Many visitors enjoy Thousand Islands National Park by boat. In fact, the region is known around the world for spectacular boating opportunities. While boating in the Thousand Islands is generally safe, there are a number of factors of which to be aware.

Boat traffic can be very busy during the months of June-September and during weekends with seasonal island residents and tourists present. Marked channels are narrow in certain sections of the river and many boats often navigate across channels to access summer properties or anchorages. Be sure that you are aware of the rules of navigation before going on the water, lower your speed near properties and other boats, and always maintain vigilance in busy areas.

Water levels fluctuate throughout the year, but often peak in June and July and decline into the fall. Reduced water depths are present around many park docks in late summer. As water levels change, ensure you are on watch for marked and unmarked hazards, especially if you are navigating outside of navigation channels. Those in small vessels and paddlecrafts should be especially aware of wind conditions as lake breezes are a common occurrence in late summer and can create rough water.

There are many resources available to help you safely navigate a great day on the water.

For those enjoying the river by kayak please visit www.adventuresmart.ca for great safety tips.

For more information on Boating Rules and Boating Safety visit the Canada Office of Boating Safety.

For more information on water conditions and forecasts visit theEnvironment Canada Marine Forecast for the park area.

For more information on current water levels see theFisheries and Oceans Tides website.

For information on specific nautical hazards please visit the Canadian Coast Guard Notices to Mariners or Notices to Shipping websites.

Sécurité nautique et conditions maritimes

Un grand nombre de visiteurs explorent le parc national des Mille-Îles en bateau. En fait, la région est reconnue de par le monde pour ses excellentes possibilités de navigation de plaisance. Même si les eaux du parc sont généralement sécuritaires, il importe de tenir compte de plusieurs facteurs importants.

La circulation peut être très dense sur l’eau de juin à septembre, surtout pendant les fins de semaine, lorsque les résidents saisonniers des îles et les touristes sont présents. Les chenaux balisés sont étroits le long de certains tronçons du fleuve, et de nombreux bateaux les traversent pour accéder à des propriétés d’été ou à des mouillages. Prenez connaissance des règles de navigation avant de partir, ralentissez à l’approche de propriétés et d’autres bateaux et restez vigilant dans les secteurs de forte affluence.

Les niveaux d’eau fluctuent tout au long de l’année; ils atteignent souvent leur point culminant en juin et en juillet et baissent une fois l’automne venu. L’eau est peu profonde autour de nombreux quais du parc à la fin de l’été. Comme les niveaux d’eau changent, il est important de guetter les dangers signalés et non signalés, surtout si vous vous trouvez à l’extérieur des chenaux de navigation. Les occupants de petits bateaux ou d’embarcations à pagaie doivent se méfier tout particulièrement du vent; la brise de lac est un phénomène courant à la fin de l’été, et elle peut être suffisamment forte pour agiter les eaux.

Il existe de nombreuses ressources qui peuvent vous aider à vivre une expérience sécuritaire sur l’eau.

Les kayakistes en excursion sur le fleuve trouveront d’excellents conseils de sécurité au www.adventuresmart.ca/french.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur les règles de navigation et la sécurité nautique, consultez le site du Bureau de la sécurité nautique du Canada.

Pour vous renseigner sur les conditions et les prévisions météorologiques maritimes, consultez le site d’Environnement Canada pour la région du parc.

Pour connaître les niveaux d’eau actuels, consultez le site Web de Pêches et Océans Canada sur les marées.

Pour vous familiariser avec des dangers nautiques précis, consultez les Avis aux navigateursAvis à la navigation de la Garde côtière canadienne.