Ukkusiksalik is a glimpse into pristine Barrenlands terrain with its abundant Arctic wildlife and birdlife. Boat along Wager Bay watching for polar bears and caribou, hike along the Sila River, see the impressive reversing waterfall and visit the remnants of a Hudson’s Bay Company trading post. Travel by boat and on foot and, in early spring, take advantage of long days to snowmobile into the park across sea ice.

The richness of Ukkusiksalik lies in its very high concentration of wildlife and its numerous cultural sites. With its mudflats, rolling hills, tundra banks and rich tidal and marine areas, Ukkusiksalik represents the central tundra natural region in the Parks Canada system. This landscape provides habitat for a diverse array of wildlife. Polar bear, caribou, muskox, wolf and fox are abundant. Golden eagle or peregrine falcon may be seen soaring overhead as they scan for siksiks (ground squirrel), lemmings and arctic hare. The marine life is richer still, so you will likely capture pictures of seal, whale, fish and polar bear in your seascape images.

Featured

  • the rugged coast of Ukkusiksalik National Park

    Boating

    Hop into a boat with a local outfitter and cruise the waters of Wager Bay, the best and safest way to sightsee the landscapes of surrounding Ukkusiksalik park, its wildlife and marine life.

  •  visitors on a snowmobile excursion in Ukkusiksalik National Park

    Snowmobiling

    Jump onto a snowmobile and ride atop frozen Wager Bay into Ukkusiksalik’s icy winter landscape, watching for seals, caribou and polar bears and experiencing the wild Arctic under the Midnight Sun.

  • a hiker near Naujaat

    Hiking

    Hike along the Sila River, see the impressive reversing waterfall and visit the remnants of a Hudson’s Bay Company trading post.

All activities

Hiking
Motorboating
Snowmobiling

Planifiez une visite à Ukkusiksalik pour avoir un aperçu des terres nues dans leur état naturel où abondent les animaux sauvages et les oiseaux de l’Arctique. Longez la baie Wager en bateau à l’affût des ours polaires et des caribous. Partez en randonnée le long de la rivière Sila et admirez les impressionnantes chutes réversibles. Visitez également les vestiges du poste de traite de la Compagnie de la Baie d’Hudson. Organisez une expédition en bateau ou à pied et, en début de printemps, profitez des longues journées pour sillonner le parc et sa glace de mer en motoneige.

La richesse d’Ukkusiksalik repose sur la très forte densité de ses animaux sauvages et de ses nombreux sites culturels. Avec ses vasières, ses collines ondulantes, ses bancs de toundra et ses riches zones tidales et marines, Ukkusiksalik représente la région naturelle de la toundra dans le réseau de Parcs Canada. Ce paysage fournit un habitat pour un éventail faunique diversifié. On y trouve une abondance d’ours polaires, de caribous, de boeufs musqués, de loups et de renards. On peut observer des aigles royaux ou un des faucons pèlerins qui planent, à la recherche de sik-siks (spermophiles arctiques), lemmings et lièvres arctiques. Le milieu marin est encore plus riche et vous pourrez probablement photographier des phoques, des baleines, des poissons et des ours polaires.

En vedette

  • la côte accidentée du Parc national Ukkusiksalik

    Nautique

    Montez à bord d’un bateau, accompagné d’un pourvoyeur local, et naviguez sur les eaux de la baie Wager. Profitez de ce mode de transport, le meilleur et le plus sûr, pour contempler les paysages du parc Ukkusiksalik environnant, sa faune sauvage et ses mammifères marins.

  • des visiteurs en train d'une excurstion en motoneige au Parc national Ukkusiksalik

    Motoneige

    En début de printemps, profitez des longues journées pour sillonner le parc et sa glace de mer en motoneige.

  • une randonneuse près de Naujaat

    Randonnée

    Partez en randonnée le long de la rivière Sila et admirez les impressionnantes chutes réversibles. Visitez également les vestiges du poste de traite de la Compagnie de la Baie d’Hudson.

Toutes les activités

Randonnée
Motonautisme
Accès en motoneige