School visits to Bruce Peninsula and Fathom Five

Educamp Interpretative Programs

Parks Canada welcomes you to Bruce Peninsula National Park and Fathom Five National Marine Park – perfect places to book your next school trip. Learn about the amazing geology of the area, the incredible plants and animals, the different forests, cliffs, alvars, shipwrecks, lighthouses and history. 

Contact Information

Lenore Keeshig
Interpretation Coordinator

Email: Lenore.Keeshig@pc.gc.ca
Telephone: 519-596-2233 ext. 240
Facsimile: 519-596-2298

Reservations

As visitation levels are expected to increase during 2017, we encourage all groups, whether planning a self-guided visit or taking part in a heritage presentation program, to reserve ahead of time to secure your space, as well as avoid congestion and potential delays. Capacity at some locations is limited and a reservation will ensure a smooth and pleasant experience.

Maximum number of people that can be accommodated
  • Group camping sites at Cyprus Lake Campground can accommodate groups 10 to 40 (depending on site).
  • The ratio for guided-hikes (in both Parks) is 24 persons per guide to a maximum of 3 guides.
  • The Parks Canada Visitor Centre can accommodate groups of 10 to 111 for theatre viewing, and larger groups for touring the gallery exhibits.
List of interpretative activities available to school groups
  1. Escarpment Explorer Hike (from Cyprus Lake Campground)
    Recommended for grades 9 and up.
    A 2½ to 3-hour hike along the Georgian Bay shoreline, with strategic stops to learn about the natural and cultural history of the local area, specifically, and the Niagara Escarpment and the Great Lakes in general.
    One (1) guide per 24 students, up to a maximum of 3 guides.
    Cost $ 73.60/hour.

  2. Full Fathom Five Hike (on Flowerpot Island)
    Recommended for grades 9 and up.
    A 2½ to 3-hour hike on Flowerpot Island, shoreline and inland trails with strategic stops to learn about the natural and cultural history of the Fathom Five islands, specifically, and the Great Lakes and Niagara Escarpment in general.
    One (1) guide per 24 students, up to a maximum of 3 guides.
    Cost $ 73.60/hour. (Weather dependent. Group must arrange own transportation to
    Flowerpot Island.)

  3. Singing Sands Hike (at Dorcas Bay)
    Recommended for grades 9 and up.
    A 2½-hour hike in and around Singing Sands shoreline and inland trails with strategic stops to learn about the natural and cultural history of the area, and specific seasonal topics (wild flowers, snakes, the species at risk, specifically the Eastern Massasauga rattlesnake).
    One (1) guide per 24 students, up to a maximum of 3 guides.
    Cost $ 73.60/hour.

  4. Medicine Walk (South Cameron Lake Road)
    Recommended for grade 9 and up.
    A 2½ to 3-hour hike through the forests of South Cameron Lake, with strategic stops to learn about the natural and cultural history of the area, through a First Nations perspective, with an emphasis on the Aboriginal uses of plants for food, medicine, utilitarian and ceremonial purposes.
    One (1) guide per 24 students.
    Cost $ 73.60/hour.

  5. Parks Canada Visitor Centre
    Suitable for all grade levels.
    Watch “Life on the Edge,” a 15-minute film featuring the very special places in both Parks. Then enjoy the fun-loving and provocative exhibit gallery, climb the 20-metre high viewing tower, and hike out to the Little Dunks Bay shoreline. We area also just a 10-minute walk to downtown Tobermory. No entry fee for students, teachers and accompanying adults.

  6. Orienteering Activities
    1. Visitor Centre Score O (VC Score O) is a map-reading group activity. It involves using a map to find the twenty coloured control discs that are located around the Visitor Centre Trail. The colour of the control discs makes finding it a challenge. Each control has a point value. The object of this activity is to gain the most points by locating the controls and answering the corresponding quiz questions correctly. This activity can be made more challenging by having a number of teams compete and/or setting a time limit. This activity can be with or without a Park interpreter).
    2. Basic Compass is an activity to introduce visitors compass use. This involves learning the different parts of a compass, and how to set a bearing and follow it. The object of this activity is to use a compass and landmarks to find ten (10) orange and white control discs set out along a trail. This activity can be with or without a Park interpreter.

  7. Custom Programs
    Custom Programs can be developed on specific topics and grade levels. Cost is $49 per hour, including development. Cost is $49 per hour, including development. Example: First Nations theme activities – Storytelling, Anishnaabe Arts. Other. Please inquire as to availability.

