Floe edge

Camping close to the floe edge can be dangerous. Be especially wary when prevailing winds are strong and during large tides (full or new moons) since these conditions increase the following risks:

  • Ice breaks up along the floe edge.
  • A huge pan of ice may break off from the land fast ice (up to 10 kilometres or more in size) even if there is no wind or extreme tides. Bring a global positioning system (GPS) and regularly check to see if the coordinates change. If you don’t have a GPS visually align a piece of ice some distance from you to the land and periodically check to see if the ice you are on is moving.
  • Watch for moving ice that is wedging and piling up into the land fast ice.
  • Polar bears travel along the floe edge in search of food. They will hunt for fresh prey or will scavenge any carcasses they find. Do not camp near an old kill because polar bears, with their excellent senses of smell, will come to forage from it. Polar bears are very efficient and skilled stalkers (both on ice and in the water). Always keep watch for them.
  • Camp well away from the floe edge itself.


Backcountry camping

Low-impact backcountry camping is part of the Sirmilik experience. A backcountry park use permit or backcountry excursion permit is required.

Camping equipment should be lightweight and durable, and able to withstand harsh conditions such as cold weather, wet weather, and strong winds. As fires are not allowed, backcountry campers will have to carry white gas (or naptha) and portable stoves. White gas may be purchased in Pond Inlet or Arctic Bay, but visitors should phone the suppliers ahead of time to ensure that it is in stock. On commercial airlines, white gas can only be transported as a dangerous good on a separate flight. Contact the airline you plan to travel on for further information.

Select campsites in durable locations where signs of your occupation will be minimized, such as areas with little or no vegetation. Avoid camping near potential wildlife habitat such as sedge meadows. Appropriate site selection is especially vital for base camps or if you are travelling in a large group.

Wearing soft shoes around camp is not only a great relief after a day spent in heavy hiking boots but also minimizes the impact around your campsite. Do not dig trenches around tents or build rock windbreaks. If you use rocks to secure your tent, return them to their original position and location. Do not remove rocks from any features that look - even remotely - like an archeological site, for example, tent rings, fox traps and food caches.

Proper food management when camping is essential to avoid problem wildlife situations (birds, foxes, polar bears). Avoid smelly foods and foods that produce waste. Food scraps should be filtered out of dish water and packed out with other litter. Dish and excess cooking water should be poured into a shallow sump hole away from the campsite and bodies of water.

Feces should be deposited at least 50 metres from camp sites, travel routes and water bodies. Toilet paper must, of course, be packed out or burned with a match or lighter.

The possibility of polar bear encounters exists anywhere in the park. The potential for an encounter is greatest in the coastal areas. Please read the section on polar bear safety for important safety information.


Water quality

We advise you to fine filter (<0.5 microns), treat (iodine or chlorine in warm water), or boil your drinking water. To prevent the spread of diseases, human waste should be disposed of in a responsible manner, at least 100 metres from water sources and 50 metres from trails. More information will be provided during your orientation.

Lisière de la banquise

Camper près de la lisière de la banquise est parfois dangereux. Faites particulièrement attention quand les vents dominants sont forts et se lèvent pendant les grandes marées (lors de la pleine ou de la nouvelle lune) car ces conditions aggravent le risque que :

  • La glace se casse le long de la lisière de la banquise.
  • Un énorme morceau de glace peut se détacher de la glace fixée (jusqu’à 10 km carrés ou plus de grandeur) même s’il n’y a pas de vent ou de marée extrême. Apportez un système de positionnement mondial (GPS) et vérifiez régulièrement pour voir si les coordonnées changent. Si vous n’avez pas de GPS, alignez visuellement un morceau de glace à une certaine distance de vous et vérifiez régulièrement pour voir si la glace sur laquelle vous vous trouvez bouge.
  • Surveillez la glace en mouvement qui s’imbrique et s’empile sur la glace fixée.
  • Les ours polaires voyagent le long de la lisière de la banquise à la recherche de nourriture. Ils vont chasser des proies fraîches ou se nourriront des carcasses qu’ils trouvent. Ne campez pas près d’un animal mort parce que les ours polaires, avec leur excellent sens de l’odorat, viendront fouiller ce lieu. Les ours polaires sont des poursuivants très efficaces et très doués (aussi bien sur la glace que dans l’eau). Surveillez toujours les alentours pour les ours polaires.
  • Campez loin de la lisière de la banquise en tant que telle.


Camping en l'arrière pays

Le camping écologique dans l'arrière pays fait partie de l'expérience à vivre dans le parc Sirmilik. Il vous faut un permis d'accès à l'arrière-pays.

Choisissez un emplacement de camping sur une surface dure où vous pourrez réduire au minimum les traces de votre passage, par exemple des secteurs où il n'y a aucune végétation ou presque. Évitez de monter votre tente dans des zones qui pourraient servir d'habitat à la faune, tels que des prés de carex. Il est particulièrement important de bien choisir votre emplacement lorsque vous voulez en faire votre camp de base ou lorsque vous êtes nombreux.

En portant des chaussures à semelle souple dans le campement, vous ménagerez la surface de votre emplacement de camping tout en profitant d'un soulagement bien mérité après une journée de marche dans des bottes de randonnée lourdes. Abstenez-vous de creuser des rigoles autour des tentes ou de construire des brise-vent avec des cailloux. Si vous vous servez de roches pour assujettir votre tente, replacez-les à l'endroit et dans la position où vous les avez trouvées. Évitez de retirer des roches de tout assemblage qui ressemble - même vaguement - à un site archéologique, par exemple des cercles de tipi, des pièges à renard et des caches à nourriture.

Vous devez à tout prix gérer adéquatement vos provisions pour éviter tout problème avec des animaux sauvages (oiseaux, renards, ours polaires). Évitez les aliments qui dégagent de fortes odeurs et ceux qui produisent des déchets. Filtrez votre eau de vaisselle et déposez les restes de nourriture avec vos autres déchets. L'eau de vaisselle et l'eau de cuisson excédentaire doivent être versées dans un trou de vidange peu profond à l'écart du camping et de tout plan d'eau.

Faites vos besoins à au moins 50 m des emplacements de camping, des parcours et des plans d'eau. Vous devez faire brûler le papier hygiénique souillé à l'aide d'un briquet ou d'une allumette ou le remporter avec vos autres déchets.

Il est beaucoup moins risqué de rencontrer un ours polaire ici que dans certains secteurs des parcs nationaux Auyuittuq et Sirmilik, mais la possibilité n'est jamais exclue. Les risques de rencontre sont les plus élevés dans les zones côtières. Lisez la section sur la sécurité au pays des ours polaires pour vous familiariser avec d'importantes consignes de sécurité.


Qualité de l’eau

Nous vous recommandons de filtrer l’eau (filtre de 0,5 micromètre ou moins), de la traiter (à l’iode ou au chlore dilué dans l’eau chaude) ou de la faire bouillir. Afin d’éviter toute contamination, on doit disposer des déchets humains de façon responsable, un sujet qui sera traité pendant votre orientation.