We advise you to fine filter (<0.5 microns), treat (iodine or chlorine in warm water), or boil your drinking water. To prevent the spread of diseases, human waste should be disposed of in a responsible manner, at least 100 metres from water sources and 50 metres from trails. More information will be provided during your orientation.

Floe edge

Camping close to the floe edge can be dangerous. Be especially wary when prevailing winds are strong and during large tides (full or new moons) since these conditions increase the following risks:

  • Ice breaks up along the floe edge.
  • A huge pan of ice may break off from the land fast ice (it may be up to 10 kilometres or more in size) even if there is no wind or extreme tides. Bring a global positioning system (GPS) and regularly check to see if the coordinates change. If you are caught without a GPS use this method: visually align a piece of ice some distance from you to the land and periodically check to see if the land fast ice you are on is moving.
  • Watch for moving ice that is wedging and piling up into the land fast ice.
  • Polar bears travel along the floe edge in search of food. Polar bears will hunt for fresh prey or will scavenge any carcasses they find. Do not go near an old kill because polar bears, with their excellent senses of smell, will come to forage from it. Polar bears are very efficient and skilled stalkers (both on ice and in the water). Always keep watch for them.
  • Always camp in hard-side accommodations or with an experienced outfitter equipped with a polar bear fence and camp well away from the floe edge itself.


Thin ice

  • Some parts of the sea ice are prone to thinning out earlier than the rest of the ice due to strong water currents. Leads - long cracks in the sea ice - can be narrow and crossed with caution or can be too wide to traverse and must be avoided. Please talk to Parks Canada staff to identify specific locations.
  • When there is deep snow, if one area has a darker hue than the surrounding snow that usually means the ice is thin. Pass by that area, giving it a wide berth.
  • If deep snow is present and there is water on top of the snow or the snow is soaked through with water, it means that there is open water covered with snow. Do not approach this area.
  • Sea ice close to river mouths is generally thin. Stay away from those areas.
  • Bays and inlets often have strong currents during spring and are prone to thin ice and open water. Avoid travelling through bays and inlets that have narrow channels.

Nous vous recommandons de filtrer l’eau (filtre de 0,5 micromètre ou moins), de la traiter (à l’iode ou au chlore dilué dans l’eau chaude) ou de la faire bouillir. Afin d’éviter la propagation de maladies, les déchets humains doivent être éliminés de façon responsable, c’est-à-dire à au moins 100 mètres des sources d’eau et à 50 mètres des sentiers. On vous fournira davantage de renseignements à cet égard lors de l’orientation.

Zone de dislocation de la banquise

Il peut être dangereux de camper près de la zone de dislocation. Soyez particulièrement prudent lorsque les marées (nouvelle ou pleine lune) et les vents sont forts. Ces conditions augmentent les risques suivants :

  • Débâcle le long de la banquise.
  • Un énorme morceau de glace peut se détacher de la banquise (il peut mesurer 10 kilomètres ou plus), même s’il n’y a pas de vent ou de forte marée. Apportez un système de localisation GPS et vérifiez régulièrement pour voir si les coordonnées changent. Si vous êtes pris sans GPS, employez cette méthode : repérez un morceau de glace à une certaine distance sur la banquise et vérifiez périodiquement pour voir si vous bougez.
  • Surveillez la glace en mouvement qui se loge et s’accumule contre la banquise.
  • Les ours polaires se déplacent le long de la banquise en quête de nourriture. Ils chassent des proies vivantes ou se nourrissent de carcasses. Ne vous approchez pas des carcasses, car les ours polaires ont un excellent odorat et y viendront pour se nourrir. Les ours polaires sont des traqueurs très efficaces et compétents (sur la glace et dans l’eau). Soyez toujours à l’affût de leur présence.
  • Campez toujours dans des abris à paroi rigide ou avec un pourvoyeur expérimenté qui installe une clôture loin de la banquise.


Glace mince

  • Certaines parties de la glace de mer ont tendance à devenir plus minces plus tôt que les autres en raison des forts courants. Les longues fissures étroites dans la banquise peuvent être traversées en faisant très attention, les plus larges et doivent être évitées. Parlez au personnel de Parcs Canada pour identifier ces endroits.
  • En présence d’une épaisse couche de neige, une teinte plus foncée indique généralement que la glace est mince. Contournez cette zone à bonne distance.
  • Si la couche de neige est et qu’il y a de l’eau sur le dessus ou que la neige est imbibée d’eau, cela veut dire que l’eau est libre et recouverte de neige. Ne vous en approchez pas.
  • La banquise près de l’embouchure d’une rivière est généralement mince. Gardez vos distances.
  • Au printemps, les courants sont souvent forts autour des îlots et dans les baies. La glace peut donc y être mince. Évitez de vous déplacer dans les baies et les passages îlots qui ont des chenaux étroits.