We Want to Hear From You!

Survey open

It's time to hear from you. Our online survey is now open for you to share your vision of the future of the park.
A group of 4 prepare kayaks for a trip

Parks Canada is reviewing the management plan for Thousand Islands National Park and we would like to hear your views, opinions and suggestions on the future of this treasured place. The management plan is a strategic guide for future management of a national park. It is required by legislation, guided by public consultation, approved by the Minister responsible for Parks Canada, and tabled in Parliament. It is the primary public accountability document for each national park.

As a strategic and long-term guide, a management plan establishes a vision looking 10 or more years into the future. Its primary goal is to ensure that there is a clearly defined direction for the maintenance or restoration of ecological integrity and is intended to guide appropriate use. Direction is also described for visitor experience programs, which are recognized as a fundamental means for achieving both protection and use objectives.

Key dates

January 9th, 2020 - Online survey opens

Completing the survey will take approximately 10 minutes, depending on your level of interest and engagement. Input gathered during this phase of public consultations will be carefully considered as we work towards the final version of the management plan.

February 14th, 2020 - Online survey closes

Thank you for participating in the survey. Results of the public consultations, including this online survey, will soon be summarized and available on this website. 

Get involved on social media

Twitter Facebook Instagram

Current stage

75%

Management plan preparation: 
Indigenous and public engagement

Management planning cycle

Management plan cycle explained, see text below for further explanation.
Stages of management planning
  1. Management plan implementation, monitoring and evaluation
  2. State of site assessment
  3. Scoping issues and vision elements
  4. Management plan preparation
    *Indigenous and public engagement
  5. Management plan approval

Nous voulons connaître votre avis!

Répondez au sondage 

Votre opinion compte. Le sondage en ligne est l’occasion d’exprimer vos idées et vos réflexions sur la gestion du parc.  
Un groupe de 4 prépare des kayaks pour un voyage

Parcs Canada examine le plan directeur du parc national des Mille-Îles et souhaiterait connaître votre point de vue, votre opinion et vos suggestions sur l’avenir de cet endroit précieux. Le plan directeur est un document stratégique qui oriente la gestion future d’un parc national. Ce document est exigé par la loi, guidé par des consultations publiques, approuvé par le ministre responsable de Parcs Canada et déposé devant le Parlement. Il s’agit du principal outil de reddition de comptes de chaque parc national.

En tant qu’outil stratégique à long terme, le plan directeur expose la vision adoptée pour l’avenir, sur un horizon d’au moins 10 ans. Il vise d’abord et avant tout à définir clairement l’orientation à suivre pour préserver ou rétablir l’intégrité écologique; il guide également l’utilisation appropriée du parc. Le plan directeur renferme aussi des directives pour les programmes d’expérience du visiteur, qui sont considérés comme un moyen fondamental d’atteindre les objectifs de protection et de fréquentation.

Dates importantes

9 janvier, 2020 - Début du sondage en ligne

Selon votre niveau d’intérêt et votre motivation, il vous faudra environ 10 minutes pour répondre au sondage. Les commentaires recueillis au cours de la présente étape de la consultation publique seront soigneusement pris en compte dans la préparation de la version définitive du plan directeur.

14 février, 2020 - Fin du sondage en ligne 

Merci d’avoir participé au sondage. Un document synthèse résumant la rétroaction reçue lors des consultations publiques, incluant le sondage en ligne, sera disponible sous peu.

Exprimez-vous dans les médias sociaux.

Twitter Facebook Instagram

Étape actuelle

75%

Préparation du plan directeur:
Consultation des Autochtones et du public

Cycle de planification de la gestion

Explication du cycle du plan directeur; voir le texte ci-dessous pour en savoir davantage.
Étapes de la planification de la gestion
  1. Mise en œuvre, surveillance et évaluation du plan directeur
  2. Évaluation de l’état du lieu
  3. Exercise de définition de la portée des enjeux et éléments de la vision
  4. Préparation du plan directeur
    *Consultation des Autochtones et du public
  5. Approbation du plan de gestion