Hiking to see the Georgian Bay shoreline and the Grotto sea cave is a highlight for many visitors to the area. Here are some tips to be prepared to get the most of your visit to Bruce Peninsula National Park.

A hike to the Grotto and Georgian Bay shoreline begins at the P1 parking lot located in the Cyprus Lake area. The Georgian Bay Trail is the most direct route to the shoreline and is approximately 30 minutes. The beginning of the trail is rated Easy with a wide crushed gravel surface and few hills, however the shoreline of Georgian Bay is very rocky and can be challenging for children, elderly and those with mobility issues. It is necessary to pay attention to your footing and to keep children well supervised. The portion of the Bruce Trail leading to the Grotto does require some climbing over slippery rocks and tree roots. 

You can choose to return using the Georgian Bay Trail or an alternate route using Marr Lake Trail or Horse Lake Trail. The entry points to these two trails are located a short distance, in either direction along the Bruce Trail, from the Grotto. Using these trails to return will allow you to experience a more natural and challenging hiking experience and you should allow up to an hour, depending on your pace, to return to your vehicle. Reservable time slot parking is in effect at P1. Be sure to check distances, times and trail names using the Visitor Guide while enjoying your hike. 

Location highlights

  • Indian Head Cove
    • Flat limestone rocks and a small white boulder beach surround the tropical looking but cold blue waters.
    • A great place to dip your feet in the cool waters of Georgian Bay and enjoy a snack.
  • Natural Arch
    • Left of Indian Head Cove as you look toward the water along the shoreline.
    • The blue waters of Georgian Bay can be seen through this hole in the rock on the way to the Grotto.
    • Don’t be confused – continue along the Bruce Trail to find The Grotto.
  • The Grotto
    • Once you arrive at the shoreline, keep left and follow the white blazes of the Bruce Trail leading towards the Grotto.
    • The Grotto is a large sea cave containing a pool of water. An underwater tunnel extends from the pool inside the cave through the cliff to Georgian Bay. This often makes it appear as though the pool is glowing on sunny days.  
    • There are two options to descend into the Grotto:
      • The chimney is a small rocky tunnel that allows you to cork screw your way down to the Grotto opening. Those with mobility issues and children should use extreme caution. Take your time and maintain 3 points of contact while descending.  Be aware of others coming up.
      • The other option is to climb down the 12 meter (40 ft) open cliff face. Know your limits. Once again, those with mobility issues and children should use extreme caution and know their limits. The cliff face includes a series of shelves and rocks that you can climb down. Typically, this route results in wet feet.
      • Either option is suitable for exiting and climbing back out.
Map of Cyprus Lake Campground and trails to Grotto

Facilities

  • Washroom facilities are located at the Head of Trails, Indian Head Cove and the Grotto. Please do not use the surrounding forest as a toilet.
  • Pack out what you pack in, there is no garbage collection along the trails. The last garbage can is located in the Head of Trails.   
  • The Head of Trails parking lot has a reservable timed parking system

Quick Tips:

  • Consumption of alcohol is not allowed.
  • No fires are permitted at the shoreline
  • Make sure you are prepared for hiking in the wilderness of a national park
  • Cliff jumping is dangerous and has resulted in serious injury and loss of life.  This location is remote and rescues require additional time and resources.
  • This shoreline portion of the Bruce Trail is rated as Difficult. Please wear proper footwear and take your time. The shoreline trail is not recommended for inexperienced hikers or those with mobility issues.
  • All barbecues are prohibited along the shoreline and trails.
  • This area is very popular and may seem crowded. Walking 5-10 minutes in either direction from Indian Head cove will bring you to more tranquil and private locations.  
  • The water at Indian Head Cove and the Grotto is very cold and wave conditions are often rough. Even when waves look swimmable, undertows and currents can present drowning hazards. Learn more about water safety.

Pour de nombreux visiteurs de la région, une randonnée sur la rive de la baie Georgienne et à la Grotto est un incontournable. Voici quelques conseils pour bien vous préparer et profiter au maximum de votre visite au parc national de la Péninsule-Bruce.

La randonnée vers la Grotto et la rive de la baie Georgienne commence au stationnement P1, situé dans le secteur du lac Cyprus. Le sentier de la baie Georgienne est la voie la plus directe pour se rendre au rivage; il faut prévoir environ 30 minutes. Si le début du sentier, large et recouvert de gravier concassé avec quelques collines, est considéré comme facile, la rive de la baie Georgienne est très rocailleuse et la randonnée peut y être difficile pour les enfants, les personnes âgées et les personnes à mobilité réduite. Faites attention où vous posez le pied et surveillez bien les enfants. La section du sentier Bruce qui mène à la Grotto oblige à enjamber des roches et des racines parfois glissantes.  

