Parks Canada is collaborating with Trent University to become part of their ongoing scientific study into hyper-abundant deer populations with the Ontario Ministry of Northern Development, Mines, Natural Resources and Forestry. This study will allow Parks Canada to gain valuable information on deer movement and the connectivity the park islands offer for wildlife movement across the St. Lawrence River.

Deer populations throughout the Thousand Islands region are very high, but patterns in deer movement across the region are not well understood. Through this study, the partners will develop further understanding of how deer move through this densely populated landscape including Parks Canada administered lands. Throughout the month of February 2022, researchers will be tagging around a dozen deer with ear tags and GPS tracking collars. The aim of the research at Thousand Islands National Park is to learn more about hyper-abundant deer populations, movement patterns, geographic range, and about the extent to which deer may be moving north and south between the United States and Canada.

The Thousand Islands are stepping stones that create a corridor for migration between the Adirondacks and Algonquin Park. Learning more about deer movements may also point to how other mammals are moving across this continentally significant ecological corridor. 

Parks Canada would like to encourage any member of the public who sees a deer with a tag or collar to report their sighting with us:

Email (pnmille-iles-thousandislandsnp@pc.gc.ca)

Parcs Canada collabore avec l’Université Trent dans le cadre de l’étude scientifique en cours sur les populations de cerfs hyperabondantes menée par le ministère du Développement du Nord, des Mines, des Richesses naturelles et des Forêts de l’Ontario. Cette étude permettra à Parcs Canada d’obtenir des renseignements précieux sur les déplacements des cerfs et sur le degré de connectivité que les îles du parc offrent pour les déplacements de la faune de part et d’autre du fleuve Saint-Laurent.

Les populations de cerfs dans la région des Mille-Îles sont très nombreuses, mais leurs habitudes de déplacement dans la région sont mal comprises. Cette étude permettra aux partenaires de mieux comprendre comment les cerfs se déplacent dans ce paysage densément peuplé, y compris sur les terres administrées par Parcs Canada. Tout au long du mois de février 2022, les chercheurs équiperont une douzaine de cerfs d’étiquettes d’oreille et de colliers de repérage GPS. L’objectif des recherches menées dans le parc national des Mille-Îles est d’en savoir plus sur les populations de cerfs hyperabondantes, leurs habitudes de déplacement, leur aire de répartition géographique et la mesure dans laquelle les cerfs peuvent se déplacer vers le nord et le sud entre les États-Unis et le Canada.

Les Mille-Îles servent de pierres de gué pour créer un couloir de migration entre les Adirondacks et le parc Algonquin. L’étude des déplacements des cerfs peut également permettre de comprendre comment d’autres mammifères se déplacent dans ce corridor écologique d’importance continentale. 

Parcs Canada aimerait encourager tous les membres du public qui aperçoivent un cerf muni d’une étiquette ou d’un collier à nous signaler leur observation :

Courriel (pnmille-iles-thousandislandsnp@pc.gc.ca)