An iconic landscape with rugged shoreline and clear blue water, the Bruce Peninsula National Park is popular with nature lovers and sightseers alike. Behind this striking scenery, nature creates a mosaic of habitats from the key elements – dolomite (limestone) bedrock, lakes, and mixed-wooded forests. The park is the core protected area of the UNESCO Niagara Escarpment World Biosphere Reserve. The escarpment is an ancient tree lined ridge of limestone that stretches from Niagara Falls across Southern Ontario to the Bruce Peninsula and separates Georgian Bay from Lake Huron.  

Biodiversity is the Bruce’s natural claim to fame, with a unique diversity of species that include species at risk. Here the last unbroken stand of forest in the densely-populated Southern Ontario region can be found. This large block of wilderness is important to species such as the Black Bear, Red-shouldered Hawk, and Northern Flying Squirrel.  

Globally rare Alvar ecosystems are also found here. These flat rocky areas with thin soils have plants adapted to grow under extreme conditions. Streams, ponds, marshes and fens (wet meadows) are important ecosystems for birds, insects, amphibians and reptiles such as turtles. 

Environment

As part of the Great Lakes and St. Lawrence Lowlands, the moderate, four season climate influenced by the Great Lakes and variety of habitats found here contributes to diverse ecosystems and biodiversity in Bruce Peninsula National Park. Lakes, rocky shoreline, cliffs, caves, dunes, marshes, and forest – all are found at the Bruce Peninsula. 

About the park environment
Conservation

Special places require careful stewardship and monitoring. Bruce Peninsula National Park was established in 1987 to protect this unique area. It is also a part of the UNESCO Niagara Escarpment World Biosphere Reserve. The park contains the longest stretch of undeveloped Niagara Escarpment and Lake Huron shoreline, protected for future generations. 

Conservation projects

About conservation and restoration
Animals

The diverse array of ecosystems in Bruce Peninsula National Park are home to a wide variety of fascinating creatures. The big mixed forests are habitats for species such as Black Bears , Red-shouldered Hawks, Ovenbird, Fishers, Yellow-spotted Salamanders, Barred Owls, and Northern Flying Squirrels. In the park's wetlands and lakes, fish such as Yellow perch, thrive, insects buzz about and amphibians such as salamanders and reptiles, including the at risk Common Snapping Turtle, call the marshy lowlands home. Commonly seen wildlife species in the park include Red Squirrel, Eastern Chipmunk, Raccoon, Porcupine, Green Frog, Leopard Frog, Painted Turtle and Common Garter Snake.

About park fauna
Plants

The park is abundant with different types of trees, plants and tiny organisms. From twisted old-growth cedars clinging to the cliff face, to a stunning variety of wildflowers and countless species of algae, mosses and lichen.  The dominant tree species in park forests are softwoods such as Eastern White Cedar; however, it is a mixed forest that also includes maples and pine. The park is best known for its unique wildflowers, especially orchids. There are 34 orchid species in the park, which is 2/3 of all orchid species found in Ontario. The variety of habitats and moderate climate are ideal for many species to flourish here! 

About park flora

Le parc national de la Péninsule-Bruce, un paysage emblématique aux rives escarpées et aux eaux claires et bleues, est populaire auprès des amoureux de la nature et des touristes. Derrière ce paysage saisissant, la nature crée une mosaïque d’habitats à partir des éléments clés : le substrat rocheux de la dolomite (calcaire), les lacs et les forêts mixtes. Le parc constitue l’aire centrale de la réserve mondiale de la biosphère de l’escarpement du Niagara, désignée par l’UNESCO. L’escarpement est une ancienne crête de calcaire bordée d’arbres qui s’étend des chutes Niagara à l’ensemble du sud de l’Ontario jusqu’à la péninsule Bruce, et sépare la baie Georgienne du lac Huron.

La biodiversité fait la réputation de la péninsule Bruce, avec une diversité unique d’espèces qui comprennent des espèces en péril. On y trouve le dernier peuplement forestier ininterrompu de la région densément peuplée du sud de l’Ontario. Ce grand bloc de nature sauvage est important pour des espèces comme l’ours noir, la buse à épaulettes et le grand polatouche.

On y trouve également des écosystèmes d’alvar plutôt rares à l’échelle mondiale. Ces zones rocheuses plates avec des sols minces présentent des plantes adaptées à la croissance dans des conditions extrêmes. Les cours d’eau, les étangs, les marais et les tourbières (prairies humides) sont des écosystèmes importants pour les oiseaux, les insectes, les amphibiens et les reptiles comme les tortues.

Environnement

Dans les basses-terres des Grands Lacs et du Saint-Laurent, les quatre saisons et le climat tempéré influencé par les Grands Lacs ainsi que la variété d’habitats qui s’y trouvent contribuent à la diversité des écosystèmes et à la biodiversité du parc national de la Péninsule-Bruce. Lacs, rivages rocheux, falaises, grottes, dunes, marais et forêts, tous ces éléments sont présents dans la péninsule Bruce.

Conservation

Les lieux exceptionnels exigent une intendance et une surveillance minutieuses. Le parc national de la Péninsule-Bruce a été créé en 1987 pour protéger cette région unique. Il fait également partie de la réserve mondiale de la biosphère de l’escarpement du Niagara, désignée par l’UNESCO. Le parc abrite le plus long tronçon de rivage non aménagé de l’escarpement du Niagara et du lac Huron, protégé pour les générations futures.

Projets

La faune

Les écosystèmes diversifiés du parc national de la Péninsule-Bruce abritent une grande variété de créatures fascinantes. Les grandes forêts mixtes sont des habitats pour des espèces telles que l’ours noir, la buse à épaulettes, la paruline couronnée, le pékan, la salamandre maculée, la chouette rayée et le grand polatouche. Dans les milieux humides et les lacs du parc, les poissons comme la perchaude prospèrent, les insectes bourdonnent et les amphibiens comme les salamandres et les reptiles, y compris la tortue serpentine en péril, ont élu domicile dans les basses terres marécageuses. Les espèces sauvages les plus fréquemment observées dans le parc comprennent l’écureuil roux, le tamia rayé, le raton laveur, le porc-épic, la grenouille verte, la grenouille léopard, la tortue peinte et la couleuvre rayée.

Plantes

Le parc regorge de différents types d’arbres, de plantes et de minuscules organismes : de vieux thuyas tordus accrochés à la falaise, une étonnante variété de fleurs sauvages et d’innombrables espèces d’algues, de mousses et de lichens, entre autres. Les essences d’arbres dominantes dans les forêts du parc sont des résineux comme le thuya occidental; cependant, il s’agit d’une forêt mixte qui comprend aussi des érables et des pins. Le parc est surtout connu pour ses fleurs sauvages uniques, en particulier les orchidées. On dénombre 34 espèces d’orchidées dans le parc, soit les deux tiers de toutes les espèces d’orchidées présentes en Ontario. La variété des habitats et le climat tempéré sont idéaux pour que de nombreuses espèces s’épanouissent ici!