  8. Self-Guided Activities
    1. Self-guide tours through the Parks Canada Visitor Centre – exhibit gallery, theatre and viewing tower; a selection of scavenger hunts (Who am I?—Senior elementary; Animal Tracks—Junior elementary; Find the pictures in the gallery—Primary, Elementary) in an around the Visitor Centre.
    2. Visitor Centre Score-O or VC Score-O – This activity can also be self-guide (without a Park interpreter). See 6a Orienteering Activities for a description.
    3. Basic Compass – this Activity can also be self-guided (without a Park interpreter). See number 6b Orienteering Activities for description. Compasses can be rented from the Visitor Centre. Rental fee $5.
Certificate of Insurance (listing School Boards as additional insured)

As part of the federal government, Parks Canada does not carry third-party liability insurance, but is selfinsured.
Any documentation such as consent forms are the responsibility of the schools.

Costs

$ 73.60 / hour Guided Hikes (2.5—3 hours).
$ 49 / hour Custom programs, includes development, preparation and delivery.
$ 2.20 / student Guided tours of the Parks Canada Visitor Centre exhibition gallery.
$ 2.20 / student Orienteering activities with a Park interpreter.

In celebration of Canada’s 150th anniversary of Canadian Confederation, entry fees and parking fees are waived for all visitors throughout 2017.

For information on commercial group tours of the Grotto.

Sorties scolaires à la péninsule-Bruce et Fathom Five

Programmes d’interpre tation de camps educatifs

Parcs Canada vous souhaite la bienvenue au Parc national de la péninsule-Bruce et au Parc marin national Fathom Five – des endroits parfaits pour votre prochaine sortie scolaire. Découvrez la fascinante géologie de la région, sa végétation et sa faune incroyables, ses différents types de forêts, ses falaises, ses alvars, ses épaves, ses phares et son histoire.

Coordonnées :

Lenore Keeshig
Coordonnatrice de l’interprétation

Courriel : Lenore.Keeshig@pc.gc.ca
Téléphone: 519-596-2233 ext. 240
Télécopieur : 519-596-2298

Réservations

Comme le nombre de visiteurs devrait augmenter, nous encourageons tous les groupes, qu’ils souhaitent faire une visite autoguidée ou participer à un programme de mise en valeur du patrimoine, à réserver bien à l’avance pour s’assurer d’avoir une place et pour éviter l’achalandage et les retards possibles. La capacité d’accueil étant limitée à certains endroits, une réservation vous permettra de vivre une expérience agréable et sans tracas.

Nombre maximum de personnes pouvant être hébergées
  • Les emplacements de camping désignés pour les groupes au terrain du Lac-Cyprus peuvent accueillir des groupes de 10 à 40 personnes (selon l’emplacement).
  • Le ratio pour les randonnées guidées (dans les deux parcs) est de 24 personnes par guide, jusqu’à concurrence de 3 guides.
  • Le centre d’accueil de Parcs Canada peut accueillir des groupes de 10 à 111 personnes pour visionner les films dans le théâtre et des groupes plus nombreux pour visiter les expositions.
Liste des activités d’interprétation offertes aux groupes scolaires.
  1. Randonnée d’exploration de l’escarpement (à partir du terrain de camping du Lac-Cyprus)
    Recommandée pour les élèves de la 9e année et plus.
    Randonnée de 2½ à 3 heures sur les rives de la baie Georgienne; arrêts stratégiques pour découvrir l’histoire naturelle et culturelle de la région en particulier, et de l’escarpement du Niagara et des Grands Lacs en général.
    Un (1) guide pour 24 élèves, jusqu’à concurrence de 3 guides.
    Coût : 73,60 $ l’heure.

  2. Randonnée de découverte du parc marin Fathom Five (sur l’île Flowerpot)
    Recommandée pour les élèves de la 9e année et plus.
    Randonnée de 2½ à 3 heures sur l’île FlowerPot, sentiers sur le rivage et dans les terres; arrêts stratégiques pour découvrir l’histoire naturelle et culturelle des îles du parc marin Fathom Five en particulier, et des Grands Lacs et de l’escarpement du Niagara en général.
    Un (1) guide pour 24 élèves, jusqu’à concurrence de 3 guides.
    Coût : 73,60 $ l’heure. (Activité tenue si les conditions météorologiques le permettent. Les groupes doivent prendre eux-mêmes les dispositions pour se rendre à l’île Flowerpot.)

  3. Randonnée à Singing Sands (à la baie Dorcas)
    Recommandée pour les élèves de la 9e année et plus.
    Randonnée de 2½ heures dans le secteur Singing Sands, sentiers près du rivage et dans les terres; arrêts stratégiques pour découvrir l’histoire naturelle et culturelle de la région et aborder des sujets saisonniers particuliers (fleurs sauvages, serpents, espèces en péril, particulièrement le massasauga).
    Un (1) guide pour 24 élèves, jusqu’à concurrence de 3 guides.
    Coût : 73,60 $ l’heure.

