This fall, Thousand Islands National Park welcomes a new Park Superintendent, John Haselmayer. 

John comes to the Thousand Islands from Bruce Peninsula National Park and Fathom Five National Marine Park, Ontario’s most visited national parks. Over the past two years, John helped to lead those parks through a dynamic time with major infrastructure improvements and significantly increasing visitation levels.
John began his career with Parks Canada thirteen years ago and has worked as a Park Interpreter, Park Ecologist, Species-at-Risk Coordinator, and Manager of Resource Conservation. Before joining Parks Canada, John spent several years as a field ornithologist working in many areas of Canada, South America, Australia and New Zealand. He was educated at McMaster University where he received a Bachelor of Arts and Science, and a Master of Science degree. In his spare time, John enjoys bird-watching, playing music, and exploring the outdoors with his wife and two children. 

Over the next few years, Thousand Islands National Park will be undergoing a management plan review process that will define a vision for the park over the next twenty years. John’s expertise with large projects to improve park infrastructure, his background in conservation, and his leadership in establishing partnerships will be put to good use as Thousand Islands National Park works to connect and engage Canadians.

John looks forward to meeting and working with the community members, stakeholders, partners and organisations that make the region a great place to visit, live and work.  

Parks staff wave from a boat

Cet automne, le parc national des Mille-Îles accueille un nouveau directeur, M. John Haselmayer. 

John nous vient du parc national de la Péninsule-Bruce et de l’aire marine nationale de conservation Fathom Five, soit les lieux de Parcs Canada les plus visités en Ontario. Au cours des deux dernières années, John a aidé ces lieux à traverser une période de grands changements marquée par des améliorations des infrastructures et une forte augmentation de la fréquentation.
John a commencé sa carrière à Parcs Canada il y a treize ans, et il a occupé les postes d’interprète, d’écologiste, de coordonnateur du Programme des espèces en péril et de gestionnaire de la conservation des ressources. Avant de grossir les rangs de Parcs Canada, John a passé plusieurs années à travailler comme ornithologue de terrain au Canada, en Amérique du Sud, en Australie et en Nouvelle-Zélande. Il est titulaire d’un baccalauréat en arts et science et d’une maîtrise en science de l’Université McMaster. Il consacre encore ses temps libres à l’ornithologie dans ses activités de plein air avec son épouse et leurs deux enfants.

Au cours des prochaines années, le parc national des Mille-Îles s’appliquera à l’examen de son plan directeur afin de définir une vision pour le parc pour les vingt prochaines années. Dans les efforts du parc national des Mille-Îles pour se rapprocher des Canadiens et les mobiliser, nous mettrons à profit l’expertise de John dans les grands projets d’amélioration des infrastructures, ainsi que son expérience de la conservation et son leadership dans l’établissement de partenariats.

John est impatient de rencontrer les membres de la communauté, les intervenants, les partenaires et les organisations, et de travailler avec eux pour continuer de faire des Mille Îles une magnifique région à visiter, où il fait bon vivre et travailler.  
 

Le personnel des parcs fait signe à un bateau