Polar bears are far more abundant in Ukkusiksalik than in most other national parks in the Arctic. Several encounters are likely on any trip. Because of this extreme danger, visitors must travel in the park with a properly equipped and trained guide who is experienced in polar bear country.

We rarely head out for an outdoor adventure with the expectation that something will go wrong, and most times everything will go right. However, sometimes the unexpected happens and when it does, it's important that you are well informed and well prepared to minimize the negative impact of unfortunate circumstances.

For general information on how to stay safe and a list of the 10 essential items you should bring when enjoying the outdoors visit adventuresmart.ca.

Careful pre trip planning is essential. Please contact the Parks Canada office in Naujaat at 867-462-4500 or the Field Unit office in Iqaluit at 867-975-4673 for detailed pre trip information.

Visitor safety 

Safety is everyone's responsibility. At Parks Canada, we do our part to make sure you can have a safe visit by assessing the risks, managing hazards, and making sure that safety information is freely available to everyone. You can do your part as visitors by making sure you seek out the information you need to stay safe and make well-informed decisions while enjoying these special places. Visit our websites and stop at a visitor centre to speak with our employees for the most up to date information. Make sure you are fully prepared for whatever activities you choose to participate in so you can have a safe, enjoyable, and memorable visit.

Les ours polaires sont plus nombreux dans le parc national Ukkusiksalik que dans la plupart des autres parcs nationaux de l’Arctique. Il est probable que vous croisiez plusieurs ours pendant une randonnée. Étant donné ce danger extrême, les visiteurs du parc doivent voyager avec un guide qui est bien équipé et entraîné et qui a l’expérience du pays des ours polaires.

Nous entreprenons rarement une aventure de plein air en pensant que les chose vont mal tourner et la plupart du temps, tout se passe bien. Cependant, il arrive que des situations inattendues se produisent et les cas échéant, il est important d'être bien informé et bien prepare pour minimiser les impacts negatives lies à des circonstances malheureuses.

Pour obtenir de l'information générale sur la façon de demeurer en sécurité en pratiquant des activités à l'extérieur, consultez le site adventuresmart.ca

Il est essentiel de bien planifier votre voyage. Pour obtenir des précisions sur la planification, veuillez communiquer avec le bureau de Parcs Canada à Naujaat à 867-462-4500 ou avec le bureau de l’unité de gestion à Iqaluit à 867-975-4673.

Sécurité des visiteurs

La sécurité est l'affaire de tous. À Parcs Canada, nous fournissons notre part d'efforts pour veiller à ce que votre visite soit sécuritaire en évaluant les risques, en gérant les dangers et en offrant une information librement accessible à tous. En tant que visiteurs, vous pouvez également contribuer à cette démarche en vous Assurant d'obtenir l'information dont vous avez besoin pour demeurer en sécurité et prendre des decisions éclairées, tout en appréciant ces lieux exceptionnels. Visitez nos sites Web et arrêtez-vous à un centre d'accueil pour parler à nos employés et pour obtenir l'information la plus récente. Pour vous assurer d'une visite sécuritaire, favorable, et memorable, vous devez être bien préparé avant d'entreprendre toute activité à laquelle vous souhaitez participer.