For thousands of years the ancestors of Inuit traveled in this place. They knew that their survival depended on their obedience to the dictates of the land and its weather. If the wind blew and the temperature plummeted, they stopped and found shelter, and continued when the land became kinder again. Inuit travelers to this day let the weather, the seasons and the rhythms of the land set their travel schedules.


The polar marine climate means long, cold winters and short, cool summers. Although summer brings almost endless daylight from May to August, the sun is absent from the sky December and January. Spring brings strong winds and late summer is often cloudy. In winter, loss of daylight and the presence of sea ice can make for extremely cold weather.

Weather in the Arctic is notoriously changeable. Abrupt weather changes can affect sea and boating conditions forcing boaters to wait out rough waters, sometimes for several days. Be prepared for snow anytime, anywhere in Sirmilik! White out conditions are possible any time of year.


Weather Conditions

Current conditions for Pond Inlet.
Current conditions for Arctic Bay.


Best times to visit

The following are approximate dates for the methods of accessing the park. Please check in advance with the park office in Pond Inlet for this year’s likeliest scenario.

  • Arctic seasons and your trip

    Late March to Early June (spring)

    The best time of year for winter activities. Frozen oceans mean it’s possible to travel from either Pond Inlet or Arctic Bay to the park boundary by snowmobile or dog team to start your trip.


    Late June to mid-July (break up)

    During ice break up, travel to the park is impossible. This is a great time to explore the areas around Pond Inlet and Arctic Bay.


    Late July to late September (summer)

    This is the best time for hiking and camping. Boat travel to the park is possible.


    October to early November (freeze up)

    During freeze up, travel to the park is impossible.


    November – February (winter)

    Travel to Sirmilik National Park is not advisable at this time. Cold temperatures, near-constant darkness and access difficulties in early winter make winter travel unpleasant, dangerous and, often, impossible.

If your plans include travel to the park during break up or freeze up, please phone to check ice conditions. You can also check the Canadian Ice Service website for Arctic ice conditions.

Pendant des millénaires, les ancêtres des Inuits ont parcouru ce territoire. Ils savaient que, pour survivre, ils devaient se plier aux volontés de la nature et des éléments. Si le vent soufflait et que la température chutait, ils s'arrêtaient pour trouver refuge et poursuivaient leur route uniquement lorsque le temps redevenait clément. Encore aujourd'hui, les voyageurs inuits se laissent régir par le temps, les saisons et la nature.


Le climat polaire marin se caractérise par des hivers longs et froids et par des étés courts et frais. Même si le soleil brille presque sans arrêt en été du mois de mai à août, il brille plutôt par son absence en hiver, de décembre à janvier. Au printemps, le vent souffle fort et à la fin de l’été le ciel est souvent nuageux. En hiver, la perte de la lumière du jour et la présence des glaces marines font parfois descendre le mercure à des températures extrêmement froides.

Les conditions météorologiques sont notoirement instables dans l’Arctique. De brusques changements des conditions météorologiques ont parfois un effet sur les conditions de la mer et de la navigation, forçant les navigateurs à attendre, parfois pendant des jours, que les eaux agitées se calment. Sachez qu’il peut neiger n’importe où et à n’importe quel moment à Sirmilik! Des conditions de voile blanc surviennent à n’importe quel moment de l’année.


Information météo

Conditions actuelles : Pond Inlet.
Conditions actuelles : Arctic Bay.


Période à privilégier pour une visite

Les dates approximatives qui suivent vous donneront une idée des périodes pendant lesquelles vous pouvez vous rendre dans le parc et par quel moyen. Il vaut mieux communiquer à l’avance avec le bureau du parc de Pond Inlet pour connaître le scénario le plus probable pour cette année.

  • Les saisons de l'Arctique

    De la fin mars au début juin (printemps)

    C’est le meilleur temps de l’année pour les activités hivernales. Les océans sont gelés, ce qui permet de se rendre de Pond Inlet ou Arctic Bay, à la limite du parc, par motoneige ou traîneau à chiens pour entamer son expédition.


    De la fin juin au mi-juillet (débâcle)

    Pendant la débâcle des glaces il est impossible d’accéder au parc. C’est un excellent moment pour explorer les zones autour de Pond Inlet et Arctic Bay.


    De la fin juillet à la fin septembre (été)

    C’est le meilleur temps pour la randonnée ou le camping. Il est possible de se rendre au parc en bateau.


    De la fin octobre au début novembre (prise de la glace)

    Pendant la prise de la glace, il est impossible d’accéder au parc.


    De novembre à février (hiver)

    Il n’est pas recommandé de se rendre au Parc national Sirmilik pendant cette période. Au début de l’hiver, le froid, l’obscurité presque constante et les difficultés d’accès rendent les déplacements désagréables, dangereux et souvent impossibles.

Si vous prévoyez vous rendre au parc pendant la prise de la glace ou la débâcle, veuillez téléphoner pour vous renseigner sur l’état de la glace. Vous pouvez également consulter le Service canadien des glaces pour connaître les conditions des glaces.