With its close proximity to Southern Ontario, Bruce Peninsula National Park is no longer a hidden gem with visitation approaching 500,000. If you are on your way to Bruce Peninsula National Park we would love to see you, but we are experiencing a busy visitation season and access to services and amenities is more limited than usual. 

When is Bruce Peninsula National Park the busiest?

Certain times tend to be busier than others; if you are planning to visit during June, July and August and long weekends you will experience crowds and limited or no access to parking lots and facilities. 

These holidays and weekends are especially busy: 
Victoria Day long weekend (May 18th to 21st)
Canada Day (June 29th to July 2nd)
Civic Holiday (August 3rd to 6th)
Labour Day (August 31st to September 3rd)

What is the best time to visit?

Consider visiting the park during the early Spring or late Fall. During these times visitors can still find the turquoise waters of Georgian Bay while avoiding the larger crowds. 

Traffic conditions

Use your GPS unit or online mapping application to check current traffic conditions.  Be sure to check local travel conditions before you leave.

Current construction projects

Bruce Peninsula National Park construction page.

Road report

Always consult road reports or 511 (select google traffic) before leaving. 

Park entrances and parking

This chart shows the popularity of the site and when the Grotto P1 parking lot was full.

There are a limited number of parking spaces. For safety reasons, when these are all occupied we will not be able to accommodate more visitors. Gates can sometimes get busy. Thank you for your patience. Safety is our top priority so be sure to follow all instructions when entering the park.

There are various areas in the park where parking provides access to day-use areas.

Grotto and Head of Trails Parking

Singing Sands

  • Open as of June 30th, 2018.

Halfway Log Dump

  • Located at the end of Emmett Lake Road, this is a small parking lot that provides access to the shoreline of Georgian Bay. When this parking lot is full cars will be redirected to other day use areas. 

Visitor Centre

  • Located just outside the town of Tobermory, There is parking here to access the displays at the Visitor Centre, observation tower, and Burnt Loop trail. This site can accommodate more cars, however on weekends this parking lot will fill up, as will most parking lots in the area and it might be worth exploring other attraction farther down the Bruce Peninsula. 

When parking lots are full, please remember:

  • No illegal parking.
  • The park is surrounded by private property, please do not park or cross private lands to reach the park. 
  • Follow instructions from Parks staff.
  • Never park on vegetation.
  • Parking for oversized vehicles (RVs, trailers) is extremely limited. Leave oversized vehicles in town, or in the visitor centre parking lot, if possible.
  • Please watch your speed along Highway 6 and be mindful of wildlife and pedestrians while driving. 

Reservations

Reservation for park can be made through the Parks Canada reservation system at www.reservations.pc.gc.ca or dial toll free 1-877-737-3783 (1-877-RESERVE). It is not recommended to attempt to stay at the park with out a reservation as the campground is full for most of the summer. 

If you are on your way to Bruce Peninsula National Park and you have not secured overnight accommodation in advance, when it is safe to do so, please consider turning around and visiting another time.

Contact Explore the Bruce for help planning for alternative places to stay.

Pre-arrival checklist

Have a great visit

Let us help you explore the area.

Situé tout près du Sud de l’Ontario, le parc national de la Péninsule-Bruce n’est plus un secret bien gardé et attire près de 500 000 visiteurs. Si vous êtes en route pour le parc national de la Péninsule-Bruce, sachez que nous vous y accueillerons avec plaisir, mais qu’en raison de la période de forte affluence, l’accès à certains services et commodités pourrait être limité. 

Quelle est la période la plus achalandée au parc national de la Péninsule-Bruce?

Certaines périodes sont plus achalandées que d’autres. Si vous prévoyez visiter le parc en juin, en juillet, en août ou pendant une longue fin de semaine, attendez-vous à ce qu’il y a foule et peu ou pas d’accès à une place de stationnement et aux installations. 

