Building a better future

Singing Sands is closed for construction. Parks Canada staff and contractors are using heavy equipment and power tools on site. The area is off limits until spring 2018.

This project will improve the beach experience. It will also protect and restore approximately 2300 square metres of rare and fragile ecosystems.

Monarch Caterpillar

You will see major differences in 2018. Most noticeable is the relocation of the parking lot to the other side of Dorcas Bay Road. This improves the area’s ecological integrity by restoring the natural connection between the beach and the fen. It also helps to protect  critical habitat for plant species at risk , including the Dwarf Lake Iris, Tuberous Indian-plantain and Hill’s Thistle. Other species at risk such as Snapping turtles, Massasauga rattlesnakes, and Monarch butterflies will also benefit. This work will also help to reduce the introduction and spread of invasive plants .

Hill's Thistle

We are building new washroom and reception facilities, a decked picnic area, a drinking water fill station, and viewing platform to make your experience better. Self-guided interpretive exhibits will share information about what makes Singing Sands such a special place.  The restored areas will soon grow up with new vegetation, stabilizing the sand dune ecosystems over time. The new raised boardwalk trail will be fully wheelchair accessible. It will connect you to the best of Singing Sands, while allowing wildlife to move naturally and freely in their habitat. An improved loop trail will run through the orchid-rich forest and back along the shoreline to create great nature viewing opportunities.

The night sky

Singing Sands is part of a Dark Sky Preserve  and a popular place for star-gazing. All our new infrastructure is dark sky compliant. Signs on the viewing platform will be high contrast and easy to read in low light. 

We hope you will join us in 2018 when Singing Sands reopens to the public. Come see these great new changes for yourself, and to learn about the work we’re doing to make this special place more natural, beneficial for wildlife, and better for your visit.

How does this affect your visit?

Drawings of a building and boardwalk to be installed at Singing Sands
Draft plans for an interpretive board walk at Singing Sands

Créer un avenir meilleur

Chenille de monarque

Le projet de réaménagement améliorera l’expérience des usagers de la plage. Il permettra également la protection et la restauration de près de 2 300 m2 d’écosystèmes rares et fragiles.

es changements importants pourront être observés en 2018, notamment la relocalisation du stationnement de l’autre côté du chemin Dorcas Bay. Les travaux de réaménagement amélioreront l’intégrité écologique du secteur : le lien naturel entre la plage et les tourbières sera rétabli. Ils favoriseront aussi la protection de l’habitat essentiel de plusieurs espèces de plantes en péril, dont l’iris lacustre, l’arnoglosse plantain et le chardon de Hill. Enfin, ils seront bénéfiques à des espèces d’animaux en péril comme la tortue serpentine, le massasauga et le monarque, et préviendront l’introduction et la prolifération d’espèces végétales envahissantes

Chardon de Hill

De nouvelles toilettes et installations d’accueil, une terrasse à pique-nique, un poste d’approvisionnement en eau ainsi qu’une plateforme d’observation seront mis en place pour contribuer à l’expérience des visiteurs. Des éléments d’exposition didactique auto-interprétés expliqueront les particularités étonnantes du secteur de Singing Sands. La végétation poussera rapidement dans les endroits restaurés, et l’équilibre des écosystèmes dunaires se rétablira au fil du temps. La promenade de bois nouvellement installée sera entièrement accessible en fauteuil roulant. Elle aidera tous les visiteurs à découvrir les meilleurs attraits du secteur de Singing Sands, tout en permettant à la faune de circuler librement dans son environnement naturel. Un sentier en boucle amélioré passera par la forêt riche en orchidées et le long du rivage, offrant des occasions incroyables d’observation de la nature.

Le ciel nocturne

Le secteur de Singing Sands, l’une des réserves de ciel étoilé, est un endroit prisé pour l’observation des étoiles. Toutes nos nouvelles installations sont conformes aux protocoles établis pour préserver le ciel étoilé. Le contraste des panneaux de la plateforme d’observation sera élevé, ce qui facilitera la lecture lorsque la lumière du jour sera faible. 

Nous espérons que vous vous joindrez à nous lors de la réouverture au public du secteur de Singing Sands, en 2018. Venez voir par vous-même ces fabuleux changements. Vous en apprendrez davantage sur les travaux en cours, qui feront de cet endroit spécial un milieu naturel bénéfique pour la faune et un lieu formidable à visiter.

Incidence sur votre séjour?

Dessins d'un immeuble et d'une promenade à installer à Singing Sands
Plans provisoires de l’aire d’arrivée