Alvar plants

Alvars provide unique habitat for a surprisingly wide range of plant species. Although they often appear barren and rocky, alvars are home to hundreds of plant species. In Ontario, many of these plants are only found on the alvars of Bruce Peninsula National Park and Fathom Five National Marine Park.

Hill's Thistle, close up of a purple flower
Hill's Thistle 

Some alvars on the Bruce Peninsula are home to arctic alpine plant species such as wild-chives, red anemone and alpine bluegrass. Other alvars have plants more typical of a grassland environment, such as prairie smoke, Indian paintbrush and False pennyroyal.

Diversity of plants changes from alvar to alvar. The highest diversity of plant life occurs at a cluster of alvars in the Cape Hurd/Baptist Harbour area. There are at least 160 plants in ten alvar communities in that area. At least thirteen of these species are globally or provincially rare.

Alvars provide important habitat for several species at risk including:

  • Hill’s Thistle
  • Dwarf Lake Iris
  • Lakeside Daisy
Lakeside Daisy, yellow flower growing in the rock
Lakeside Daisy 

In addition, many of the 38 different species of orchids in Bruce Peninsula National Park and Fathom Five National Marine Park can be found in the alvar ecosystems.

There are at least 376 species of vascular plants, 62 types of algae, 58 kinds of moss, and 52 species of lichen found on alvars here. They also support ancient cedars.

Plantes alvars

Les alvars fournissent un habitat unique à une gamme étonnamment vaste d’espèces végétales. Bien qu’ils semblent souvent stériles et rocheux, les alvars abritent des centaines d’espèces végétales. En Ontario, bon nombre de ces plantes ne se trouvent que dans les alvars du parc national de la Péninsule-Bruce et du parc marin national Fathom Five.

Le chardon de Hill, gros plan d'une fleur pourpre
Le chardon de Hill

Certains alvars de la péninsule Bruce abritent des espèces de plantes arctiques alpines comme la ciboulette, l’anémone rouge et le pâturin alpin. D’autres alvars présentent des plantes plus typiques d’un milieu de prairie, comme la benoîte à trois fleurs, la castilléjie et l’isanthe court.

La diversité des plantes varie d’un alvar à l’autre. La plus grande diversité végétale se trouve dans un groupe d’alvars de la région du cap Hurd et du havre Baptist. On dénombre au moins 160 plantes dans dix communautés de type alvar dans cette région. Au moins 13 de ces espèces sont rares à l’échelle mondiale ou provinciale.

Les alvars fournissent un habitat important à plusieurs espèces en péril, notamment :

  • le chardon de Hill
  • l’iris lacustre
  • l’hyménoxys herbacé
L’hyménoxys herbacé, fleur jaune poussant dans la roche
L’hyménoxys herbacé

De plus, bon nombre des 38 espèces différentes d’orchidées du parc national de la Péninsule-Bruce et du parc marin national Fathom Five se trouvent dans des écosystèmes d’alvar.

On y trouve au moins 376 espèces de plantes vasculaires, 62 types d’algues, 58 types de mousses et 52 espèces de lichens. Ils soutiennent aussi les thuyas anciens.