Small purple and white flower
Calypso Orchid

Orchids are incredibly diverse. They are found everywhere on land, except glaciers. There are about 28,000 species on Earth. That is almost double the number of bird species and four times that of mammals. There are more than forty species of orchids on the Bruce Peninsula. Thirty four types have been found in Bruce Peninsula National Park and Fathom Five National Marine Park.

Orchids are very sensitive to their environment. This makes them especially vulnerable to climate change. Changes in rainfall patterns, average temperatures and the growing season means it will be more difficult for some orchids to survive in Bruce Peninsula National Park and Fathom Five National Marine Park. Other threats include invasive species and human exploitation.

Orchids are usually highly specialized and require precise growing conditions. They are nearly impossible to transplant.

Warning

It is illegal to pick or harvest any part of any plant in any national park. Violators will be prosecuted. Fines at Bruce Peninsula National Park and Fathom Five National Marine Park for such violations can be as much as $25,000.

Close up of a pink flower
Rose Pogonia

At Bruce Peninsula National Park and Fathom Five National Marine Park orchids can be found in all land based ecosystems. The diversity and concentration of orchid species here is higher than any other place in Ontario. It is an ecological hotspot for orchids in North America.

Some orchids, such as the Calypso (Calypso bulbosa) have only a single flower per plant. Others, such as the Striped Coralroot (Corallorhiza striata) have many. Orchids have symmetrical flowers with highly modified petals. Flowers can come off the top of the stem, like the Rose Pogonia (Pogonia ophioglossoides), or they can come from the area where the leaves meet the stem, like the Tall Northern Green Orchid (Platanthera hyperborea). Orchids such as the Spotted Coralroot (Corallorhiza maculata) even lack chlorophyll and draw nutrients from soil fungi. Flowers can range from just a few millimetres, such as the White Adder’s Mouth to the much larger Showy Lady’s Slipper.

close up of many small white flowers
Eastern Prairie Fringed Orchid

The Eastern Prairie Fringed Orchid is endangered in Ontario. It is found along shallow cobble limestone shoreline in Bruce Peninsula National Park. Our scientists are monitoring this species regularly. During the last decade of monitoring we have observed between 50 to over 1000 Eastern Prairie Fringed Orchids (Plantathera leucophaea) in flower each year in the park.

Orchids aren't the only unusual plants on the Bruce. It is also home to about half the world's Dwarf Lake Iris (Iris lacustris), and most of Canada's remaining Tuberous Indian Plantain (Arnoglossum plantagineum). The peninsula supports more than 20 kinds of ferns, including the rare Purple-stem Cliffbreak (Pellaea atropurpurea) which Parks Canada monitors to help understand the status of globally rare alvar ecosystems.

Petite fleur mauve et blanche
Calypso bulbeux

Les orchidées sont incroyablement diversifiées. On les trouve partout sur la terre ferme, à l’exception des glaciers. Il y en a environ 28 000 espèces sur terre. C’est presque le double du nombre d’espèces d’oiseaux et quatre fois celui des mammifères. La péninsule Bruce compte plus de 40 espèces d’orchidées, dont 34 espèces ont été trouvées dans le parc national de la Péninsule-Bruce et le parc marin national Fathom Five.

Les orchidées sont très sensibles à leur environnement, ce qui les rend particulièrement vulnérables aux changements climatiques. Les changements dans les régimes des précipitations, les températures moyennes et la saison de croissance signifient qu’il sera plus difficile pour certaines orchidées de survivre dans le parc national de la Péninsule-Bruce et le parc marin national Fathom Five. Les autres menaces comprennent les espèces envahissantes et l’exploitation humaine.

Les orchidées sont habituellement très spécialisées et nécessitent des conditions de croissance précises. Il est presque impossible de les transplanter.

Attention

Il est illégal de cueillir des plantes ou une partie d’une plante dans un parc national. Les contrevenants seront poursuivis, et les amendes dans le parc national de la Péninsule-Bruce et le parc marin national Fathom Five peuvent atteindre 25 000 $.

Gros plan d'une fleur rose
Pogonie langue-de-serpent

Les orchidées du parc national de la Péninsule-Bruce et du parc marin national Fathom Five se trouvent dans tous les écosystèmes terrestres. La diversité et la concentration des espèces d’orchidées ici sont supérieures à celles de tout autre endroit en Ontario. C’est un point névralgique écologique pour les orchidées en Amérique du Nord.

Certaines orchidées, comme le calypso bulbeux (Calypso bulbosa) n’ont qu’une seule fleur par plante. D’autres, comme la corallorhize striée (Corallorhiza striata), en ont beaucoup. Les orchidées ont des fleurs symétriques avec des pétales hautement modifiés. Les fleurs peuvent provenir du sommet de la tige, comme c’est le cas pour la pogonie langue-de-serpent (Pogonia ophioglossoides), ou de la zone où les feuilles rencontrent la tige, comme pour la platanthère hyperboréale (Plantanthera hyperborea). Les orchidées comme la corallorhize maculée manquent même de chlorophylle et puisent des nutriments dans les champignons du sol. Les fleurs peuvent mesurer quelques millimètres seulement, comme la malaxis monophylle, ou être très grandes comme le cypripède royal.

gros plan de nombreuses petites fleurs blanches
Habénaire blanchâtre

L’habénaire blanchâtre est menacée en Ontario. On la trouve le long des rives peu profondes de galets de calcaire dans le parc national de la Péninsule-Bruce. Nos scientifiques surveillent régulièrement cette espèce. Au cours de la dernière décennie de surveillance, nous avons observé entre 50 et plus de 1 000 habénaires blanchâtres (Plantathera leucophaea) en fleurs chaque année dans le parc.

Les orchidées ne sont pas les seules plantes inhabituelles sur la péninsule Bruce. Celle-ci abrite également environ la moitié des iris lacustres (Iris lacustris) du monde et la plus grande partie de l’arnoglosse plantain (Arnoglossum plantagineum) restant du Canada. La péninsule abrite plus de 20 types de fougères, dont la rare pelléade à stipe pourpre (Pellaea atropurpurea) que Parcs Canada surveille pour mieux comprendre l’état des rares écosystèmes d’alvar à l’échelle mondiale.