We rarely head out for an outdoor adventure with the expectation that something will go wrong, and most times everything will go right. However, sometimes the unexpected happens and when it does, it’s important that you are well informed and well prepared to minimise the negative impact of unfortunate circumstances.

For general information on how to stay safe when enjoying the outdoors visit www.adventuresmart.ca

For important information about staying safe while enjoying Thousand Islands National Park, please explore the topics below:

Ticks and your health

Blacklegged ticks (also known as deer ticks) are known to be present in the Thousand Islands region.

Please do not feed raccoons

Feeding raccoons may make them aggressive, problem animals and pose a risk to their health and yours.

 For your comfort and safety

  • Black legged ticks, potential carriers of Lyme disease and Human Granulocytic Anaplasmosis, are common in Eastern Ontario and Thousand Islands National Park. Please visit our Ticks and Your Health page for more information on how to protect yourself.
  • Garbage and recycling service and generator use is available on limited islands. Visitors who want a more natural park experience can enjoy generator-free islands that have a pack-in, pack-out policy. Identify these islands on our facilities and services chart.
  • The water of the St. Lawrence River and other surface water in the area may carry bacteria. Water should be filtered and then treated or boiled before drinking or bring your own drinking water. For more information regarding drinking water safety while travelling, please refer to eat and drink safely.
  • Be sure that you are well prepared and that you have all the right gear to make every outing safe and enjoyable. Visit AdventureSmart for more details.

Safety is everyone’s responsibility. At Parks Canada, we do our part to make sure you can have a safe visit by assessing the risks, managing hazards, and making sure that safety information is freely available to everyone. You can do your part as visitors by making sure you seek out the information you need to stay safe and make well informed decisions while enjoying these special places. Visit our website and stop at our visitor centre or administration office to speak with our employees for the most up to date information. Make sure you are fully prepared for whatever activities you choose to participate in so you can have a safe, enjoyable and and memorable visit.

For emergencies please contact 911

Bien que la plupart du temps les sorties en plein air se déroulent à merveille, il est essentiel de connaître les règles de sécurité et d’être bien préparé en cas de problèmes. Pour obtenir de l'information sur la façon de pratiquer vos activités en toute sécurité, consultez le https://www.adventuresmart.ca/french/

[Pour obtenir de l'information importante sur la façon de demeurer en sécurité en visitant parc national des Mille-îles, veuillez parcourir les sujets ci-dessous :

Les tiques et votre santé

La présence de tiques à pattes noires, de la bactérie responsable de la maladie de Lyme et l’agent responsable de l'anaplasmose granulocytaire chez l’être humain (AGEH), a été signalée dans la région des Mille-Îles.

Évitez de nourrir les ratons laveurs.

Nourrir les ratons laveurs peut les rendre agressifs, en faire des « animaux à problèmes » et poser un risque pour votre santé et la leur.

 Consignes à respecter pour assurer votre confort et votre sécurité

  • La tique à pattes noires, qui peut être porteuse de la bactérie responsable de la maladie de Lyme et de l'anaplasmose granulocytaire chez l’être humain, est commune dans l’Est de l’Ontario et au parc national des Mille-Îles. Veuillez consulter notre page Les tiques et votre santé pour en savoir davantage sur les façons de vous protéger.
  • La collecte des déchets et des matières recyclables est offerte sur certaines îles, et l’utilisation de génératrices n’est pas autorisée partout. Les visiteurs qui veulent vivre une expérience plus naturelle préféreront les îles sur lesquelles l’utilisation de génératrices est interdite et les îles qui ont une politique « emballez et rapportez vos déchets ». Vous pouvez déterminer quelles îles répondent à ces critères en consultant notre page des installations et services.
  • L’eau du fleuve Saint-Laurent et des autres étendues d’eau de la région peut contenir des bactéries. L’eau devrait être filtrée et traitée ou bouillie avant d’être consommée ou apportez de l’eau potable. Pour obtenir plus d’information sur la sécurité de l’eau potable en voyage, consultez mangez et buvez en toute sécurité 
  • Assurez-vous que vous êtes bien préparé pour avoir une sortie sécuritaire et agréable. Visitez AventureSmart pour plus de détails.

La sécurité est l'affaire de tous. À Parcs Canada, nous fournissons notre part d'efforts pour veiller à ce que votre visite soit sécuritaire en évaluant les risques, en gérant les dangers et en offrant une information librement accessible à tous. En tant que visiteurs, vous pouvez également contribuer à cette démarche en vous assurant d'obtenir l'information dont vous avez besoin pour demeurer en sécurité et prendre des décisions éclairées, tout en appréciant ces lieux exceptionnels. Visitez nos sites Web et arrêtez-vous à un centre d'accueil pour parler à nos employés et pour obtenir l'information la plus récente. Pour vous assurer d'une visite sécuritaire et mémorable, vous devez être bien préparé avant d'entreprendre toute activité à laquelle vous souhaitez participer.

Pour les urgences, veuillez contacter 911