Vous pouvez revenir à votre véhicule par le sentier de la baie Georgienne ou un autre sentier, comme ceux du lac Marr et du lac Horse. Les points d’accès de ces deux sentiers sont situés à une courte distance de la Grotto, de part et d’autre du sentier Bruce. Ces sentiers offrent une expérience de randonnée stimulante dans un milieu naturel. Selon votre rythme, il vous faudra jusqu’à une heure pour revenir à votre véhicule. Possibilité de réserver un stationnement par plages horaires est en vigueur au stationnement P1. Tout en profitant de la randonnée, surveillez les distances, l’heure et les noms des sentiers en utilisant votre Guide du visiteur. 

Points d’intérêt

  • Anse Indian Head 
    • Une plage de roches calcaires plates et de petits rochers blancs entoure les eaux bleues et froides aux allures tropicales.
    • L’endroit parfait pour un bain de pieds dans les eaux fraîches de la baie Georgienne tout en prenant une collation.
  • Arche naturelle
    • À gauche de l’anse Indian Head en regardant vers la côte.
    • Ne vous égarez pas! Pour atteindre la Grotto, restez sur le sentier Bruce.
  • La Grotto
    • Une fois sur la rive, gardez la gauche et suivez les marques blanches sur les arbres et les rochers vers la Grotto.
    • La Grotto est une grande caverne côtière contenant un bassin d’eau. Un tunnel submergé passe du bassin à la baie Georgienne en traversant la falaise. Ce tunnel donne souvent l’impression que le bassin s’embrase lors des journées ensoleillées. 
    • Pour accéder à la Grotto, deux possibilités s’offrent à vous :
      • La cheminée est un trou dans le roc qui vous permet de descendre en spirale jusqu’à l’entrée de la Grotto. Les personnes à mobilité réduite et les enfants doivent être très prudents. Il importe de prendre son temps et de toujours maintenir trois points de contact pendant la descente. Il faut aussi faire attention aux visiteurs qui remontent.
      • Vous pouvez, si vous le préférez, faire une descente de 12 m (40 pieds) le long de la falaise pour atteindre la Grotto. Assurez-vous de connaître vos limites. Une fois de plus, les personnes à mobilité réduite et les enfants doivent être très prudents et être réalistes quant à leurs capacités. La falaise est ponctuée de plateformes et de roches permettant la descente. Ceux qui empruntent ce passage reviennent habituellement les pieds mouillés.
      • Ces deux possibilités permettent de ressortir et de remonter hors de la Grotto.
Carte de sentiers du lac Cyprus à la Grotte (Péninsule-Bruce)

Installations

  • Vous trouverez des toilettes à la tête des sentiers, à l’anse Indian Head et à la Grotto. Évitez d’utiliser la forêt environnante comme toilette.
  • Rapportez vos déchets : il n’existe aucun service de collecte des ordures le long des sentiers. La dernière poubelle disponible sur le sentier se trouve près de la tête des sentiers.   
  • Le stationnement à la tête des sentiers fonctionne selon un possibilité de réserver un stationnement par plages horaires

Conseils pratiques

  • La consommation d’alcool n’est pas autorisée.
  • Les feux de camp sont autorisés sur le rivage.
  • Assurez-vous d’être préparé pour la randonnée en milieu sauvage dans un parc national
  • Le saut du haut des falaises est dangereux et s’est déjà soldé par des blessures graves et des pertes de vie. Cet endroit est un lieu éloigné où les interventions de sauvetage nécessitent du temps et des ressources supplémentaires.
  • La section côtière du sentier Bruce est considérée comme difficile. Portez des chaussures appropriées et prendre votre temps. Il est déconseillé aux randonneurs peu expérimentés et aux personnes à mobilité réduite d’emprunter le sentier du littoral.
  • Les barbecues sont interdits sur la rive et dans les sentiers.
  • Ce secteur est très fréquenté et peut sembler surpeuplé. Si vous vous éloignez de l’anse Indian Head en marchant 5 à 10 minutes dans une direction ou l’autre, vous trouverez des lieux plus calmes et discrets.  
  • L’eau de l’anse Indian Head et de la Grotto est très froide et les vagues sont souvent violentes. Même si les vagues peuvent sembler propices à la natation, des courants de fonds localisés peuvent poser des risques de noyade. Familiarisez-vous avec les normes de sécurité aquatique.