The Visitor Centre

The Visitor Centre tells the engaging history of Point Pelee National Park and how it became a special oasis. With a discovery section for kids, interactive exhibits, and a theatre for special programming, the Visitor Centre has something for everyone. Stop by to ask our knowledgeable interpreters questions about the park or your latest sighting.

While here:

  • Explore the exhibits and learn about Point Pelee’s history
  • Watch the 10 minute introductory film about life at Point Pelee National Park 
  • See what wildlife has been sighted, and submit your own sightings!
  • Take a photo in our photo booth
  • Put on a puppet show in the kid’s discovery zone
  • Take a closer look at things under the digital microscope
  • Catch the free shuttle to the Tip!

Xplorers program

Are you ready for an adventure? Pick up an Xplorers booklet and explore Point Pelee National Park like never before. The Xplorers program is a great way for kids aged 6 to 11 to discover parks and historic sites with the entire family. From crosswords and mazes to eye spies, this engaging booklet will keep your kids entertained throughout your entire visit.

Where Can I get my booklet?

Pick one up at the park entrance, the visitor centre, or the campground office.

What do I do when I complete my booklet?

Stop by the Visitor Centre during operating hours for a special certificate and a prize to celebrate your success!

Club Parka

Traveling with preschoolers? Pick up a Club Parka booklet that will keep them exploring all day long! This booklet, suitable for children under 6 years old, takes your entire family on an adventure around the park. Keep your eyes and ears open for the sights and sounds of Point Pelee National Park!

Parka is our busy little beaver who encourages kids to explore the world around them, whether on a hike along wilderness trails or a step back in history at a site or fort. Spending time in nature has many benefits for young children.

Find out more about Club Parka and ask a park interpreter or a member of our team at any Visitor Centre for a copy of the Club Parka activity booklet!

Where Can I get my booklet?

Pick one up at the park entrance, the Visitor Centre, or the campground office.

What do I do when I complete my booklet?

Stop by the Visitor Centre during operating hours for a special certificate and a prize to celebrate your success!

Parka's Photo Missions app

Looking for an interactive park experience for the whole family? Download the Parka Photo Missions app! Help Parka and her friend Chirp find and photograph specific items during your visit to Point Pelee National Park. You can share these pictures on social media, as a souvenir of your visit. #parkaphotomissions

There are missions offered in 30 Parks Canada places across the country. The app also includes an “At Home Mission”, where you can explore in their own backyard!

Geocaching Adventure

Are you looking for an adventure? How about a high tech treasure hunt? Navigate along the trails to find six caches or hidden boxes within a short walking distance from the Visitor Centre (approximate time: 45 minutes). Park staff at the Visitor Centre will provide you with all the details you need to get started – including hands-on instructions on how to use a Global Positioning System (GPS) unit.

Fee: $3 per GPS unit.

Where to start your adventure?

Geocaching Adventures begin at the Visitor Centre. 

How long will it take to complete?

Geocaching adventures take approximately 45 minutes to complete.

What do I do after I have completed the tasks?

Check in with a park interpreter at the Visitor Centre to see how you scored!

Le centre d’accueil

Le centre d’accueil raconte l’histoire fascinante du parc national de la Pointe-Pelée et comment il est devenu une oasis spéciale. Agrémenté d’une section de découverte pour les enfants, d’expositions interactives et d’un théâtre pour la programmation spéciale, le centre d’accueil a quelque chose pour tout le monde. Faites-y un saut pour poser vos questions à nos interprètes aguerris sur le parc ou sur vos observations les plus récentes.

Pendant que vous y êtes :

  • Explorez les expositions et découvrez l’histoire de la pointe Pelée 
  • Regardez le film d’introduction de 10 minutes sur la vie au parc national de la Pointe-Pelée 
  • Regardez les animaux sauvages aperçus et proposez vos propres observations!
  • Prenez une photo dans notre photomaton
  • Organisez un spectacle de marionnettes dans la zone de découverte pour les enfants
  • Examinez les choses de plus près sous le microscope numérique 
  • Attrapez la navette qui se rend à la pointe!

Le programme Xplorateurs

Êtes-vous prêts pour une aventure? Prenez un livret Xplorateurs et explorez le parc national de la Pointe-Pelée comme jamais auparavant. Le programme Xplorateurs est un moyen formidable pour faire découvrir les parcs et les lieux historiques aux enfants de 6 à 11 ans avec toute la famille. Allant des mots croisés aux labyrinthes, en passant par le jeu de l’espion, ce livret captivant divertira vos enfants tout au long de votre visite. 

Où puis-je me procurer un livret?

Prends-en un à l’entrée du parc, au centre d’accueil ou au bureau du terrain de camping. 

Qu’est-ce que je fais après en avoir terminé mon livret?

Passe au centre d’accueil pendant les heures d’ouverture afin d’obtenir un certificat spécial et un prix pour célébrer ta réussite! 

Club Parka

Vous vous déplacez avec des enfants d’âge préscolaire? Prenez un livret du Club Parka qui les incitera à explorer tout au long de la journée! Ce livret conçu pour les enfants de moins de 6 ans entraîne toute votre famille dans une aventure autour du parc. Gardez vos oreilles et vos yeux à l’affût des apparitions et des sons du parc national de la Pointe Pelée!

Parka est notre petit castor occupé qui encourage les enfants à explorer le monde qui les entoure, que ce soit en parcourant des sentiers en milieu sauvage ou en remontant le temps dans un lieu ou un fort. Passer du temps dans la nature apporte plusieurs bienfaits aux jeunes enfants.

Apprenez-en davantage sur le Club Parka et demandez une copie du livret d’activités du Club Parka à un interprète du parc ou à un membre de notre équipe dans n’importe quel centre d’accueil.

Où puis-je me procurer un livret?

Prends-en un à l’entrée du parc, au centre d’accueil ou au bureau du terrain de camping.

Qu’est-ce que je fais après avoir terminé mon livret?

Passe au centre d’accueil pendant les heures d’ouverture afin d’obtenir un certificat spécial et un prix pour célébrer ta réussite!

L’application Missions Photo de Parka

À la recherche d’une expérience interactive pour toute la famille dans le parc? Téléchargez l’application Missions Photo de Parka! Aidez Parka et son ami Chirp à trouver et à photographier des objets particuliers pendant votre visite au parc national de la Pointe-Pelée. Vous pouvez partager ces images sur les médias sociaux et les conserver en guise de souvenirs de votre visite. #missionsphotodeparka

Ces missions sont offertes dans 30 lieux de Parcs Canada aux quatre coins du pays. L’application comprend aussi une mission à la maison dans laquelle vous pouvez explorer votre propre cour arrière!

L’aventure en géocachette

Êtes-vous à la recherche d’une aventure? Que diriez-vous d’une chasse au trésor de haute technologie? Naviguez le long des sentiers à la recherche de six caches ou contenants cachés à une courte distance à pied du centre d’accueil (durée approximative : 45 minutes). Le personnel du parc au centre d’accueil vous fournira tous les détails pour commencer votre aventure – y compris des instructions pratiques sur la façon d’utiliser votre récepteur GPS.

Les frais de location sont de 3 $ par récepteur.

Où commencer votre aventure?

Les aventures de géocachette commencent au centre d’accueil.

Combien de temps durent-elles?

Les aventures de géocachette durent approximativement 45 minutes.

Qu’est-ce que je fais après avoir accompli les tâches?

Vérifiez votre pointage auprès d’un interprète du parc au centre d’accueil!