In 2004, we celebrated the 100th birthday of Thousand Islands National Park. The establishment of the park in 1904 was the culmination of decades of community pressure to have some of the 1000 Islands set aside for use by the public. The park originated in a gift to the Government of Canada by a local family, the Mallorys, of a small piece of waterfront property now known as Mallorytown Landing. When the government added to this property nine federally-owned islands in the St. Lawrence River, stretching from Brockville to Gananoque, the park was born.

Thousand Islands National Park was created primarily as a place for recreation. For over seventy years visitors enjoyed the beauty of the islands, picnicking, camping and boating. Facilities were provided to encourage these activities: sheltered picnic pavilions ( three of the original pavilions, built in 1904, survive) , picnic tables, campsites and wells as well as a steadily growing number of docks on the islands. In addition, the park itself was enlarged with the acquisition of Cedar, Milton and Mulcaster Islands, and of more properties on Grenadier Island and Hill Island.

The shift from recreation to protection came in the 1980s. In those years there arose an awareness that the Thousand Islands was a unique ecosystem that had to be managed in a new way to ensure the well-being of the habitat that the islands provided for the plants and animals native to the area. The challenge became to preserve and protect the fragile resources of the park while, at the same time, providing an opportunity for people to enjoy and to learn about one of the most beautiful parts of Canada.

The challenge is ongoing.

En 2004, nous avons célébré le centième anniversaire du parc national des Mille-Îles. La fondation du parc en 1904 fut l'aboutissement de dizaines d'années de pressions communautaires en vue d'ouvrir au public l'accès à quelques-unes des îles de la région. L'idée de création du parc s'est mise à germer lorsqu'une famille locale, les Mallory, offrit au gouvernement du Canada une portion de terrain de sa propriété riveraine, aujourd'hui connue sous le nom de Mallorytown Landing. Le parc a vu le jour lorsque le gouvernement a ajouté à cette propriété neuf îles de la Couronne situées dans le fleuve Saint-Laurent, entre Brockville et Gananoque.

Le parc national des Mille-Îles fut conçu à l'origine comme un lieu destiné aux activités récréatives. Soixante-dix ans durant, il a accueilli des visiteurs venus découvrir les beautés du paysage des îles et pique-niquer, camper et naviguer de l'une à l'autre de ces petites terres émergées. Pour encourager ces activités, les îles furent aménagées de pavillons de pique-nique (trois des pavillons construits en 1904 subsistent toujours), de tables de pique-nique, d'emplacements de camping, de puits d'eau potable et d'un nombre toujours croissant de pontons d'accostage. L'étendue du parc se trouva elle-même agrandie par l'acquisition des îles Cedar, Milton et Mulcaster et d'autres propriétés sur l'île Grenadier et l'île Hill.

Le virage en faveur de la transformation de ces sites auparavant exploités pour des activités de loisir en zones protégées s'est amorcé dans le courant des années 1980. Nous avons alors graduellement pris conscience du fait que les Mille-Îles abritaient un écosystème unique qu'il fallait gérer autrement pour préserver les qualités de l'habitat qu'elles offrient à la faune et à la flore de la région. Notre défi devint ainsi de préserver et protéger les ressources fragiles du parc tout en permettant au public d'en apprécier les richesses et de découvrir l'un des paysages les plus éclatants et séduisants du Canada.

Un défi passionnant!