Canada’s participation in the First World War (1914-1918) and the Second World War (1939-1945) touched every community in this country. Parks Canada invites Canadians to join us in commemorating individuals from all walks of life who made unique contributions to the war effort. During these global conflicts, civilians and those in the armed forces played a crucial role in protecting and building their communities and thus Canada as a whole.

From coast to coast, thousands of Canadians supported the war effort. We invite you to learn more about these local Hometown Heroes.

Get to know their remarkable stories, honour their memory and express your gratitude for their service by visiting Parks Canada’s National Historic Sites, National Parks, and National Marine Conservation Areas.

Nunavut Inuit and the Second World War effort

Millions of Canadians contributed to Canada’s fight for victory during the Second World War (1939-1945). On the home front, men, women and children were encouraged to participate in domestic salvage operations to collect recyclable materials for the war effort. Bones were one of these resources, used to make ammunition, aircraft glue and fertilizer. A source of bones was from the Eastern Arctic.

Born in 1920 and living near Igloolik (Qikiqtaaluk region of Nunavut) at the time of the war, revered leader and Inuk Elder Qapik Attagutsiak recalls this episode of her life: “We heard about those in the world war. […] We were afraid that our husbands would be killed if they encountered [the enemy] who may jump from an airplane.”

A French missionary living in Igloolik among the Inuit at that time, asked her community to collect bones, particularly of their dying dogs which had fallen ill. “We were informed,” remarked Qapik, “that we must collect the bones as the army wants us Inuit to make something for smoke.” She noted adult members of her camp, including herself, together with other Eastern Arctic communities, gathered walrus, seal, dog and other mammal bones, filling large sacks, then shipped to southern Canada for processing.

La participation du Canada à la Première Guerre mondiale (1914-1918) et à la Seconde Guerre mondiale (1939-1945) a touché toutes les communautés du pays, sans exception. L'Agence Parcs Canada invite les Canadiens et les Canadiennes à se joindre à elle afin de rendre hommage aux personnes de tous âges qui ont contribué à l'effort de guerre.

Lors de ces conflits mondiaux, les civils et les soldats ont joué un rôle crucial dans la défense et l'édification non seulement de leurs communautés, mais aussi du pays tout entier.

Découvrez les histoires remarquables de ces héros de chez nous. Rendez hommage et exprimez votre reconnaissance à ces personnages pour le service qu'ils ont rendu en visitant les lieux historiques nationaux, les parcs nationaux et les aires marines nationales de conservation de Parcs Canada.

Les Inuits du Nunavut et la Seconde Guerre mondiale

Des millions de personnes ont contribué aux efforts du Canada pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale (1939-1945). Sur le front intérieur, hommes, femmes et enfants ont tous été mobilisés pour les opérations de collecte de matières domestiques recyclables pour la guerre. Parmi ces ressources, les ossements servaient à fabriquer des munitions, de la colle pour avions et des engrais. On en trouvait notamment dans l’Arctique de l’Est.

Née en 1920, la vénérée leader et aînée inuite Qapik Attagutsiak habitait près de Igloolik (région Qikiqtaaluk du Nunavut) au moment du conflit. Elle garde le souvenir de cet épisode de sa vie : « Nous avions entendu parler de ceux qui étaient dans la guerre mondiale. […] Nous avions peur que nos maris soient tués s’ils rencontraient [l’ennemi] qui pourrait sauter d’un avion. »

Un missionaire français vivant à Igloolik parmi les Inuits à cette époque, a demandé à sa communauté de récupérer des ossements, en particulier ceux des chiens mourants qui étaient tombés malades. « On nous a dit que nous devions récupérer les os, car l’armée voulait que nous, les Inuits, fassions quelque chose qui se rapportait à la fumée », relate Qapik Attagutsiak. Elle se souvient qu’à l’instar des membres adultes de son camp, et d’autres communautés de l’est de l’Arctique, elle avait ramassé des ossements de morse, de phoque, de chien et d’autres mammifères, remplissant de grands sacs qui étaient ensuite expédiés vers le sud du Canada pour y être transformés.