L’affluence est particulièrement importante pendant les jours fériés et les fins de semaine ci-dessous :
Longue fin de semaine de la fête de Victoria (18 au 21 mai)
Fête du Canada (29 juin au 2 juillet)
Congé civique (3 au 6 août)
Fête du Travail (31 août au 3 septembre)

Quel est le meilleur moment pour visiter le parc?

Planifiez une visite au parc au début du printemps ou à la fin de l’automne. Vous pourrez tout de même admirer les eaux turquoise de la baie Georgienne, en évitant toutefois les foules. 

Conditions de circulation

Servez-vous de votre appareil GPS ou d’une application de cartes en ligne pour connaître l’état de la circulation. Vérifiez toujours les conditions locales de la route avant votre départ.

Projets de construction en cours

Page sur les travaux de construction au parc national de la Péninsule-Bruce.

Rapports routiers

Avant de partir, consultez toujours les rapports routiers ou le site 511 (choisissez l’option « Google Traffic »). 

Accès au parc et stationnement

Il y a un nombre limité de places de stationnement. Pour des raisons de sécurité, nous ne serons pas en mesure d’accueillir d’autres visiteurs lorsque toutes les places sont prises. Il y a parfois beaucoup de visiteurs aux postes d’entrée. Nous vous remercions de votre patience. La sécurité est notre priorité; assurez-vous de respecter les consignes lorsque vous entrez dans le parc.

Le parc est doté de plusieurs stationnements à partir desquels vous pouvez vous rendre aux aires de fréquentation diurne.

Stationnement de la Grotto et des débuts de sentier

Secteur de Singing Sands

  • Ouvert au 30 juin 2018.

Secteur de la Passe à billes Halfway

  • Situé au bout du chemin du Lac-Emmett, ce tout petit stationnement permet d’accéder au rivage de la baie Georgienne. Quand ce stationnement est complet, les automobilistes sont orientés vers d’autres aires de fréquentation diurne. 

Centre d’accueil

  • Situé aux limites de la ville de Tobermory, le centre d’accueil est doté d’un stationnement qui donne accès aux expositions du centre d’accueil, à la tour d’observation et à la boucle de la Pointe-Burnt. Un grand nombre de voitures peuvent se garer dans ce stationnement qui, par contre, sera rempli les fins de semaine, tout comme les autres stationnements du secteur. Dans une telle situation, nous vous conseillons d’explorer d’autres attraits (anglais seulement) de la péninsule Bruce. 

Lorsque les stationnements sont complets, n’oubliez pas ce qui suit :

  • Ne garez pas votre voiture illégalement.
  • Il y a des propriétés privées tout autour du parc. Ne vous garez pas sur les terrains privés et ne les traversez pas pour accéder au parc.  
  • Suivez les directives du personnel du parc.
  • Ne vous garez jamais dans la végétation.
  • Il y a très peu de places de stationnement pour les véhicules surdimensionnés (VR, caravanes). Garez ces véhicules dans la ville ou au stationnement du centre d’accueil, si possible.
  • Respectez la limite de vitesse sur la route 6 et faites attention aux animaux sauvages et aux piétons. 

Réservations

Pour faire une réservation, utilisez le système de réservation de Parcs Canada à www.reservations.pc.gc.ca; ou composez le numéro sans frais : 1-877-737-3783 (1-877-RESERVE). Il est déconseillé de se présenter au parc sans réservation, puisque le camping est presque toujours plein pendant l’été. 

Si vous êtes en route pour le parc national de la Péninsule-Bruce mais que vous n’avez pas déjà une réservation dans une installation d’hébergement, nous vous recommandons de faire demi-tour, lorsqu’il sera sécuritaire de le faire, et de venir visiter le parc à un autre moment.

Communiquez avec Explore the Bruce (anglais seulement), on vous aidera à trouver un autre endroit où loger.

Liste de contrôle avant l’arrivée

Bonne visite!

Laissez-nous vous aider à explorer la région.