ressources

Pour plus d'information

Pour en savoir plus sur nos activités spéciales ou nos programmes réguliers :