  4. Randonnée de découverte des plantes médicinales (South Cameron Lake Road)
    Recommandée pour les élèves de la 9e année et plus.
    Randonnée de 2½ à 3 heures dans les forêts du lac Cameron Sud; arrêts stratégiques pour découvrir l’histoire naturelle et culturelle de la région, du point de vue des Autochtones, et présenter leur utilisation traditionnelle des plantes à des fins alimentaires, médicinales, utilitaires et cérémonielles.
    Un (1) guide pour 24 élèves.
    Coût : 73,60 $ l’heure.

  5. Centre d’accueil de Parcs Canada
    Convient à tous les niveaux scolaires. Visionnez la vidéo de 15 minutes intitulée « À la limite de deux mondes » qui présente les endroits très spéciaux des deux parcs. Explorez ensuite l’amusante et émouvante galerie d’exposition, grimpez à la tour d’observation de 20 mètres, et partez en randonnée jusqu’à la rive de la baie Little Dunks. Le centre d’accueil n’est qu’à 10 minutes de marche du centre-ville de Tobermory.
    Entrée gratuite pour les élèves, les enseignants et les accompagnateurs adultes.

  6. Activités d’orientation
    1. Centre d’accueil – la course d’orientation est une activité de lecture de cartes en groupe. À l’aide d’une carte, il faut trouver vingt disques de contrôle colorés cachés près du sentier du centre d’accueil. En raison de leur couleur, les disques de contrôle peuvent être difficiles à trouver. Chaque disque équivaut à un nombre de points. Le but de l’activité est d’obtenir le plus grand nombre de points en trouvant les disques et en répondant correctement aux questions du jeu-questionnaire. Il est possible de dynamiser l’activité en créant une compétition entre les équipes ou en fixant une limite de temps pour la terminer. Cette activité peut être réalisée avec ou sans la participation d’un interprète du parc.
    2. Boussole – Notions fondamentales est une activité au cours de laquelle les visiteurs apprennent à utiliser une boussole. On y présente les différents éléments d’une boussole et comment marquer une position et s’y rendre. Le but de l’activité est d’utiliser une boussole et des repères pour trouver dix (10) disques de contrôle orange et blanc dans un sentier. Cette activité peut être réalisée avec ou sans la participation d’un interprète du parc.

  7. Programmes personnalisés
    Il est possible de concevoir des programmes personnalisés sur un sujet précis et adaptés à un niveau scolaire particulier. Coût : 49 $ l’heure, conception comprise. Exemple : Activités axées sur les Premières Nations – l’heure du conte, arts anishnaabe. Autres. Renseignez-vous sur les possibilités.

  8. Activités autoguidées
    1. Visites autoguidées dans le centre d’accueil de Parcs Canada : galerie d’exposition, théâtre et tour d’observation; diverses chasses au trésor (Qui suis-je? – 7e et 8e année; Traces d’animaux – 4e à 6e année; Trouve les images dans la galerie – maternelle à 3e année dans le centre d’accueil et à proximité.
    2. Centre d’accueil – la course d’orientation est possible de faire cette activité en autonomie (sans la participation d’un interprète du parc). Voir 6a Activités d’orientation pour lire la description.
    3. Boussole – Notions fondamentales – il est possible de faire cette activité en autonomie (sans la participation d’un interprète du parc). Voir 6b Activités d’orientation pour lire la description. Vous pouvez louer une boussole au centre d’accueil. Frais de location : 5 $.
Attestation d’assurance (conseil scolaire désigné comme assuré supplémentaire)

Comme elle fait partie du gouvernement fédéral, l’Agence Parcs Canada n’a pas d’assurance deresponsabilité civile, mais elle est auto-assurée.
Il incombe à chaque école d’obtenir tous les documents nécessaires, comme les formulaires de consentement.

Costs

73,60 $ l’heure – Randonnées guidées (2,5 à 3 heures).
49 $ l’heure – Programmes personnalisés, conception, préparation et exécution comprises.
2,20 $/élève – Visites guidées de la galerie d’exposition du centre d’accueil de Parcs Canada.
2,20 $/élève – Activités d’orientation avec la participation d’un interprète du parc.

À compter du 1er janvier 2018, l'entrée sur les sites de Parcs Canada sera gratuite pour les jeunes de 17 ans et moins! Il n'y a pas de meilleur moment pour créer des souvenirs inoubliables avec toute la famille. 

Informations sur les visites en groupe à la Grotte.